We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Poke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Poke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been wanting to try this place after hearing so many great things about it and am glad I did. We stopped in to pick up some poke one afternoon to go and tried about three kinds. I bought the Pele's Kiss and it was very good. Super fresh and a delicious spicy sauce. They had several other kinds, and a few cooked hot items like pork, etc. just a tiny shop in a hotel on Ali'i drive. Great customer service from those working inside as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    179
    50
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

There was a great variety of fresh poke and side dishes, each absolutely wonderful! We each got a poke plate, and shared a few sides. There was so much food that we had it again for dinner and enjoyed it immensely!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hawaii has lots of great poke. If you are a fan, you've got to try the Poke Shack's Shack Special Poke. It is simply the best! Adequate portions, reasonable cost, great poke!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hole in the wall...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you know poke', you'll be happy.

Samples if you need to try first.

POke in Kona is much more expensive than elsewhere...this was fresh and ono!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the best poke on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

When my girlfriend and I arrived on the big island, we were in search of great poke. Once we found Da poke, we made 3 different stops to enjoy the best poke on the island. The place is a little shack but don't let that bother you, the staff and food are OUTSTANDING!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Poke Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.