We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip with Iolani Air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Air Tour Co.

Iolani Air Tour Co.
73-300 U'u Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
800-538-7590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 177 activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Now Really See Hawaii! Fly over the Big Island- Fiery Volcanoes! Towering Waterfalls! Crystal Blue Seascapes! Iolani Air provides a safe, smooth, geographic showcase with personal window seats for better viewing. Nice to know this "once-in-a-lifetime" experience doesn't have to take a life time to pay for either. That's right. Overfly untouched Hawaii without overspending. Since we are located at two Big Island Airports, Kona and Hilo, great choices include the Hilo Lava Plane-our one hour, great priced Volcano & Waterfall flight and the Kona Lava Plane-our version of the 2.5 hour Circle Island Tour as well as the popular, exclusive Kona Deluxe Tour for Two. What's in a name? Iolani is ancient Hawaiian for "Exalted Hawk". It is actually two Hawaiian words joined together. Io (pronounced "ee-oh") is the native Hawaiian Hawk. Lani means heaven. To see the Iolani flying overhead means good fortune.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip with Iolani Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose Iolani Air for a deluxe flight for two around the island for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and had a great experience with them. The staff in the office and our pilot, Tim Levin, were all excellent, very professional but also friendly and fun and we came away with fantastic memories of our special day. To see the Big Island from the air is breathtaking, it is such an island of contrasts and apart from the amazing coastline we saw dolphins in the bay, lush green valleys and waterfalls, vast lava fields and molten lava entering the ocean. Tim was very happy to tailor the trip for us, circling specific points of interest that particularly caught our eye and he was an absolute mine of information. His enthusiasm and knowledge helped to make our day an unforgettable one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    16
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fantastic 2 hour flight around the big island with another fun couple. Saw 60 plus dolphins from the air, lava flowing into the ocean, stark black lava landscapes, beautiful green valleys, macadamia trees, Kona coffee plantations, waterfalls, celebrity homes. Staff was great. Harry arranged affordable transportation from our hotel and our pilot gave lively and informative descriptions what we were seeing couched in historical context. Definitely the way to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great choice for around the island flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We didn't originally book with Iolani as our concierge didn't really know them, but when we arrived at our original company, they had had a fuel spill and couldn't take us. We waited and found out that this company couldn't fly us until 5 hours later. I contacted Rebecca at Iolani who I had trade some emails with initially and she was able to fit my wife, daughter and I into a noon flight. We arrived and found that only one other person would be flying with us for a 2.5 hour fight around the island. We got to the plane, took pictures and prepped the plane. I was not an enthusiastic flyer having never been on such a small plane, but I was put at ease by our pilot, who was very confident and even put me up front in the copilot's seat. it was a great trip, it was a smooth flight. Our pilot was very knowlegeable and had stories about each area and climate zone we flew over. We were able to see where lava was flowing into the ocean, but excessive vog kept us from going too close to the volcanoes. Our flight was longer and cheaper than the other company we were going to use, but we all still had window seats and were able to see and photograph all around the island. I highly recommend the Iolani Air Tour. It was a true highlight our week on the big island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fly Hawaii with Dale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I did the Deluxe Tour for 2 that flew us around the whole island. The weather was perfect and the views were amazing. Dale was our pilot and he did a great job. I even got to fly the plane for awhile. Would highly recommend this! The prices were the best around too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of out trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were visiting the Big Island for a week (and O'ahu for another week). We had originally booked a private tour for the two of us. Well, that didn't happen. Seems they mixed up our weights with two very skinny people and when we showed up they couldn't fly us. We were rebooked for two days later and while it was disappointing when it happened, it all worked out for the best! The bigger plane made me feel much better as the trade winds buffeted us up/down/right/left, all at the same time. I get motion sick pretty easily and after awhile I was feeling green. The weather was also a lot better that day!

The scenery and experience were more than worth the price of the flight. Kevin, our pilot, was great, explaining all the sights. It was really incredible!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Air Tour Co. also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Iolani Air Tour Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Air Tour Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iolani Air Tour Co. to your Saves list