We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, good condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff to your Saves list
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, good condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I came here early Nov 2012. the staff was really good and helpful. I stayed in room 405 for a week. The rooms wre quite large and had a full kitchen with lots of dishes and cookware which saved on meals. There was no daily room service, but that wasn't important as the condo had a home like atmosphere to it. A couple of minor things: the carpet really needed replacing and/or major steam cleaning. There was also some mould in the washer as the previous person never let it air out after using it.
I did have an enjoyable time touring the island - the volcanoes, a vanilla form on the Hilo side, the observatory.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff. As other reviewers have pointed out, each unit is individually owned and that owner is responsible for the decor of the unit. You and this owner had the same opinion about the carpet as they removed all the carpeting and laid a beautiful tile floor throughout shortly after your stay. You should come back and check it out! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    26
    28
    11
See reviews for
72
95
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Royal Sea Cliff oceanfront condo we stayed in is well kept with a huge lanai right on the water. We saw whales and dolphins from our lanai. The pools are well kept and there is daily entertainment including lei mankind, hula classes and a Hawaiian guitar player/singer. There is free wi-if on site. Secure parking.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is great if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review on the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Resort. It is always such fun to hear about our guests being able to view the whales and dolphins right from their lanai!! Whale season usually starts around the end of December and the last of the humpbacks head back to Alaska around the end of March. Just a tip - it is recommended that you book early for the ocean front units as they are in very high demand year round. We look forward to seeing you again - Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I(with hubby) usually stay at the Sheraton or at the Hilton. They were fully booked for the time I was on the Big Island. So I decided to check into the Outrigger chain. Was I ever happy I did. I past it up despite having the newest Magellan GPS. I retraced my steps and parked in the 15 minute check in parking space. The front desk was so cordial and helpful. I had a studio with a complete kitchen e.g. range, oven, microwave,big refrigerator, dishwasher, rice cookerand many dishes, pots/pans. I felt right at home. And to top it off they provided soap for the washer/dryer in the room! If you wanted, you pay a little extra for maid service but I was okay since they gave me so many towels and toiletries. It was good to sleep in without worrying if I was holding them up. They provide free internet. I had an early flight so I checked out the night before & the security guards helped me take my suitcases to the car. Now that's true aloha.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the garden so when I went out to the lanai there was an orchestra of birds songs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Resort. I, too, think our studios are perfect for couples or single travelers as they provide a full kitchen plus a washer/dryer yet are less expensive than many of the area hotel accommodations. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you felt our Aloha Spirit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Outrigger in Kona. The check in was friendly & personal after staying at the Hilton in Waikiki for a week where we felt like just a number. My husband had been sick all the previous night so they were very good & got our room ready early so he could to & sleep while the rest of us went out & explored the island.
Our apartment was huge - very large rooms. There were 6 of us staying in a 2 bedroom apartment & apart from the fold out couch being uncomfortable, we were very happy with everything. The rooms are nicely furnished & even though there is the odd bit of maintenance that is required, we could see a family staying there for a week no problem. There are two pools at the resort - one larger than the other right on the beach and both lovely.
There is a supermarket only about 2 klms from the apartment and a bbq in the grounds to cook your food so its all very comfortable. Would recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. Your description of the property was very thorough and I'm so pleased that we will be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were SO sad to see the Outrigger Keauhou close. We had to find a new location so trusting the Outrigger brand and knowing the general location of this hotel we got reservations here. These are condos. The setup is a little strange because it's one large building, but there are two check-in desks, two different owner/operators. Part of it is owned by a vacation plan and the rest is operated by Outrigger. The Outrigger units are owned by individuals and managed by Outrigger hotel group. They are scattered throughout the building. The building is built on a hill. The top floor (5) is at street level and level 1 is near the ocean. There are only 2 or 3 levels to the structure, so it is in steps down the hill. The structure has 2 sides with a garden in the middle and walkways and bridges connecting the two sides. There are "wings" extending from the main building on both sides and there is parking under the main building and outside near the units that are located in the "wings" - very convenient to those units. We were in a 1 bedroom unit with a garden view, in a wing on the 3rd level. We thought it was a very nice place to stay. They have 2 pool areas - one much larger than the other. Neither of them have great views although they are near the ocean. There are plenty of chaise lounges and some chairs and tables. Not much shade. There are restrooms close at hand which is nice. The unit we had was nicely furnished. We had some problem figuring out the light switches. When we checked out we mentioned that - some of the light globes may have been burned out. We didn't make a fuss about it because we could get by with the lights that worked. Our unit was quiet. The bed was very comfortable. We were there at a slow time (the end of November) so I think the place was not very occupied. The hotel has an entrance area that is open to all, but the rest is "gated" and you have to open a gate with your key. We like that because there weren't "extra" people there and it made the place more secure. It's NOT anything even close to our old favorite hotel down the coast as far as grounds and views, but it was nice, and we enjoyed the extra room that the condo provided. We will stay there again. It was reasonably priced, quiet, and very clean.

Room Tip: We like the unit in the "wing" because the parking was so close and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive description of the property. I can certainly agree with you that we all miss the Outrigger Keauhou Beach Hotel - it had such a Hawaiiana spirit and we were all sad to see her "shut down," but it has allowed us to showcase some of the features of staying in a condo versus a hotel room. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Along the tourist trap of Alii Drive is a small, non-assuming condo hotel. Even though the front grounds are immaculate, it doesn't look like much. The rooms were surprisingly huge, the pool areas had beautiful settings and the oceanfront view from the multiple lanais was to die for....2 bedroom condo, on the water for $125/night!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view - if you can afford the slight upgrade to ocean front, I'd strongly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and children have stayed here many times in the past, the property it self in nice and generally clean and well maintained by the housekeeping and grounds staff, However the front check in staff namely "Kelly" has a bad attitude and made me and my family feel as though it was an inconvenience to be there and i even overheard her while i was in the lobby area call a guest a "Idiot" while on the phone and even worse another employee was there and had to tell her that the phone was still on, on my check out day i heard her call some one else a "Moron", God just what i want my children to hear while on vacation poor vulgar language! This must be the worst person there and if they want guests to feel comfortable this surely is the worst person for the job i mean seriously if the management there cannot recognize that this person should be fired at least than maybe the manager there needs to be replaced as well! would love to stay there again however with the front check in staff like this i would certainly consider another property to spend my money at where the staff at least can pretend to be nice and where my family and children are safe from vulgar language!!

Room Tip: Two bed room units are much nicer than the one bedroom units and are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.