We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Road

Saddle Road
Hawaii Highway 200, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Visit Saddle Road like an insider
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942, this 53-mile long road is extremely dangerous with its narrow structure, blind turns, rough surface and single-lane bridges.
Dacula, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

An amazing drive. Towering Mauna Kea on one side, and humongous Mauna Loa on the other. One of the best ways to see these two volcanoes. And the fastest way from one side of the island to the other!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    408
    117
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartwell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“goregous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The drive don't take too long. But you cant stop taking pictures once on the rd. Its gorgeous lava rocks all down the 50 mile Rd to Kona. Beautiful mountains and its cold going up 6000 elevation. You can mea kea with the snow peaks.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scipio, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So nice so much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

So much to see Breath Taking wild life just everywhere . Big mountains Drive above the clouds, make sure you have full tank of gas , so peaceful but no gas stations

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton,Ohio USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy the sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was a long drive and the afternoon and evening we did it it was quite foggy. They have recently repaved it and it is a pretty good road. We were heading from Hilo to Mauna Kea Visitor Center. If I go back I would do the entire road but earlier in the day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, SD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

All travel info said not to take this road but a local bus driver said the locals use it all the time and instructed us in how to back to Kona using this short cut. It has evidently been recently revamped because it was a smooth wide road over the mountains. The terrain was so interesting compared to the lava fields we had earlier driven by and the wildlife (goats and sheep) was abundant. It was foggy at the top and then cleared up as we went down. We were so glad we didn't just turn around in Hilo and go back the way we came from Kona. A totally different view of the island. Warning...there is only an outhouse between Hilo and Kona and if you miss it you're in trouble.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Road also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Saddle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.