We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite experience on the Big Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures
74-425 Kealakehe Parkway, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-987-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swim with Wild Dolphins & Manta Rays everyday. Established in 2002 and still going strong; We have been the Winner of the Certificate of Excellence for 7 years now. We are a Big Island of Hawaii adventure for swimming with Dolphins & Manta Rays. Eco friendly, we follow the guidelines established to make our tours safe for the Manta Rays, dolphins and our guests. We are on the GREENLIST FOR MANTA RAY TOURS. ONLY CHOOSE A COMPANY THAT IS REGISTERED FOR SAFETY OF THE MANTA RAYS on the Green List. Morning Dolphin charters take you up the Kailua Kona coast to a pod of wild dolphins, usually 100 plus. Snorkel with them right next to you. Lunch & snacks included. Rated as #1 Night Manta Ray snorkel company by all the review web sites. These are the most exciting activities you'll do here. All gear included. These 2 activities with marine life will be a highlight of your trip. We take children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle
1 review
“Our favorite experience on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My partner and I along with my two adult children in their twenties rated this experience the best of our week on the Big Island. Captain Ron and his assistant were terrific. We got to be with two other people on our boat, which was a much more personal way to experience the snorkel experience. My son who is not a strong swimmer was planning to remain on the boat but the day before decided to try to snorkeling. They were great at encouraging him and helping him do this. Thanks, Ron!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    12
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Swimming with hundreds of dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is an awesome adventure. Coral Reef did a fantastic job. They had great responses to our email questions before our vacation. We met them in the parking lot of the marina near the restroom where we boarded the boat. They had a nice dry spot for camera equipment that was secure, dry and easily accessible. We were fortunate on our day that they were able to find the dolphins pretty quickly. The day before they had to travel further and longer but they still found a good size pod. Once a pod is sighted- they will maneuver around so that you can enjoy them on the surface- it was an incredible thrill to watch them spin into the air and with the crystal clear water to see them surrounding your boat or playing in the wake. The boat then gets ahead of the pod and drops you in the water and then watch out- you are in the middle of a dolphin herd. Some will swim deep down, others in mid water and some come right by you- and clearly are checking you out. We were able to see several mother/baby pairs and a variety of dolphin behaviors. You then get back on and move forward and start again. We were offered a break, but politely declined and the captain and crew had no problem with the fact that we wanted to spend our time in the water with the dolphins. We even had time beyond what was specified. On the way back into the harbor- they served sandwiches, chips, fruit, drinks and brownies. They provided tons of information on dolphins. We were a group of 5 so we had the boat to ourselves as it only holds 6 and that was awesome. They were great with kids. For those who are uncomfortable with the water- let them know beforehand- they have noodles and other flotations to help you out. They came up with a wet suit for my 11 year old daughter when she got cold on the second swim in the water. Dolphin swims are pricey no matter where the encounter. We have done dolphin interactions in Mexico where you can touch the dolphin and do various things with the dolphin in the water. Seeing them in their natural habitat and observing their individual and group behaviors though is breathtaking. There is an awesome feeling that comes from knowing that these animals are wild and you get to experience just a little bit of what life is like for them under the sea.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is the most spectacular experience ever ( almost the same as sky diving ) ! It is just like how you see in the google image !! We have the snorkel tour, and manta ray swim an inch near us when we first get down to the water ! It was CRAZY !! We were with the crew of Carl and Shawn ! Both of them were awesome ! Friendly, Efficiency and keep you so safe :D

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mantas and Dolphins, OH MY !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had heard a lot about the night manta ray trips in Kona, and my trip out with Coral Reef was amazing. I also went out on the dolphin snorkel, it was great too. I am so glad I choose a small boat, it was very personalized service and the staff was xlnt, as were the yummy treats and lunch. They also were very patient with the less experienced snorkelers on the boat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Swimming with dolphins on our own private boat was simply AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Swimming with 100s of dolphins and some dolphin babies was the highlight of our 15th anniversary trip to Hawaii. We lucked out and had our own private boat! I swam for hours and love that we beat the crowds to the best spot. My hubby also took some amazing videos of the dolphins jumping and spinning out if the water.

We would both highly recommend Coral Reef Adventures!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.