We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory

The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory
78-6772 Makenawai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
+1 888-447-2626
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From our factory on the slopes of Hualalai Mountain's bountiful Kona region on the Island of Hawaii comes the one and only Original Hawaiian Chocolate(R). We are the first to grow, hand-pick, sun-dry and process only Hawaiian grown cocoa beans, non-blended to assure purity and quality. The result is a delicious single-origin Hawaiian chocolate of distinctive texture and taste. The OHCF farm and factory tours are offered Wednesday mornings at 9:00am and Friday mornings at 9:00am. It is a one hour walking tour of the orchard and factory and of course, includes chocolate sampling! Bob conducts a fabulous tour ... it's full of information about every step in the chocolate making process, from growing the trees to molding each handmade delicious bar.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a quick and fun tour to do the day after we flew in, they only do tours twice a week, check the website for dates/availability. The couple are very sweet and friendly. Samples are delicious! Tour is about an hour, bathroom in gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“everything you always wanted to know about making chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very informative tour, the owner himself spend an hour walking us around on the farm and in the (very small) factory. I'm a big chocoholic, but never realized how much goes into making good chocolate. Also didn't know how the beans grew. Well, now I know it all. Even the kids enjoyed the one hour tour and they normally don't really have the patience to sit through long lectures, but this kept their attention and interest. Of course the sampling helps too :-) You have to make reservations early, since they only do tours on Wednesday and Friday at 9am. Early start to the day, but interesting and worthwhile addition to the more well-know coffee and macadamia tours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chocolate haven on Kona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited this cute little chocolate factory as part of an NCL ship tour. Bob the owner explained how he makes his chocolate from start to finish. It was fun watching little green geckos come running to taste the cut open cacao pods. We walked through a shady orchard and tasted some yummy chocolates shaped like flowers. Friendly staff and bathroom available (always good to know with kids). Bought some more chocolate flowers in the gift shop and ate them all by the next day. Really good! They do ship to CA so might be ordering some when the weather cools down at home (they only ship to cool climates to protect the chocolate quality). Highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice People and Great Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Here you will learn everything you want to know about chocolate from start to finish. Bob Cooper, owner, gives an impressive tour starting in his cacao orchard. He is knowledgable and interesting. The site has a gorgeous coastal view. Free samples are delicious. There is a tiny gift shop with $$$ chocolate. Nice bathroom, though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Interesting- but $15?!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited with my parents and 8 year old. My parents mentioned they had visited before from a cruise and they didn't charge them. Got 3 little chocolates to taste and a lot of information about botany and plants. He was good about passing things around for kids to touch. The geckos after he opened the pod were cute too. After the tour people dropped $$$ on chocolate, so I'm not sure why they charge for the tour(but it was nice they didn't charge my parents again). Also provided bug spray to all which was kind of them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.