We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time on Volcano Twilight Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Forest and Trail

Hawaii Forest and Trail
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 800-464-1993
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$93*
and up
Swim Kohala Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Time on Volcano Twilight Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My high school son and I went on the Volcano Twilight Tour. Justin was our guide. It is a long tour, over 300 miles of driving, and you spend 11 hours with a bus full of folk, but it was actually a great experience. Justin was very well spoken, personable, and enthusiastic about what he does, and he is very knowledgeable about the island. The National Park is fascinating - developed a whole new appreciation for what a volcano actually is, and leaned how over the course of the last 85 million years, a 'hot-spot' in the earth's crust in the middle of the ocean has created dozens of Hawaiian Islands which now extend all the way to the Aleutian Islands (only 6 of which are above water....). I was never bored on this tour - there was always something interesting happening. Their vehicle (a Mercedes Sprinter) is very comfortable and drives safely and smooth. My hats off to Justin for a great day, and his wonderful enthusiasm. Definitely a worthwhile use of time and money!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalDadPaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twilight Volcano Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What an awesome experience we have just had with Hawaii Forrest and Trail. Taj was our tour guide for our 'Twilight Volcano Tour' and you could just tell how much love he had for the Island in which we were exploring. He was very knowledgable and kept us entertained the whole entire time. We learnt a lot about the flora and fauna, wild life, history of the Islands, and of course everything you needed to know about the volcanos (Science, legends etc).
There were plenty of stops for those that needed to go toilet. Meals were great (included) & the van was comfortable.
Remember to bring shoes, a good camera to take photos of the volcano (especially at night - what unforgettable sight!), long pants, light jersey & a jacket.
Well worth it!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwibondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Plan a full day for this trip, it's worth it. Drive through Hilo and stop by the farmers market for fresh fruit, veggies, jams, and fresh coconut cut while you wait! The forest tour is amazing! The best part is the lava tube! You can walk completely through it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous! Breath taking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really enjoyed the forest and nature trail. The tour guide was very knowledgable. An experience I will not forget.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Selah4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did HFT's "Zip and Dip" as a family of 5 (kids 16, 13, 11). It is a l-o-n-g, exhausting day that will leave a smile on your face for years to come. Harboring a slight fear of heights, I was really reassured by Chris (our Lead Guide) wrt safety by his calm voice, knowledgeable (but fun!) demeanor, obvious experience. Jeremiah (our Partner Guide), on top of his experience, was really so entertaining and reminded me by example to relax and have fun with it. Both guides made the zipl portion of our trip really a joy - the kids especially LOVED it, & the happy yells of pure exhilaration from the whole family were genuine testaments to how special the experience was. A beautiful, private stop overlooking Pololu Valley for lunch was the precursor to the "dip" portion of our day. An easy "hike" to a series of secluded waterfalls was very pretty (Chris did a great job of pointing out and explaining what we were seeing/doing all the way), and the swim in one of the waterfall pools was invigorating and just plain cool. So glad we did this trip! (Attention Folks prone to motion sickness - the zip itself and the drive to the waterfalls are pretty intense. You may want to think about preventative care before embarking on this adventure!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJMess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Forest and Trail also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Forest and Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing