We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Service with Aloha!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors

Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors
75-5909 Ali'i Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-324-0442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors are born and raised in the islands. Who better to visit when in Kona but the Natives! Surf with actual Hawaiian Lifeguards, take a Kayak Tour or learn how to Stand Up Paddle. HLSI is a family owned and operated Big Island Surf School. Come surf with our OHANA! Located in the Heart of Kailua-Kona On Ali'i Drive. South of mile marker 1. Situated between the Kona Reef Resort and Ali'i Cove. Across the street from Honls Beach Park (Wai'aha Bay).
kailua-kona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Professional Service with Aloha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Whether novice or expert surfer these guys are the best...all sorts of tips and advice for water safety while catching waves here in Hawaii. Instruction and board rentals available...including Stand Up Paddle Boards.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hu'ihu'i (Cool in Hawaiian)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My daughter has had lessons for HLSI for 2 years in a row. She is 11 years old and was booked both times in private, 1 on 1 classes for 1.5hrs. She had so much fun, she can't wait to back and do it again next all day! HLSI makes the learning experience very simple and accomodating. Any type a fear a child or adult has about doing lessons is gone when get in the presence of these awesome instructors. Mahalo HLSI team for the memories of a lifetime, especially Tiffany and Uncle K.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great lesson and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Lesson was clear and easy to understand. Beach has reasonable waves for all ages.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
“Great experience for all our kids, ages 11-15.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This surfing school has great system that gives kids lots of one-on-one instruction, as well as short breaks for their arms to rest from the paddling that surfing requires. Staff was friendly and always encouraging to our kids. This was my children's first surfing attempt and they were all standing within the first few tries. They have a good physical set-up and use it efficiently, but the kids just saw it all as great fun.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I booked a semi private lesson for my 2 teenagers and from the second we walked in to their headquarters to the time we left the beach it was great. Super friendly and made the kids very comfortable in the water. They had a great time taking lessons from Kali'i while John took photos of their efforts. I recommend buying the up front $50 photo package which allows you to download onto your computer after they send you the link. Otherwise you'll be paying a lot more per photo. Great experience. Mahalo.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLSI, Manager at Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
On behalf of our Team and ohana (family) here at HLSI, thank you for taking the time to review our services. Sharing your experience helps others find us and insures them we provide quality service for their familes to enjoy. We look forward to surfing with your family again in the future.
Aloha from Team HLSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Lifeguard Surf Instructors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.