We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries its all paved now” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Road

Saddle Road
Hawaii Highway 200, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari
Ranked #6 of 35 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942, this 53-mile long road is extremely dangerous with its narrow structure, blind turns, rough surface and single-lane bridges.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No worries its all paved now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I read so many comments about rental car companies not allowing you to drive on this road. That is not the case anymore. They finished paving it a couple of years ago and after driving it myself I'm not sure what the big deal is. Maybe its because I've driven the cascade mountain passes in winter, this is really no big deal for me. You will have some steep areas of road on the west side and winding areas of road on the east side. The sites along the road are nothing much to talk about but if you plan to summit one of the mountains the roads off of saddle will be more the issue. If you are traveling between hilo and kona this should shave at least a half hour off your trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    350
    100
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nene's just sitting on the side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I cannot believe I did not get a photo. But pretty close to halfway from Hilo, we found a pair feeding just on the side of the road. The new road is amazing, and I am so glad it is there…

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good paved road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This road has been greatly improved and is the best route to take between Hilo and Kona. It only took us 1 1/2 hrs to take the trip. There are lots of lava fields to see along the way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not At All Scary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

When planning our trip, read a few reviews that implied that this route might be a bit dangerous. Either those reviews are old, or the reviewers have limited 'real' road experience. For the most part, it's an easy drive, with very little to concern any driver. The only windy bits are at the ends. I'd been looking forward to a challenge, but that was sadly missing. Instead, it's just a scenic drive, with a few good views along the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Road Improvement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Saddle Road is now more of a fantastic highway than the concept of a "saddle road." We drove it during daylight twice and once after dark. The road markings in the dark were more like driving on an airport runway! The time to Hilo or Mauna Kea Road were cut in half!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Road also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Saddle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.