We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Oasis B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaiian Oasis B&B
74-4958 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I know this might sound silly, but I've found that you can tell a lot about a small or independently operated place by the way they fold their towels. You see, the time and level of care it takes to tightly and precisely fold a towel is indicative of the time and level of care that is put into all other aspects of managing the property and guests.

We rented the property for a week, which ended with our dream wedding and reception. As one would imagine, there was a lot of planning, decorating and coordinating that took place, with increasing velocity as the week progressed. Dano could not have been more helpful in offering advice, goods and tools for making it all come together. He made himself available at all times needed and was johnny-on-the-spot. It's clear that he takes great pride in tending to the giant task of keeping the property up.

While Dano isn't directly responsible for folding the towels, it's clear that he fosters a prideful culture with all those who work on/with the property.

The towels at Hawaiian Oasis were folded perfectly. (shoutout to Tamara!)

Room Tip: Don't miss the sunset from the Aloha Room lanai!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaZenpuggy, Owner at Hawaiian Oasis B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
While I can't speak to the exact folding of the towels, it's clear that you are a detail person, and I'm so glad that we were able to meet (or perhaps exceed) your expectations! We DO care about the little things at the Hawaiian Oasis, and it's nice when they are noticed :)
The Oasis is a remarkable place for a special event, and I'm delighted that your wedding celebration was just as you had hoped. Thank you for your compliments, and I hope we see you for an anniversary in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We can not say enough about our stay at the Hawaiian Oasis B&B. We rented the home for our wedding and found it to be the perfect spot for the ceremony, reception and for our stay on the island. We had a total of 12 family members and the house was perfect! There was enough large shared space to accommodate a big family yet all the rooms were spacious and comfy so that when private time was needed, we had that too. The house was stocked with just about anything you could want or need. Dano, the innkeeper was amazing! He took a personal interest in making sure our wedding was a success. He offered help whenever he could and he personally made sure the grounds were pristine the day of the wedding. We definitely plan on staying again in the future and can not wait to return to this beautiful home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaZenpuggy, Owner at Hawaiian Oasis B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
I'm delighted that you found the Hawaiian Oasis perfect for your wedding and "home base" for your family! The property is set up so that everyone can have a little piece of their own paradise while still sharing the estate. It was one of the things that first attracted me to the property before we bought it, and I'm glad that it worked for you so well! Thank you for your comments. Come back and stay with us sometime by yourselves, and we can show you how we treat old friends as B&B guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Having to leave today after our third time at Hawaiian Oasis made us feel so sad. It has become our vacation "home" and we love returning to paradise. Dano makes the stay feel very special and Theresa is the sweetest hostess. It was great spending time with the owner Darla too. Thank you Peter and Darla for your attention to detail. Mahalo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I were in desperate need of a relaxing vacation early last summer and almost at the last minute decided to travel to Hawaii. We were so fortunate that there was a room available at the Hawaiian Oasis! Dan and Theresa were wonderful hosts and everyone on staff was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Aloha Suite and it was beautiful. Although we missed interacting with other guests, we happened to be the only ones there at the time and we felt like royalty to have this amazing properly all to ourselves. The Aloha Suite was perfect; however, if other guests are at the Oasis a downstairs room may be more private. We played tennis each morning before having a delicious breakfast. We loved spending time at the Oasis. It was quite hot when we were in Kona and a definite plus was that after swimming or hiking along the coast in the afternoon heat, we could return to the B and B and it was so cool and nice with a constant breeze coming in the windows. Day or night, the temperature was so pleasant. We hope to return, perhaps for our 25th wedding anniversary next year! Finally, I can't thank Dan enough for introducing me to Kona coffee, a coffee so mellow I can drink caffeinated without getting jittery!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast US
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hawaiian Oasis for 4 nights in December 2013. Dano was a great host and chef. The breakfasts were delicious. He always had a good selection of all types of foods. We enjoyed his suggestions for daily excursions and local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our family of 12 rented the entire property for 10 days in December. The house is great for a large group as everyone had their own space within 5 bedrooms in the four suites (one suite has 2 bedrooms). The common living area and kitchen is very large and easily accomodates a group of 12. The yard is simply stunning; the pictures hardly do justice to this tropical oasis. The property is very private and spacious and there is something for everyone: pool, hot tub, tennis, badminton, and a tiki bar (equipped with sink, fridge, microwave and BBQ and restroom!). There is a lot of green space for little ones to run around freely.

There are some beaches located within Kona, we found there are fantastic, less-known white sand beaches with turquoise water with restrooms and showers 20-40 min drive from the property, which is definitely worth the trip. Volcano National Park can also be visited for the day from this property. There is also a tonne of information on what to see and do on the island in the house on the planning table.

This house is conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport,however, we never seen or heard the planes. Costco is 5 minutes away and shopping on Alii Drive is also a 5 minute drive with plenty of parking.

Dano, the inn-keeper, is very knowledgable and available to help us in whatever way we needed and is an all-around nice guy. The owners, Peter and Darla, were also fantastic to deal with.

My only caution would be for any light sleepers: It may be wise to pack ear plugs as wild roosters in the area have a tendency to make noise at different hours of the night. This affected some members of our group and not others.

Bottom Line: Do not hesitate to rent this property. You will not regret it. We would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a great time staying here as our first stop on our honeymoon. The grounds are amazing, the rooms are comfortable, beautiful and private, and our host, Dano was a great chef and guide. We would recommend this b&b to anybody. We only gave a 4-star for location because it is located up the hill a bit from the highway (and beaches and towns). What you get for that small inconvenience are beautiful views and a little cooler weather being higher up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawaiian Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Oasis B&B

Address: 74-4958 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and 'E Komo Mai (Welcome)! Come and relax in a tropical paradise where luxury is affordable. Located on 2 beautifully landscaped acres, this unique estate has been one of Kona's favorite B&Bs for many years. Featured in Sunset Magazine, and recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guide, the Hawaiian Oasis B&B offers unparalleled hospitality in a magnificent setting. We offer all the amenities you would expect from a luxurious B&B (high quality linens, made-in-Hawaii bath products, breakfast and housekeeping, a waterfall-fed salt water swimming pool, spa, Koi pond, and tennis courts) and all the conveniences of a vacation rental (guest kitchen, beach gear provided, spacious indoor & outdoor living spaces with plenty of privacy). You will be just 5 minutes from Kailua-Kona village, but when you retreat to the serenity of the Hawaiian Oasis at the end of the day, you'll feel miles away from it all. Ahhh, another day in paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Oasis B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Oasis B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawaiian Oasis B&B to your Saves list