We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A roller coaster through the moon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Road

Saddle Road
Hawaii Highway 200, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Visit Saddle Road like an insider
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942, this 53-mile long road is extremely dangerous with its narrow structure, blind turns, rough surface and single-lane bridges.
Rock Creek
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A roller coaster through the moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We wound up driving this road a number of times. It is a great way to get from Kona to Hilo. The landscape near the top is awesome and you get a good perspective of the various cinder cones that have roamed Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea. The road to the top of Mauna Kea is accessed from here, as well. Do it at least once, but try to avoid going from Hilo to Kona later in the day. It can be foggy and a bit tense. Locals tend to go pretty fast, so be prepared.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    408
    117
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport OR
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“First Ten Miles is "Car-Sick" Territory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The First Ten Miles is one of the nastier roads I've driven in a while. After the First Ten the road really improves and makes the drive over to Hilo, interesting

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views and good road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I heard this road was bad to drive. This is totally false. The road is well paved with the typical single lane bridges on Hawaii. We saw plenty of animals - big goats, donkeys, pheasants, and wild turkeys. Probably only bad time to drive is if night and foggy on the west side of the island. Very scenic drive. We had a great view of Mauna Kea observatories.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“foggy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Saddle Road was supposed to be a shortcut back from Akaka Falls to Kona but we ran into fog that was like pea soup. There were no signs warning about fog ahead or the MANY one lane bridges. Fog was dense & the drive was stressful!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“An easy drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our trip up the saddle road from Hilo to the Mauna Kea visitor was just fine. We had some concerns about it but found that the road had been recently improved. We did not travel the section from Kona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Road also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Saddle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.