We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the night or longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5739 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Southern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the night or longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed one night at Uncle's Billy's before heading over to the Hilo side for the rest of our trip. We are a down-to-earth family who tries to find affordable places to stay without spending a fortune. We enjoyed our night and would recommend the hotel, even for longer stays. It was clean, and pleasant. The kids loved sitting on the deck and spotting small geckos in the trees. The morning breakfast was continental as advertised. After reading some reviews I was ready for the worst, but it was good - a variety of bread items, fresh Hawaii fruit, hard boiled egg, several juices and coffee to choose from, as well as a few cereals and milk. We really enjoyed the location. We wondered around the shops in the evening and had dinner overlooking the ocean. The next morning we got up early and swam at the beach (~10 minute walk), which we had entirely to ourselves from ~7:30-8:00. There were some tide pools here, and a nice cove safe for kids. The staff was accommodating - they had a room available at 1:30 and checked us in although official check in time isn't until 3:00. If you are using this as a stop over prior to Hilo as we did, and you're looking for a luau while in Hawaii, I'd highly recommend you book one at the hotel at the end of the road (Marriott?), or elsewhere nearby. We didn't realize that there are no luau's on the Hilo side. Overall a nice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Affordable, convenient & comfortable! This is an older hotel, but the mattresses were comfortable and the staff was friendly. We checked in late one night and checked out right after breakfast (which is free). It was an excellent hotel for a quick pit stop.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CulturalCompetence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The bed was comfortable. There were two very comfortable chairs, one with an ottoman. The hotel had a nice smaller swimming pool. There was a refrigerator in the room. It was clean. The best part was the location. Downtown Kailua-Kona on the Big Island. Shopping, restaurants and the beach were all within short walking distance. Second floor room had windows that could be opened at night and I could hear the surf. The price was right.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-kona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Uncle Billy's was built many years ago and needs a new face lift bad but...the grounds are established and lush, the pool is clean, th4e location is right in the middle of downtown-sweet, and it is next door to a fabulous farmers market. Oh, and did I mention the staff-excellent! I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth Colleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

1st room on second floor had non working AC(did not cool), dirty and ripped carpet, old bedding and curtains and damage to the front door lock area. Finally was moved to 3rd floor to a room with a non working safe so was moved again to the next door unit. Breakfast was super basic which was fine for us but the fake flowers in the pots did nothing for me. Pool area was actually the nicest part of the hotel.

Elevator was dirty, smelly and original

Now the last room was actually not bad, you could tell it had been somewhat upgraded with flat screen and cleaner carpet. However it still had dirty curtains, broken toilet lid, dirty shower curtain, older bedding and the kitchenette sink plumbing removed with a nice PVC wrap tape over it as well as a missing door.

For the price paid the 3rd level room was not bad but the AC again did not cool down the room sufficiently.

If they can't provide clean working rooms then close the place down, I would not stay here again unless the whole place was renovated.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end in the oldest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcallissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and fantastic location however the rooms were pretty average considering the price tag.

The ceiling fan was broken and the a/c leaked and was so loud we couldn't have it running.

The bathroom was very small not big enough to get changed in and I was travelling with a male friend so was not really appropriate to get changed in front of him.

If you are a big breakfast eater I'd suggest you eat out and pay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Comfortable clean rooms and an ok buffet breakfast each morning.
This hotel is in the centre of Kona and in very easy walking distance of a number of places to eat.
Don't pay to park in the hotel car park as a free one is just the other side of the hedge. They do however tell you this at reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr&MrsAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#6 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#10 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing