We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW- What an improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Road

Saddle Road
Hawaii Highway 200, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$176*
and up
Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio...
Ranked #6 of 116 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942, this 53-mile long road is extremely dangerous with its narrow structure, blind turns, rough surface and single-lane bridges.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“WOW- What an improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My last trip over the saddle was 10 years ago, so the pavement and realignment was wonderful. The road had some twists, turns and dips at each end but not scary- just watch your speed and stop to check your map.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank victoria_BCLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    565
    157
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Way to Cross an Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The views along this road were amazing. Driving between two volcanoes - what more can I say?
We actually drove all the way around the island the day before but decided we had time before returning to our resort to drive half way across the Saddle Road - so pleased we did.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacquiP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“High, narrow, cooler temperature!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had the opportunity to be on the Volcano tour and travel on the Saddle Road. It was a great experience. We traveled up several thousand feet in elevation where it was considerably cooler. The road is a little rough in places, but fine for a rental car. The road also is very narrow in places, with one several small bridges that narrow to one lane traffic. You drive past several Parker related buildings and land.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great road - very scenic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This road has been rebuilt, widened and repaved recently. We drove it from Waimea to Hilo and found it a challenge to keep within the speed limit. There is very little traffic. You can stop for great views in several locations. It's a nice change from the coastal road. I would recommend driving the saddle road one direction and returning on the coastal road to get a good view of the island.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco,Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saddle Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

What a Change from the old days! The only thing you have to watch is your speed! The police are waiting for you to come flying by and they have radar! So stay with in the posted speed limit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoo_549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Road also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Saddle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing