We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW- What an improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Road

Saddle Road
Hawaii Highway 200, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Visit Saddle Road like an insider
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942, this 53-mile long road is extremely dangerous with its narrow structure, blind turns, rough surface and single-lane bridges.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“WOW- What an improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My last trip over the saddle was 10 years ago, so the pavement and realignment was wonderful. The road had some twists, turns and dips at each end but not scary- just watch your speed and stop to check your map.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    416
    120
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Way to Cross an Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The views along this road were amazing. Driving between two volcanoes - what more can I say?
We actually drove all the way around the island the day before but decided we had time before returning to our resort to drive half way across the Saddle Road - so pleased we did.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“High, narrow, cooler temperature!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had the opportunity to be on the Volcano tour and travel on the Saddle Road. It was a great experience. We traveled up several thousand feet in elevation where it was considerably cooler. The road is a little rough in places, but fine for a rental car. The road also is very narrow in places, with one several small bridges that narrow to one lane traffic. You drive past several Parker related buildings and land.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Great road - very scenic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This road has been rebuilt, widened and repaved recently. We drove it from Waimea to Hilo and found it a challenge to keep within the speed limit. There is very little traffic. You can stop for great views in several locations. It's a nice change from the coastal road. I would recommend driving the saddle road one direction and returning on the coastal road to get a good view of the island.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco,Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Saddle Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

What a Change from the old days! The only thing you have to watch is your speed! The police are waiting for you to come flying by and they have radar! So stay with in the posted speed limit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Road also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Saddle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.