We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place with best view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Coast Resort to your Saves list
Kona Coast Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Best place with best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was the best resort I have been so far. There was a golf view from our room but the coast was just few steps away. There will be no better place to watch sunset. We have so many restaurants opposite the resort and even a movie theatre. Do prefer this place if it is in your price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    352
    90
    40
    34
See reviews for
402
456
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
va
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a great resort! I recently traded through RCI to stay in Kona Coast Resort II which is the newer part of the resort(1990). I had a beautiful one bedroom with a golf course/ocean view. The resort is quiet and close enough to downtown Kailua-Kona so that you can walk(if you feel that industrious) or drive(5 min). There's a shopping center across the street from the resort that has a grocery store, pharmacy, cinema, and several restaurants, and there are several beaches right down the street. You couldn't ask for a better location.

For quick casual food, Aloha Friday's by the pool is a good place to go. Service is quick, the portions are huge, and the staff at the resort is friendly(not just the ones at the bar).

This is the first resort I've stayed in that provided a complimentary starter pack that included popcorn, small salt/pepper shakers, sugar, etc. and a bottle of water, in addition to coffee, to tide you over until you went to the grocery store. Definitely a nice touch. You do pay for AC if you want it, but that doesn't seem to be unusual in Hawaii. However, this resort had louvered windows and screens on the patio door to make it easy for those who didn't want AC to get a decent breeze. My only complaint, which is very minor, is that there was no laundry basket, no Tupperware containers for leftover food, and no available outlet for charging electronics on the nightstand if you slept on the side of the bed with the clock and lamp. The wifi is adequate for surfing the internet, checking email, etc. and was usually fastest in the morning. However, if you plan on streaming or doing anything else you will probably find it a little slow. All in all, the pros far out weigh the cons. I can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived Sunday afternoon, check in was easy. Suite clean and well appointed. Lanai looked over golf course. Staff helpful and courteous. Pool and hot tub nice. Kids play area with swing set. Near snorkeling and beach. Spectacular views. Great visit.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were all super impressed with this hotel! When we first got here! We were all quite jet-lagged from the 7 hour flight and it was great to be able to relax. The staff at the front desk was quite slow when we checked in however.

The rooms were excellent! They were spacious and modern, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The room was, however, extremely dark during the evening which did make things like eating dinner a bit harder. Also, there were 7 of us, and we got two two bedroom condos and one one bedroom condo, while it was great space wise, we were in three different buildings that were not very close together. Also, there weren't enough chairs or dishes! Our family chose to eat together in one of the two bedroom condos, and half us were sitting on the floor eating off of paper towels or the tea plates due to the lack of dishes.

We did see some cockroaches, but they were easily managed with a paper towel and a trash can.

The first morning after we got there we chose to go to the continental breakfast which was awesome, however, don't go to the breakfast thinking you'll get a lot of food, as it was not very much. During this breakfast we got to hear from some of the different vendors from around the island, which was fantastic! They were knowledgable and nice, and we actually did some of the things, ( Kohala Zipline, Dolphin Discoveries Dolphin Swim, and Dolphin Discoveries Snorkeling trip). All were absolutely INCREDIBLE! Also, Wyndham is notoriously bad for their sales pitches if you do their tour, so DO NOT DO IT! The tour is NOT worth it!

So, now on to the subject of this review. The staff. They were absolutely wonderful! Every time we walked by them while walking around the grounds, they smiled at us and waved. They were super friendly and great to talk to. The maids were absolutely superb! They gave us extra sheets for the couch, and we're quick and great at their jobs.

Overall, this resort is incredible and totally worth it!

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better, but especially in this unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here on our honeymoon. When we arrived and got to our room were were happy with the accommodations. The room seemed spacious and nice and we had a nice view of the water. However, that's quickly changed when on our first morning there we realized that we were sharing our room with cockroaches. We were only there 5 nights, but in the course of our stay had 8 scurrying visitors (to our knowledge at least). Maintenance was great- showed up within 5 minutes of our call one night to the front desk- and saved us from a live one. Housekeeping was also fabulous- we came back to our room from the beach and they were still cleaning our room. They were very friendly and seemed genuinely concerned about our critter problem. The same cannot be said for the front desk. Halfway through the week our room was sprayed, but they kept coming in- only now they were half-dead instead of fully alive. We were told that because it's a tropical environment, they are a problem and that they could spray. That was it. Based on all of the positive reviews of this resort, I'm assuming most of the other guests did not have the same problem we did. Is the entire resort crawling with cockroaches? Why couldn't they move us to a room that wasn't infested with roaches? Was it because we were there on a timeshare swap? Also- speaking of timeshares- the concierge was quite sneaky and got us to sign up for the timeshare presentation by neglecting to inform us that the discount he just booked us for a kayak tour with was contingent upon us attending the timeshare presentation until AFTER we had already booked the kayak tour. Later in the week we decided our time was more important and canceled the timeshare presentation, happy to pay the full price rather instead. We were very disappointed with our stay here- we were on our honeymoon and had to shake out all of our bags before we left to make sure we didn't bring any of the nasty bugs home with us. Not very romantic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We bought a timeshare at the Kona Coast Resort, Phase II back in 2004 and it is one of the best purchases we've ever made. Our timeshare week gives us an excuse to visit this wonderful property every year. We don't ever trade in our week, because Kona is like our second home and we love staying at the Kona Coast Resort. The one bedroom condo is spacious, has two full bathrooms, and has all the comforts of home. The kitchen is well stocked and the full-sized washer and dryer is a definite plus. The condos have had a lot of upgrades over the years, which make them even more comfortable. The resort has two pools and an activity center, where you can rent snorkel gear, boogie boards, etc. There is also a paved trail around the property and a fitness room, so you can get a little exercise on your vacation....if you truly want to! The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. During one of our vacation weeks, we were pretty sure that the people staying below us were smoking - we could smell it through the vent in our bathroom and also when we used the lanai. The security and front desk were very helpful, with regards to trying to figure out where the cigarette smoke was coming from. I would highly recommend this property for all your vacation needs in Kona!

Room Tip: This is not an oceanfront property, but buildings 20-27 give you a fairly decent view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We rented a 1 bedroom condo privately from the owner. We arrived around midnight on a Friday night and could not get into the unit because the lockbox had a number that was stuck. We telephoned the owner but could only leave a message. We were worried that we would have to find another room for our 1st night or sleep in our rental vehicle until the owner returned our call. We decided to ask the front desk for help although we rented privately. The young lady was incredible. She was able to find a phone number and called the owner for us. He gave her a local contact and she called him. He arrived within 15 minutes and we were in our condo. This young lady was so pleasant and helpful and saved the start of vacation. We were very grateful and expressed our gratitude many times. She let us know that they were open 24/7 should we need any more help and even joked about letting us sleep in the lobby or back room if she wasn't able to contact the owner. The rest of our vacation was perfect as was our condo and it all started with this wonderful young lady.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Coast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.