We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel

Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel
75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-326-4969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 233 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ali Drive
Transit: Ali'i Drive
Description: Guests of the Island Breeze Luau will be amazed with a display of authentic Polynesian activities, cuisine, and performances. Island Breeze Luau, located in right on the edge of the ocean of the King Kamehameha Hotel is rated the best lu'au on the Big Island by kama'aina (local residents)visitors and travel writers. The luau begins with a lei greeting and picture taking. An open bar, arts and crafts await you. The imu (traditional underground oven) ceremony, is also a part of the exciting beginning to your Island Breeze ohana (family). There are many ways to participate in the luau activities: weave a coconut frond, learn how to open a coconut, learn the art of hula, get a Polynesian tattoo, and take the time to meet and talk to some of the performers. Adults $82.74 Child (5-12) $41.34 Under 5 complimentary
Alberta Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What a fun evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was excellent and the show was fantastic. The performers were very energetic and they seemed to really enjoy their roles. The chief doing the coconut husking demonstration had a lot of fun teasing the crowed. I highly recommend this luau especially for people on their first Hawaiian vacation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first visit to Hawaii and we stayed at King Kamehameha hotel so we booked our Luau. The night started with a light drizzle and we thought our Luau would be ruined but the sky cleared and we had a great time. The food was amazing and the show outstanding.
My only disappointment was; we booked the upgrade. You were able to eat first and have front row seating. Well the way the seating is if you are on the wrong side (which we were) it sucked. The seats go parallel to the stage so you're sitting sideways and unless you face the stage you've got to crank your neck or if you have room, turn your chair.
My suggestion would be after supper, the chairs should be moved to theatre style. Just a suggestion.
We still really enjoyed the show and they did a great job!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a great night out. there is a discount for guests of the hotel so if you are staying at the hotel book at the Luau desk in the hotel. They do get you to buy a lei ($6) when you get there then they take a picture that you can buy later ($20). The show was great and the food was much bettter than I expected except for the deserts which could have been better. Open bar for 2 hours was nice and they had a Mai Tai punch bowl to help with the lines at the bar area. I didn't know wha to expect but I had a great time and the show was great there was interaction with the guests which made it more entertaining for both guests as well as the staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Daughter's first luau, memorable. Book it online/by phone before.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Short notice trip to Kona. My first time, staying at the Kamehameha, going to this luau was a no brainer. Saw that booking by phone, even the day of, was superior to waiting to get to the hotel, so called while at jetway at LAX, saved about 20%. Overcast on arrival so we walked around and were ready for dinner by the time it came to going to the Luau. We did not pick the preferred seating but it was not a problem. First part of entertainment was they had a number of activities for us to try, but did not tell us that we would only have time to do one. I made the mistake of picking making a palm leaf fish, should have taken hula lessons. Glasses for the mai tais are a little soft sided, don't plan on picking up more than 2 at a time. Lots of different food was available at the buffet including the pit roasted pig, very tasty. Some of the fish was very good. And of course they had the POI, which is how Lexi described it. Great dancing and entertainment,and as other viewers noted, you were not locked in your seat. Lexi got up and slowly worked her way forward to the front, where she was enraptured by the program. I worried that she was either an entertainment or a bother until 5 different people came by us saying things about the adorable little girl that was stealing the show. She made a lot of friends. We were back last week and she wanted to return to the luau. Instead we were pleasantly surprised to find that Huggo's on the rocks had a band and a very lovely and graceful dancer. Not a full show, but a very nice toned down substitute.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This is the go to Luau!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My sister booked this Luau and I was "great another Luau" if you've done Luaus they are pretty much the same. This Luau was so much fun and entertaining! Your not forced to sit all night. They had activities you could do, then dinner, and the show. You will be entertained because the people on the stage interact with you.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.