We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Spirit alive and well at Kona Coast Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Coast Resort to your Saves list
Kona Coast Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Aloha Spirit alive and well at Kona Coast Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

From the warm Aloha welcome at check-in to the Seceurity Director "Lew" tracking us down for an item left behind. Super Customer Service. Each person we encountered was exceptionally gracious and helpful. The property is well maintained and very clean, spacious and perfect place to call home in Kona. We had a 1-Bdrm. 2 Bth suite which could easily accomodate 4.

Well equipped kitchen w/ everything to prepare meals in; with fresh coffee beans, Ahi, veggies and fruit from the Farmer's Market in the small strip mall parking lot up the hill in front of the complex. Ahhh the Ahi and luscious lychee. We also made a Costco run for staples and to gas the rental car on return (.30 less than the rest of the island. Fresh Poke at Costco too.)

It had AC but it was plenty comfortable without AC by opening the windows and running the fans outside Temp. was 87-92F.

Nice big Lani dining table and lounges.

It's a Timeshare property but choose to go to a presentation or not. The brief activity discussion early in the stay was helpful to help get acquainted with options. We chose to take in the beauty, explore on our own and RELAX.

Mahalo Kona Coast!!! We'll be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    352
    90
    40
    34
See reviews for
402
456
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the first phase building 5 on the golf course.
Very spacious and clean. Both king beds and couches were very comfortable. We
only used the kitchen for breakfasts but had everything we needed. Not sure why they painted the
tile (ugly ) but it was fine. The washer/dryer set was brand new. The grounds were beautiful although the ocean golf course was closed. The only two things to complain about was no ocean view or access and we were on the bottom of the building - it sounded like the people above us were running laps. But I can sleep thru most of it. Loved Kona Town or Ktown as the locals called it :)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Let me start out by saying that the employees at this hotel were all very nice and provided courteous and prompt service. This was the only good thing at this place. Outside of that however it was a whole different story. The interior of the units is really old, depressing and needs an upgrade. I was told that I was given one of the better units in phase II, which had been "renovated". Let me emphasize the "renovated" part. I have no idea when this was renovated, but I can assure you, this was at least 25 years ago . The furniture was very old, sofas were worn out and I had to put covers on it to be able to sit down, the carpet had holes in it. When I asked to be switched units, the staff was very polite and game me a choice of other units that had been "renovated", they were both worse than the unit I was in. I decided to stay in the existing unit and just deal with it. On with the description. The unit was a 1 bedroom unit, with 2 full bathrooms. The living room and dining area have very old furniture, one full sofa that converts into a bed and a single seat. Both had the upholstery very worn out and the springs in the sofa bed were falling out. There is a flat screed TV hanging right in front of the dining room, very awkward. The kitchen had all the items needed, full refrigerator and stove with pots and pans, and a full set of plates and utensils for 4 people. Walking into the unit feels like walking back in time, the early 90s. If this was remodeled this is probably the time. Color on the cabinets is a yellowish orange tone, and the counter tops are made of this very small tile that is 1X1 with an awful off white color and a dreadful row of pale orange accents. Whoever installed this did a terrible job, as the tile is not aligned properly. The pictures posted on other reviews do not do justice as to how awful this place is. I made it a point to leave early in the morning during my stay and return late at night. Unfortunately, I had done an exchange through a time share and could not get my money back. Otherwise I would not have stayed. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. One more thing I forgot to mention is that there is a daily A/C fee in case you want to sleep in a cool room. For a one bedroom unit it is $8.67 per night and you get a key to be able to turn this on.

Since this is a timeshare and it has been in place for a long time, I cannot for the life of me think how badly managed this place is. At $800 per week in maintenance fees per unit there is at least revenue of $40K a year per unit. How in the world is it that this is not in better shape? It does not take $40K per year to maintain this unit. If I was an owner at this place I would be screaming at management to make this place look decent.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is our 2nd time to this timeshare property. The first time was 10 years ago. Honestly, it seems the furnishings have not been updated or replaced. The property is showing its age.

The location is nice and quiet. Nearby restaurants and markets make it convenient to stock up for your stay. Sam Choy and KTA are literally walking distance away.

While we were there, the activities center had a weekend special for beach chairs and boogie boards. Pay for one day and keep for the entire week. Best deal on the island.

Room Tip: No elevators. Try and get a top 2nd floor room, else you'll hear heavy footsteps above. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First impression, the resort is well-maintained. Beautiful landscape. We arrived early and to our sweet surprise the room was ready. You can catch beautiful sunset views from the hot tub in the pool area or at the pool-side restaurant. The condo was large and cleaned well. The furniture, especially the couch and side chair, were a bit dingy but that did nothing to diminish the quality of our experience. Service was friendly and prompt. We were even able to rent out beach toys, mats, umbrellas, games...everything you need to keep the young ones entertained. I would definitely stay here again. (FYI - We were in the newer part of the resort.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Whenever we go to the "Big Island," the Kona Coast Resort is our destination of choice. We have stayed in the newer and older sections of the resort. Due to constant remodeling and updating all of the units are very nice. If your flight gets you to the island early you can drop your belongings off at the Kona Coast Resort office and head to town to shop for your weeks supply of meals at COSTCO or one of the many grocery outlets in town. The nearest shopping center is a short walk up the hill from the resort, where there are restaurants, convenience stores and a movie theater. Don't miss Volcano National Park during your visit to the island.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room before you accept it. Air conditioners on the lanai can be noisy and add heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was the best resort I have been so far. There was a golf view from our room but the coast was just few steps away. There will be no better place to watch sunset. We have so many restaurants opposite the resort and even a movie theatre. Do prefer this place if it is in your price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Coast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.