We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time on Volcano Twilight Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Forest and Trail

Hawaii Forest and Trail
74-5035B Queen Kaahumanu Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
800-464-1993
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 173 activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Tours
Activities: Group tours/day tour
Attraction Details
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Time on Volcano Twilight Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My high school son and I went on the Volcano Twilight Tour. Justin was our guide. It is a long tour, over 300 miles of driving, and you spend 11 hours with a bus full of folk, but it was actually a great experience. Justin was very well spoken, personable, and enthusiastic about what he does, and he is very knowledgeable about the island. The National Park is fascinating - developed a whole new appreciation for what a volcano actually is, and leaned how over the course of the last 85 million years, a 'hot-spot' in the earth's crust in the middle of the ocean has created dozens of Hawaiian Islands which now extend all the way to the Aleutian Islands (only 6 of which are above water....). I was never bored on this tour - there was always something interesting happening. Their vehicle (a Mercedes Sprinter) is very comfortable and drives safely and smooth. My hats off to Justin for a great day, and his wonderful enthusiasm. Definitely a worthwhile use of time and money!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    61
    10
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Twilight Volcano Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What an awesome experience we have just had with Hawaii Forrest and Trail. Taj was our tour guide for our 'Twilight Volcano Tour' and you could just tell how much love he had for the Island in which we were exploring. He was very knowledgable and kept us entertained the whole entire time. We learnt a lot about the flora and fauna, wild life, history of the Islands, and of course everything you needed to know about the volcanos (Science, legends etc).
There were plenty of stops for those that needed to go toilet. Meals were great (included) & the van was comfortable.
Remember to bring shoes, a good camera to take photos of the volcano (especially at night - what unforgettable sight!), long pants, light jersey & a jacket.
Well worth it!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Plan a full day for this trip, it's worth it. Drive through Hilo and stop by the farmers market for fresh fruit, veggies, jams, and fresh coconut cut while you wait! The forest tour is amazing! The best part is the lava tube! You can walk completely through it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous! Breath taking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the forest and nature trail. The tour guide was very knowledgable. An experience I will not forget.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did HFT's "Zip and Dip" as a family of 5 (kids 16, 13, 11). It is a l-o-n-g, exhausting day that will leave a smile on your face for years to come. Harboring a slight fear of heights, I was really reassured by Chris (our Lead Guide) wrt safety by his calm voice, knowledgeable (but fun!) demeanor, obvious experience. Jeremiah (our Partner Guide), on top of his experience, was really so entertaining and reminded me by example to relax and have fun with it. Both guides made the zipl portion of our trip really a joy - the kids especially LOVED it, & the happy yells of pure exhilaration from the whole family were genuine testaments to how special the experience was. A beautiful, private stop overlooking Pololu Valley for lunch was the precursor to the "dip" portion of our day. An easy "hike" to a series of secluded waterfalls was very pretty (Chris did a great job of pointing out and explaining what we were seeing/doing all the way), and the swim in one of the waterfall pools was invigorating and just plain cool. So glad we did this trip! (Attention Folks prone to motion sickness - the zip itself and the drive to the waterfalls are pretty intense. You may want to think about preventative care before embarking on this adventure!)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Forest and Trail also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Forest and Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Forest and Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.