We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manta ray night dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Diving Company

Kona Diving Company
74-5615 Luhia St., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-331-1858
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2014, Kona Diving Company offers SCUBA diving adventures off of their custom dive boat on the Kona coast of the Big Island of Hawaii. Contact us for certification of all levels, introductory dives & night dives/manta ray dives. Multi-day dive packages available. A wonderful shop and friendly staff will welcome you!
Chester, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Manta ray night dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was an awesome experience. Watching these massive creatures as they swim to there food was spectular. You snorkel from a surf board with lights to attract the manta. If you scuba you can be at the bottom. Our guides, Jordon and David, were so helpful and reassuring especially for those of us who were a little nervous. So glad we did this adventure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    16
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“These beasts are the size of cars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A one of a kind adventure. Great staff, great snorkeling, and amazing time. You start off at the marina and load up on the boat. Head north a short way up off the Kona coast and enjoy some snorkeling. Nice spot for both deep and shallow snorkeling. After sunset you get back on the boat and by then all of the companies are in position. A nice bonus of going with Kona Diving is that you get the spot before the other companies and enjoy plenty of room to snorkel and you splash in last at night so you get some time by yourself with the mantas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffco2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top notch, organized attentive and hella-fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very professional well run dive shop and boat. Manta dives were off the hook. Unlike most that hit the manta dive, they get there early securing a prime spot before the rest of the armada arrives. Rental gear is new and well maintained. They cater well to all levels of divers. I'm an instructor and been diving 20+ years and I highly recommend this operation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manta Night Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding dive experience with Kona Diving Company. Great crew - funny, educational, and professional. Of the three night dives with the mantas I have experienced, this was By FAR the best experience. The dive site off the airport yielded 18 mantas! Far better than off the Sheraton which only sees 1-3 per night. Each diver is provided with new state of the art high intensity LED dive lights which greatly helps to attract plankton. 12 foot wide mantas "fly" directly over your head occasionally bumping the top of your head. Because Kona Diving drops us in the water after other dive boats, we get the benefit of not having to wait for the mantas to show up. Also, when these other divers have surfaced, the mantas then focus completely on our group. This results in creating a frenzy of activity that is truly amazing. This strategy really works well. I rented Kona's equipment and was surprised to wear a new 5 mil Bare wet suit. I thought I would be too warm, but it worked well. Since this was the second dive and I was sitting on the bottom, the heavier suit was perfect. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“absolute perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

WE-are a family of2snorklers (one adult and one child), two tern newly certified divers age 12 and 15, and one very accomplished diver. We had a number of requests from manta snorkels and dives to two tank trips to the extended three tank trips. We had some using nitride and 100 cf steels. Some renting all equipment and others only pieces. We began booking in Feb (I do things earlier than most). Our trip could not have gone smoother. Not once did the shop have a different itinerary for us. Every outing had precisely the right equipment for each person waiting on board. They quickly learnedly your name and dive preferences. The dive masters and captains were extremely knowledgeable as well as friendly. They have a unique gift for making you feel part of their family. They are outstanding with children. Jordan will forever hold a special place in my daughter's heart for making her feel so special. My boys talk endlessly about Luke, Paul and David and the many things they explored together. For me Katie and Sarah are the best to deal with. My husband who has dived extensively in Cozumel, California, NC, MA and FL proclaims Merrie company the best he has ever dived with. Their shop is easy to find on the highway that leads to the airport. Just look for Kona Industrial park and the big dive flag. Hang a right on Dhoti st. The boat is equally easy to reach with plenty of parking. We did around 25 dives with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Diving Company also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Diving Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Diving Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.