We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and prices, a local's diner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Tree Cafe

Pine Tree Cafe
73-4040 Hulikoa Drive, #2, Kohanaiki Plaza, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and prices, a local's diner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lunch was good here. Quick turnaround. Seems to be popular with the locals, which tells you that the prices are decent. Service was not overtly friendly but, we just wanted lunch anyway. The Mahi sandwich was delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    83
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great authentic Hawaiian plate lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stumbled into this place when the kids wanted to eat at Taco Del Mar which is in the same non descript strip mall. We arrived at 11:25 am and there was a line of ten people waiting to place an order and a bunch more waiting for their food. Being a big fan of plate lunches I thought this was an excellent sign. The locals confirmed this for me. The servings are very generous and the selection is staggering and it takes a few min to make up your mind. It's clean with lots of indoor seating and some outdoor seating. It's right off the main road outside of Kona and quite convenient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great & Numerous Asian/Hawaiin Choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had two of about 25 specials of the day. Food was great, hot and deliciouse. Highlly recommend going there. Near the airport

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Plate Lunch Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Crowded parking lot, worth fighting for a spot. Damage rental if necessary! They have excellent mac-salad, our plates came with poi and lomi-salmon. My wife thought it was just "OK," but I'm gonna call trump on this one. Best plate lunch I had so far in HI. Prices were good and competitive. Large menu selection to satisfy just about anyone. Don't look for lots of Aloha, they are about the business of serving food, and they do it well. That is fine with me, keep serving the food you do.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Large Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ate lunch here after hearing it was good for a mixed plate from some locals and it did not disappoint! They have a large lunacy menu so it was hard to decide what to order. I had teriyaki chicken with rice and Mac salad. The chicken was so tender and flavorful I would order it again for sure. I like that they have a mini plate for smaller appetites. The setting feels sort of cafeteria, but if you are looking for a quick meal by the airport and want some quality, quick serve food, I recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Tree Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pine Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.