We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill

Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill
74-425 Kealakehe Pkwy #17, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808-327-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 241 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

hidden spot, get there when the fishing charters come in and you may see some amazing big fish catches. great spot for a beer and catch of the day lunch, and hang out while awaiting your flight at nearby airport

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    184
    62
    32
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Funky little restaurant/fish Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We both had fish tacos..I had them with salad and my friend had them w/ beans and rice. Great! Good prices on beer for happy hour. We had planned to go back but never made it the second time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Well what can you say about this place.....
Location directly looking over the harbor
Fresh fish caught same day straight from the boat and freshly cooked, with very reasonable prices. We recommend the fresh shrimps and also the fish dips starters
Service was very friendly.
Only downside was no draft beers, but so long as you can suffer a bucket of Stella then your sorted
Thanks guys you made a great trip most enjoyable

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warne, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“simple sustenance that won’t break the bank”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Their location right in the middle of Honokohau Harbor marina guarantees them a steady clientele of watermen and their client fishermen and divers coming and going off the water. I wish we had rented a condo with a kitchen because the offerings at their fish market were definitely fresh!
We ate at the separate little shack style restaurant as we waited for the boat for a manta ray night dive. I had an unimaginatively spiced fried calamari and my wife had a tasty fish taco. We tried both their macaroni salad and fries which were both unremarkable. The atmosphere was mostly open air, beer drinking, crusty old sea salts and we felt right at home. I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat there but if you are there it’s the only place to eat- and a good bargain to boot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Super casual with freshest fish, right at the Honokohau harbor. Specials are always great, can buy fish to take home too. Been here many times and recently went with friends who were in Kona for the first time. We were sandy and salty from swimming at the beach and had a great lunch sitting at the bar. Consistently good food here, locals here often, lots of boaters and charter folks. They also have "taxidermied" fish there too so you can see what an Ono or Mahi or Marlin looks like....before you eat the fresh ones.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bite Me Fish Market Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.