We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and though a little more expensive then other Manta Charters, worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures

Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures
73-1310 Kukuna St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-987-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2002 and still going strong; We have been the Winner of the Certificate of Excellence for 4 years now. We are a Big Island of Hawaii adventure for swimming with Dolphins & Manta Rays. Eco friendly, we follow the guidelines established to make our tours safe for the Manta Rays, dolphins and our guests. We are on the GREENLIST FOR MANTA RAY TOURS. ONLY CHOOSE A COMPANY THAT IS REGISTERED FOR SAFETY OF THE MANTA RAYS. manta ray greenlist Morning charters take you up the Kailua Kona coast to a pod of wild dolphins, usually 100 plus. Snorkel with them right next to you. Lunch & snacks included. Rated as #1 Night Manta Ray snorkel company by all the review web sites. These are the most exciting activities you'll do here. All gear included. These 2 activities with marine life will be a highlight of your trip. We take children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oakdale, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and though a little more expensive then other Manta Charters, worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the cheerful attitudes of Capt Andy and crew to the homemade Brownies, this was an enjoyable experience.

Easy to find the boat, on time, good service. The fact that you are on a boat with six plus two crew makes all the difference. Other charters had 20 or more plus crew.

The Manta's were awesome!
I would recommend this adventure to anyone who can don a mask and snorkel
Which was easy as you just hung on to a ring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Mahalo for such a nice review. Yes, with a smaller group of guests, we may have a littler higher rates but the return for having a small group of snorkelers is great. Thank you for highlighting the benefits about us. We cater to those that have experienced a large crowd and realize it' so much better to be off the tour bus and into your own boat.
Mahalo again
Captain Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    10
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic time, really reccomend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We did two trips with them, the day snorkel trip which was a lot of fun. Nice boat and the captain and his crew were great. Boat only seats about 6 people and we were fortunate enough to have the boat to ourselves. Private charter feel without the high price tag. Had amazing encounter with what had to be a couple hundred dolphins. Got to swim withing inches of at least 20 or 30 of them. Also got the chance to swim with a few manta rays and some great reef areas. We also went our on the evening charter for the manta ray snorkle. They did a great job, an experience we will never forget. Different captain and crew but still top shelf and a great time. We watched all the other manta ray tour companies and all i could think was that they looked like a cattle call compaired to our group. they all had at least 20 or 30 people on their boats and could not possibly offer the kind of personal service that we recieved. They offer cold drinks, good sandwiches and amazing homemade brownies. Thank you guys for helping to make our honeymoon so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are really happy when we get these positive reviews.It is our goal that everyone who comes on one of our tours,experiences the best activity they do while here on the Island. It keeps us going even when the days on the water aren't the most perfect for us. We want our guests to have
a lasting memory of an enjoyable contact with marine life and the ocean of Hawaii. So we are glad that we delivered this to you.
Mahalo
Captain Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Manta Ray Night Snorkel - A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Now I understand why the Manta Ray Night Snorkel has been ranked one of the Travel Channels top 10 things to see. It's unbelievable. Worth every cent. You get to be within inches of the beautiful (and very gentle) manta rays. (Remember, Manta Rays are NOT sting rays - they are harmless.)

Captain Andy & Sean were great - friendly, fun, and made it super easy and quick to get your gear on, get in the water and have the best experience possible. The boat only carries 6 passengers, but it really roomy (I looked over at one of the zodiac boats there and was very happy I went with Coral Reef Adventures - the other boats seemed packed). They offered snacks and drinks and homemade brownies- delicious (I think the Owner's wife makes them).

My husband caught some great videos with our underwater camera of the manta rays swimming around and doing back flips right in front of us - we're both still in awe of the experience. We travel a lot and this has been one of our favorite experiences.

Don't think twice - you'll regret not doing this trip - and go with Coral Reef Adventures - they make it quick and easy and fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
With such limited time that our visitors have on the Island . We realize you want to pack as much in as possible. That's why as a small group, you don't have to spend several hours before the charter, checking in at a shop. Then going out to the marina and waiting for all 20 people to arrive at the boat and then getting out to the site early enough for 20 people to get ready and finally jump in the water. We meet you at the marina, get the boat out quickly and to the site just before it's dark and into the water. You don't waste all that extra time before hand for the 50 minutes your in the water with the Manta Rays. We make it quick and easy and especially fun.
Mahalo
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great crew, exciting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We saw spinner dolphins, manta rays, and reef wildlife. The small boat meant that we were able to tailor our experience to our family's wishes. The crew were professional and organized. I brought my two children (7 and 10) and they helped our kids throughout the day -- resulting in a wonderful experience for everyone! Thank you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
As a small group, we are able to offer our guests a custom tour. We know that there are certain
things people want to see and we try to accommodate their wishes. We don't just do one standard tour but change each day with our guests. It makes it exciting for all of us.
Mahalo
Captain Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW! What an adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have done this trip before with another boat operator and as always the manta rays are unbelievable. Coral Reef adventures made it a better experience. Capt. Andy and Sean were both helpful, and informative. We were provided full wetsuits for the adventure, a real plus. And Sean made sure that we were comfortable and always in a position to see the rays. Thumbs up

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain96740, Owner at Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We really love our adventures that we offer our guests. even though we've been been doing this since 202, every night is special. As we make new friends each night on our tour, we are glad that
we can be part of the lasting memories of the Manta Ray experience. Hope to see you again.
Captain Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Snorkel Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.