We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii
Save
You added 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii to your Saves list
77-6504 Kilohana, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
maryland, usa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This spot is tucked away in a residential area high up on the hill overlooking Kona. Walking down to the cottage, equivalent to about 2 stories, brings you to a charming little abode. Once inside, the place is immaculate, beautifully furnished and comfortable as can be. Large kitchen area fully equipped except for a stove and oven (required, I'm sure) but many ways to prepare food available. Bed is super comfortable, towels labeled as to his and hers, refrig stocked with condiments for cooking, and every detail attended to. The lanai has many seating options, with a partially obscured view of the ocean, but quite thrilling. Nice place to read and relax. Large open area to the side which allows for bird watching, not to mention the occasional pig or cat. It was very quiet and peaceful---the best night's sleep on the island.

When we arrived, we were escorted to our accommodations by Dolores, the owner. She explained we needed to remove our shoes before entering, and she gave us a 15 minute tour, telling us which switches went to which light, etc. Again, many details were given as she sat on the sofa asking if we had questions. This cottage was recently refurbished and excellently executed.

Breakfast was on the lanai, 2 stories up. Lovely location. Dolores takes pride in providing a lovingly prepared meal. And she sat with us while we ate, telling awesome tales. Later, as we prepared for the beach, she offered everything we needed to make the day excellent. Dolores, 85, enjoys her guests and gives them every comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We started our trip with Dolores and ended our trip with her. The rest of our stay was at the Hilton Waikoloa which was lovely but 1st Class B&B was a great counterpoint. We couldn't wait to get back for Dolores excellent breakfasts on her lanai. We made new friends with her other guests and would definitely go back if we get the chance. Dolores is very helpful too. She had good recommendations for us. She is well equipped too with coolers, beach chairs, beach towels and boogie boards. I can't enough good things about our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at 1st Class B&B first in 1999 while waiting for friends to join us at a hotel. It was a Hawaiian experience in a real environment with fragrant breezes, peaceful surroundings, and lovely hospitality. We have returned in 2001,2003,2004,2007, and hope to return soon. Our pattern has been to stay with Dolores to get settled on the Island then move over to a rental house. She has provided us with excellent information of all sorts including some wonderful restaurants. One of my personal most relaxing memories is sitting on the small lanai of the cottage, watching the birds and the ocean down the hill, drinking coffee before going up to breakfast on the main lanai. (My husband loves the french restaurant nearby.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I have previously travelled to warm destinations, but this was our first trip to Hawaii and after spending 12 absolutely wonderful nights staying at the 1st Class B & B, we will definitely be returning. Upon our arrival at the 1st Class B & B we were warmly greeted by the owner of the establishment, Delores, and shown to the private cottage where a few simple directions were provided to us to make our stay more enjoyable.

We spent 10 nights in the cottage which was very private and very comfortable with all the comforts of home. The bed was extremely comfortable, the furnishings and accoutrements were pleasing and worth the expense. The last two nights in the studio were equally as pleasant and comfortable.

Fresh towels were supplied daily and the breakfasts prepared by Delores were exceptional examples of first class culinary cuisine. Mornings during breakfast we would sit and chat with Delores; she filled us in on some of the history of Hawaii and local customs of the island. Dolores and her wealth of knowledge regarding the local sights allowed us to miss nothing on our daily excursions. Our only regret is that our time there passed too quickly. At the 1st Class B & B we struck a friendship with Delores we will always treasure and never forget. We would highly recommend the 1st Class B & B for your stay on the big island of Hawaii.

Cheers Delores!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The attention to detail is extraordinary. The breakfasts are something to remember. The location and views are excellent. The whole experience is one you will want to come back to...

Room Tip: Either choice is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed in both accomodations (the cottage and the studio) during our 20 day stay at Big Island. We were here because of the Ironman race.
Both accomodations are spaciuos, very comfortable and are very nicely decorated. They have all facilities to make you feel at home immediately.
Dolores, the lady of the house, was a very friendly and caring host. She is also very straight in her communication which we could appreciate very well.
Breakfast was a real delight and everyday we were surprised with something else.
The surroundings of the premises are very green and quiet. For us it was a perfect location because we wanted to stay away from the crowds.
Next time we come to Big Island (and I hope that will be soon) we'll certainly come back to this place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

At First Class BB you will be surprised by a first class service at its best and a warm and friendly welcome from Dolores, hostess and owner of this lovely place.

The cottage is spacious and beautifully decorated. You feel at home immediately. Some munchies in the fridge, beautifully crafted name cards in the bath. Everything is clean and neat. Towels are changed every day, bed linens every 4th.
From its lanai you have a wonderful view on Kona and the coast. Don't miss the sunsets.

To look forward to: breakfasts are delicous and copious served on the large lanai. Dolores has an eye not only for table decorations but definitely is a magician in cuisine. Be it porridge, waffles, pancakes or tasty egg dishes and fruits...you will spend more time at the breakfast table than ever and get a new surprise every morning.

This is the time to ask Dolores about the island. She just knows everything and gives you well appreciated hints to experience the Big Island without getting exhausted.
Ideally placed, First Class B&B is only a 5 minute drive from Kona and ideal as a starting point for longer excursions.
For a day at the beach, Dolores provides you with all you need: chairs, boards, towels, cool boxes etc.

Last but not least, enjoy a nice and relaxing evening with some 'pupus' and a drink in Dolores' company on her lanai and 'talk story'.

  • Liked — Cleanness, quiet, space.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii

Address: 77-6504 Kilohana, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolores, your hostess of this first class Bed and Breakfast® is located on the slopes of Kailua-Kona Hawaii overlooking the Kailua-Kona coastline and Kailua-Kona Bay. Located 11 miles from Kailua- Kona's airport, 4 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona Hawaii and 2 miles from the best snorkeling beaches in all the Islands of Hawaii. Dolores, a Kailua-Kona resident for 32 years and a B&B hostess for 22 years is delighted to guide and direct her guests during their visit to the Big Island of Hawaii. In addition nearby: Fine Ambiance Dining to Local Ethnic Food, Shopping, Beaches-Beach Activities, SCUBA, Snorkeling, and Sports Fishing World Famous Golf Courses This First Class Bed & Breakfast offers immaculate accommodations for special guests lodging in luxuary. Gourmet breakfasts served on an open lanai overlooking Kailua-Kona Bay.Your hostess also offers fresh bathing towels, trash pick-up & light house cleaning. Private Entrances Air-conditioning Wireless Internet Private Bath Custom Décor Kitchenette Cable Remote Color TV/CD Tape Stereo Beach Towels, Mats, Chairs, Umbrellas, Coolers and Boogie Boards Beautiful Views & More Full Gourmet Breakfast served each morning Light Housekeeping is Offered as a Courtesy Plus Other Little Amenities to Make Your Stay Special & Wonderful Experience. Cottage and Studio are smoke free. 3 night minimum stay - for stays of 2 nights add $10/nightCheck-in: 4pm to 5pm; Check-out: 11amCheck in times are stated above unless otherwise agreed to. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1st Class Bed And Breakfast Kona Hawaii Hotel Kailua-Kona
1st Class b&b Kona Hawaii
1st Class Bed And Breakfast Kona Hawaii Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.