We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best copy I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java on the Rock

Java on the Rock
75-5828 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 322-2411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a popular coffeehouse attracting locals and visitors, serving award-winning Kona coffee, incredible espresso drinks and a light breakfast with fresh exotic tropical fruit. Sit with your feet in the sand next to the water watching turtles, reef fish, and spinner dolphins at play. We grow, roast and process our coffee from farm to cup. Free wi-fi and computer available.
Scio, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some of the best copy I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Their 3 stone coffee is absolutely wonderful. Very friendly staff. The owner is fun to talk to. Very good breakfasts. Excellent oceanside seating.I look forward to coming here every trip to Kona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Manager at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate your enjoyment of the coffeehouse!! I will let the staff and Bruce know- they love feedback. Yeahhhh Three Stone does rock!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fruit Fiesta And Lox and Bagel Rocked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoy Java on the Rock for the coffee and view, but recently we tried the fruit platter and lox and bagel plate. We enjoyed them immensely and both were PLENTY of food. If you love tropical fruit and want to savor a variety, get the fruit platter. There was enough lox on the other plate to completely fill each side of the bagel that we shared. Wanted to point this out for people looking for a tasty breakfast, but who may be a on budget.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Manager at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Julie- we appreciate you as one of our local regulars!! We get to see you all the time. Mahalo nui for your appreciation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“expensive food served on paper plates”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Don't do it! For the privilege of eating breakfast with your feet in the sand, overlooking the ocean, you will pay far too much for average to below-average food, abysmal service (counter service only, and I use the term service loosely here) and--to top it off--food is served on paper plates. Are you kidding me? My first thought upon seeing our breakfast was, "thirty-five dollars for this?" To be fair, my half-papaya with yogurt & granola was okay, but definitely not worth the feeling of being shafted.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I would very much appreciate some specific and clear observations about what you did not like about the food and service. I enlarged the picture of your papaya nest and it looks like you received a nice big half of a locally-grown rainbow papaya fully loaded with our high-quality yogurt and granola. It would help me to know what you did not like about the eggs. We use fresh ingredients and cook each order individually.
Yes, we do use paper plates. We are a coffeehouse first and foremost and because of our limited kitchen facilities we have not yet figured out a way to wash dishes, other than mugs for drinks and silverware.
Our prices reflect our cost of doing business. We raised prices last year to meet our expenses including a well-paid staff, excellent sanitation in our kitchen, quality food and a high-priced location.
Again, you did not say what you didn't like about the counter service. A specific comment would give me understanding. Our staff is trained (extensively) to orient people to the menu, take the order and have people wait at the end of the counter for drinks before going to their table. Many people have commented to us about the efficiency of our counter system. I would be happy to hear specific comments if you'd like to email me at: info@javaontherock.com
Aloha, Andrea Pro, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the best places ever where I had breakfast!! Love it!

Try the fruit or the eggs. Just good. Also the friendly staff is a plus.

Ask for the code to get free wifi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Mahalo nui! Glad you liked our fresh and healthy breakfast. We scramble each order of eggs using a specially designed espresso machine that makes them fluffy with no added fat. This is a great time of year for local exotic fruit. Whenever possible we put yummy local dragonfruit, starfruit and joboticaba on our fruit plates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SmartAss Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you like being insulted first thing in the morning, give this barista a try. Great food and drinks are incredible. Home baked goods and the location can not be beat. The gal was very pleasant, the guy was a jerk. The guy is probably the owner and needs to find someone else to deal with the public that can be tolerant of ignorant visitors.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Owner at Java on the Rock, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
First, thank you so much for your comments on the high quality of our drinks and food. To respond to your issue~ yes, Bruce can be a smartass. Without knowing what happened it’s a bit challenging to know how to respond but I'm guessing you encountered his unorthodox humor. Bruce will razz a total stranger as if he were talking to an old friend. I have on occasion cringed at some of his teasing and jokes. And yet, having grown up in a big rowdy family, it's a form of communication I can roll with.. I'm really sorry it didn't work for you. It probably took you by surprise and didn't fit your idea of respectful customer relations. Bruce's interactions have built a base of customers that are like friends and family at the coffeehouse. Again, I'm sorry you didn't appreciate his humor, some people don't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java on the Rock also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Java on the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java on the Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.