We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALOHA FRIDAY RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Coast Resort to your Saves list
Kona Coast Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nipomo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“ALOHA FRIDAY RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We just recently came over to Kona. I would like to thank the bartender and her staff for a very friendly, informative and fun week. We ate breakfast 4 mornings while we were there, was very good. One of the best Bloody Mary's I have ever had! Thanks again for your very friendly service. I would recommend again and again. Bruce and Karla McLean Ca.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    352
    90
    40
    34
See reviews for
402
457
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here for a week through RCI exchange. Very nice. This is my 3rd stay in Hawaii timeshares and by far the best. Because premesis is well maintained, lots of parking spaces, they didn't bother us through the whole stay for sells pitch, unit was roomy (we got 2 bedroom with lanai on 2nd floor with some ocean view through the trees). Too bad they don't have beach access, but with rental car we actually circled the whole island and been to the best beaches of the island. I can care less about pools since I rather swim in the salty ocean water then in chlorine pool (although my daugher prefered the adult pool for less noise and hassle). The supermarket and food courts, movie theater is just one block up the traffic light. Had great time after we grlled July 4 hot dogs at the grills located through the whole property. Overall had nice vacation.. Oh forgot to mention that we stayed 3 days at Waikoloa Mariott which is a very nice place too prior to coming to Kona timeshares, but rooms were small and if you have a big group timeshare condos like Kona coast resort-2 seems a "cadillac" after "corolla".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

The location is nice. Its Hawaii. The rooms were nice and well kept. But the staff was very rude, DO NOT GO TO THE RESTAURANT. Except the guys they seemed nice. The food is nothing special. Don't waste your money at the restaurant. Go to KTA its not even a quarter mile up the street. DO NOT GO TO THE RESTAURANT!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at the Kona Coast Resort for 8 nights and LOVED it!! From the moment we arrived (late at night) the front desk personnel were wonderful and went out of their way to accomadate us. They had a crib delivered to our condo for my son. They also sent security over to show me how to lock the patio door. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is huge and had everything we needed to make our meals for the week. There is a KTA grocery store just across the street which was such a blessing. I went there several times during our stay. We saved a ton of money by cooking our meals. We even grilled out steaks one night on the outdoor grills. It was so good to come home to our condo in the evenings after a long day of touring the Big Island. The place is very quiet. The pool is awesome. My kiddos loved playing there. I just can't say enough about this resort. Also the location is perfect. Anything you could ever want is just a short drive up the street (Alii Drive)- beaches, restraunts, shops, etc. It is more than I could have ever asked for.

Room Tip: We stayed in 7105- which in my opinion is the best! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This property made our stay on the Big Island a truly great experience. The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. In addition, the service was probably better than I have experienced at pricier hotels. From the front desk personnel to everyone else we came into contact with at the property, we were pleased by the truly Aloha Spirit exhibited by all.
For a busy weekend (4th of July weekend), the property was very quiet. We did not experience any inconsiderate, loud guests, which has been a problem in the past at other hotels. I highly recommend the Kona Coast Resort and we are looking forward to our next trip back there.

Room Tip: The higher up you are on the property, even the very back, will give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We are a family of 6 and stayed here for 2 weeks. We had the 2 bedroom/2 bath with a sofa sleeper. Beds were comfortable. There were 3 tvs. Fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and very nicely furnished. Porch was huge with seating for 6. Resort was well taken care of, 1 of the pools was in view of the ocean. They have gas grills within a short walk to the rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly. You can rent coolers and beach gear by the day or week. This resort is about 4 miles from the downtown area but it only took us 10 minutes to drive and park to walk around. Several really good snorkeling spots within a couple miles. Like swimming in a fish tank with turtles. There is a grocery store just up the road from the resort, skip it unless you want to pay big $$$ for everything. There is a Target and Walmart about 7 miles on the main highway. Half the price for groceries and basics. For fruits and veggies hit the local farmers markets. All in all the place was great and a great point to take off to see the sights. You are about 2 hours from the North, South or East side by car. We saw the whole island in a week. Check in and check out was a breeze and no suprise charges. Will definately stay here if we ever make it back. Didnt try the on site restaurant. On a side note we were told that since we booked through Expedia we didnt have to pay the a/c use fee. Not sure how that works. You won't be disappointed staying here!

Room Tip: Expedia gave me the best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tippecanoe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our stay was great, we had a beauitful view from our room. The people that worked had the resort was very helpful in meeting all our needs. The pool was great for the kids and they even had pool items you could use for free. May sure you bring a LOT of sun screen as the sun is VERY HOT and you burn very easy. We used 110 sun screen and still got sun burned. Also you don't need to pack a lot of clothes as most of our time was at the pool, also we had a washer and dryer, which really helped. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our vacation and hope to go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo that is on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Coast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.