We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back and go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splasher's Ocean Adventures

Splasher's Ocean Adventures
75-5663 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808 326 4774
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Adventures Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Tours Manta Ray Evening Snorkels and Whale Watching Cruises (seasonalOur Snorkel Tours include Coastline Viewing, Talk Story, Food, Fun, Beverage and Captain Cook Snorkeling. Our crew and boat, Coast Guard certified, has a great way of teaching reef protection, coloring the legends and making it the best snorkel in Kona. See website for Special Website Discounts!
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back and go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I went on both the dolphin swim and the manta dive. Captain Mike and Louisa were very informative,engaging and fun to go on these adventures with! We were able to get in/out of the water with the dolphins 3 times. Captain Mike gave a history lesson when we were at the Captain Cook monument. They took great care of me when we hit an unexpected "pothole" in the waves and I tweaked my back. Louisa's care in helping me stretch my back muscles made it possible to enjoy the rest of the ride and the rest of my 2 week stay in the islands. They are an amazing team to be around, great teamwork to ensure customer satisfaction.
The manta dive was the highlight of my trip! Getting to see these creatures up close was something that I will always remember!
Splashers might be one of the smaller companies out there but that is what makes them so special. Hopefully their great service and caring will remain a secret till we get back to Kona , but I don't think that is possible as I have told my friends and they have told their friends and so on.
Great company!! Can't go wrong with this crew of Captain Mike and Louisa!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    29
    7
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Thrilling Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you like to experience the wind in your hair, ocean spray and swim with dolphins and later snorkel at Captain Cook's, then this is the excursion for you. Capt.Mike and his helper, Zach were great, as was the entire trip. He found a pod of dolphins and actually got us in and out of the boat 3 times so we could swim 'over' them. After that we spent plenty of time snorkeling with the largest variety of tropical fish we've ever seen in all of Hawaii.
The price is right, however as we picked up speed on our return, the ride did get bumpy (but we liked that part too). A light lunch and fruit was provided.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
1 review
“Night manta ray tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wow I have traveled the world and done many things, but tonight was fantastic, mike and his co host did a fantastic job, well informed , safe and very professional. I would recommend this adventure to anyone, I saw captain Mike treat an elderly couple like they were his parents. Very nice.i wish this company nothing but the best....thank you for a fantastic memory that I shall enjoy for ever. Thank you Nicky ...at splasher's for your recommendation . You made my trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Id
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This was the highlight of my trip to Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I didn't know such a tour existed until I saw the ads in a flier at the airport. I had to go! I had flown into Hilo, so it was gonna be a 3 hour drive. So I stopped off at the black sand beach, got a tan with the turtles, then saw the green sand beach then got to Kona in plenty of time to get on the boat and swim with Manta RAys!! If you are leary of snorkeling, don't be. It's not really snorkeling...you just hang on to a surf board and float. I was in the water about 2 min and the first manta ray showed up. I spent the next 45 minutes saying "OH MY GOSH!" They are plankton eaters, so no need to fear. But they came 8 inches from my chest doing barrel roll back bends. We saw about 15 of them that night. I HIGHLY recommend this adventure. The staff was sooooo excellent. What a night! Thanks guys!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exciting evening manta ray snorkel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We took the evening manta ray snorkel tour and had a wonderful time. Our guides were informative and put us at ease about doing an evening snorkel with these beautiful animals. We saw plenty of manta rays and were amazed at how close they swam to us. It was an unforgettable experience. We just wish that we could have stayed in the water longer. It is amazing how quickly 45 minutes can pass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splasher's Ocean Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Splasher's Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splasher's Ocean Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.