We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST POKE EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 233 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST POKE EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

You can't go wrong. The Spicy Garlic is my fave. Get there early for the best selection and make sure to try samples since they are all so different.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    161
    41
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“a new taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Found this place about 50 meters north of where we were staying (The Banyon Tree). Tiny but very good quality. I got one of the spicy poke mixtures with rice and seaweed salad. A little pricey at $11 for lunch but then everything is in Hawaii. Delicious food worth the wait in line.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just so good. Living in Hawaii, you can get poke at most supermarkets, but the fish is often previously frozen which ruins the texture. This is great FRESH fish, seasoned just right. Place is easy to find on Alii Drive...parking might be a challenge in their front lot, but there is other parking available.

Fish is cubed small, so it actually feels like there's more than there actually is. It's good--makes you savor every bite. Really enjoyed this place. Kids behind the counter were friendly, efficient, and run the place well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Da Poke Shack II Mile Marker 106”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Da Poke Shack opened in Captain Cook , Hawaii about 12 south of it's original Kona place.
Go to Mile Marker 106 and find Poke in Captain Cook, Amazing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small, delicious, takeout poke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Small takeout 'restaurant' with poke and sides. Easy to miss, but worth finding the place. Poke is raw fish or othe seafood marinated in various seasonings to be eaten with rice. My adult kids found this places. After we got our order, hunkered down to eat just outside the establishment at the picnic tables outside and just shared and enjoyed all of our choices! We got there late in the day, so there weren't quite as many choices. A definite great food in a 'hole in the wall', worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Poke Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.