We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonlight Manta Ray Snorkel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splasher's Ocean Adventures

Splasher's Ocean Adventures
75-5663 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808 326 4774
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 177 activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dolphin Adventures Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Tours Manta Ray Evening Snorkels and Whale Watching Cruises (seasonalOur Snorkel Tours include Coastline Viewing, Talk Story, Food, Fun, Beverage and Captain Cook Snorkeling. Our crew and boat, Coast Guard certified, has a great way of teaching reef protection, coloring the legends and making it the best snorkel in Kona. See website for Special Website Discounts!
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moonlight Manta Ray Snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Amazing! This was the highlight of our trip. We saw dozens of these huge creatures swimming as if choreographed right beneath us - just inches away. It was mesmerizing. We definitely recommend this tour with Splashers after sunset - not as many divers/snorkelers to compete with, and well worth it. (They also supply wet suits along with snorkel gear to help keep you comfortable.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    20
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Manta Ray Night Snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our experience was amazing! We took the second tour later in the evening and it made a world of difference. There were less people in the water and more manta rays to see. Invest in an underwater camera. I got great video footage of the mantas dancing in the water. Listen to the tour guides and you will have a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We signed up after reading reviews about swimming with dolphins, and were told by the owner that there was more than a 99 percent chance. On the booked date, we received a call that the boat broke down, so we booked for the next day. It was still broken, but we waits another day. Jenna and Jay had been replaced by two young men who only work one day/week. The "four hour tour" was only three because the guides were only interested in the fastest route to and from Kealakua Bay where swimming with dolphins is prohibited.
In addition, the gear provided is sub-standard, especially the fins, which rubbed blisters. We are very experienced snorklers, and this tour is not as good as the Capt Zodiac or Seaquest for the same price!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good, but water cold at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful view of the giant Manta rays for about 20 minutes, until the water in this cove was over-run with scuba divers, and snorkelers. Get in the water as soon as possible, otherwise, the Manta's start to swim lower to the ocean floor. My daughter and I got in the water last of our group, and only saw them for about 20 minutes of the 45 they allow you. One of the Manta's brushed against me which was wonderful. The water does get cold after being in it for 20-30 minutes, depending on your tolerance. All in all it was great, but I wish my daughter and I would if gotten in sooner, so we could of seen them swim
closer for longer. Also, we had very little space on the
long board frame they have you hold onto, again, bc we got in the water last, and nobody made space for us. I was more worried about my 10 year old daughter holding on. Perhaps, they need a wider board frame if they take large groups like ours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Manta Ray Must DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ok so everyone knows its "Must do once in a lifetime" and it will blow your mind if its the first time you are doing something like this. The boat itself is small and there is no 'food n drinks' gimmicks so its all good. The best part - my wife rode along for free as she did not want to snorkel. But Shodi was so convincing that she actually got her to jump in when the Mantas came. It was totally worth it. Ron is an excellent spotter and captain Jess was fabulous. The best part was all the other boats were at the other location and it was just 1 other boat with us and we had 4 manta rays all to ourselves. Even though its in the night they take great care of you and it can be done by people of all snorkeling skill levels.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splasher's Ocean Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Splasher's Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splasher's Ocean Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Splasher's Ocean Adventures to your Saves list