We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, hotel ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5739 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Location good, hotel ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed one night there while visiting Big Island. The location was good, right in the business area, close to the beach and restaurants. The hotel is said to be one of the older ones in Kona. The room was decent size; things look old and worn; the room still looked clean. Breakfast was included, very simple continental style, by the pool. The wifi was free but hard to get on, except when in early morning.

The hotel was close to the street. At night, noise was trivial when some folks were having a good time out there with loud music and talking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    86
    120
    57
    45
See reviews for
67
125
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

.....location is smack in the middle of town/where the action is...had a room on ground level facing Alii Drive...you can hear the action...room was clean but worn...adequate & in the style of 'old Hawaii'/retro...friendly & helpful staff...Uncle Billy was zooming around in his wheelchair making sure all was well! Great Farmer's Market is next door...shops, restaurants, historical places, more, are all nearby!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Located in main Kona shopping area and it is very noisy. Each morning 5:30AM - 6AM you can hear various machines that are used to clean Kona’s Ali drive. Inside of your room you can easily hear what your neighbor is doing in bathroom.
Room has very small refrigerator, coffee maker but no microwave. Complimentary breakfast includes terrible coffee, juices ( juice machine was broken the first 2 days), bread, jam, butter, and papaya. And it is absolutely the same each morning.
Parking is 5$ per day plus taxes.
Pool is dirty and it is better not to use.
Only one advantage is: it can be very cheap as a part of some vacation packages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have come to the conclusion that it often is better to take the best room at an inexpensive hotel, than a standard room at an expensive one. Uncle Billy's was quite alright. The location is perfect, and they have a small pool. Breakfast was included although not very tasty or healthy, but the lines for the two toasters became very long after 8 am. Bring your own cheese or whatever you want to put on the bread, instead of not so nice "butter" and jam, and/or whatever you like to eat in the morning - there is a fridge in the room. We had a deluxe room on the highest, 4th, floor, and could see the ocean from the balcony. I would stay there again, especially if I was out and about during the day. The parking was 5 usd/day, but just a few steps behind the hotel parking there was a free parking area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location is great for shopping & water access. Having a fridge in the room was nice. Ice machine was only on ground floor - would have been nice having ice machines on all floors. Complementary breakfast is blah. Looks like they used to have a bar which was closed. We watched a number of people drinking beer by the pool & as soon as we went out the the pool, we were told "Alcohol is not allowed by the pool." No fitness center. Rooms were time-worn. Toilet paper was not replaced by housekeeping when it was low & we ran out. Air Conditioning did not work well so we left the balcony door open. Temperature was fine with the open balcony door, BUT, people (including employees) smoked & chatted below our outside balcony & that kind of stunk as well as disturbing our sleep. We were supposedly in a non-smoking room so the smokers below us were annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I thought I was laid back but, Uncle Billy's is way laid back and zI would recommend it to anyone coming to Kona. Centrally located in the middle of it all. Price is right, rooms are comfortable and staff is very nice. There might be some small issues, but deal with it. Take your time and enjoy where you are at in the first place. Mahalo

Room Tip: just plan ahead and made your choices early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The ocean front location and charming layout of the hotel make up for the run down rooms. Open air balcony with a view was nice too.
The free Wi Fi did not work very well but Lava Java a few doors down had Wi Fi and excellent latte's and food. Uncle Billy's price was great for the prime location.
Love the fresh papaya for breakfast!! My family only wanted fresh local fruit while we were in Hawaii anyways so the Farmers and Flea Market directly next door with all the ripe fresh fruit and produce we could have hoped for made our location all the better.
Did paddle boarding a few doors down at Hyper and had the time of our lives!
I would stay at Uncle Billy's again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.