We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, drinks, and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Cantina

Rosa's Cantina
Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-326-1198
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a new restuarant. I went there last week while on vacation...it was fabulous Mexican food...would like to share it with others.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, drinks, and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are staying in Kona, this place offers a great view; it's off the street level which is a plus. We thought the food was very acceptable having lunch and a dinner there, with very good drinks. They could improve their salsa that comes with the chips. Good beer and wine selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    15
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Mexican food on Big Island- and that's coming from an El Paso native!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We've lived in HI (on Oahu) for a number of years now and though there are a few Mexican places I will occasionally eat, they taste nothing like anything I grew up with. Recently my family and I hopped over to Big Island for a trip to Volcanoes National Park and stopped in Kailua-Kona for dinner.

We initially chose Rosa's for the view of the bay, which was amazing, and the charming decor and ambience, but quickly realized that the food is the main attraction. Rosa's tasted like home, but better! I had the steak Molcajete, and it tasted fantastic, as well as being attractively presented. Hubby had the chili verde burrito, and was equally pleased. Our kiddo (who likes the Hawaiian and Asian cuisine he has grown up with, and mostly dislikes anything else) was happy with the basic kids' meal of french fries and a cheeseburger.

Now, food here in the islands is expensive, and we usually spend around $100 any time we go out to a moderately priced restaurant, but our meal at Rosa's, which included a really fantastic dish of homemade salsa and totilla chips was only $58 before tip. Oh, and I had a top shelf margarita with my meal.

I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for good Mexican, great ambience, and a killer view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great view for a relaxed and casual meal from tall tables right on the verandah. Wait staff were friendly and very attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Food with a great view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The food here just sucks! That's the nicest thing I can say...
The queso was literally cheese wiz with diced up green chillies.
We got no drink refills, and the food tasted microwaved. The tortilla chips are basically flour tortillas that have been cut into triangles and deep fried...
The view however is amazing! The ukulele player provided great atmostphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honomu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mexican Food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Open air dining with good views of Kona Bay. Service is speedy and drinks are good. Prices are decent and food is great as well. Some evenings they have live music with ukelele which has been great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Cantina also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Rosa's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.