We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Stay at the Hale Kona Kai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Save
You added Hale Kona Kai Condominiums to your Saves list
75-5870 Kahakai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another Stay at the Hale Kona Kai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hello Tripadvisor,

Ok, the Hale Kona Kai, my wife and I have stayed here 4 times now. We love the location, the ocean front views and the condo complex is very well taken care of on the outside. These condos always get excellent reviews, which again are understandable for the location, but all the condos we have stayed in are not excellent on the interior by any standards. They are a good value and as mentioned you cannot beat the location. The staff is very nice and the pool and public areas are very well maintained.

Now as for the rooms we have stayed in, they were all located on the forth (top) floor. This condo complex is directly next to the ocean so all the appliances and fixtures are rusting in the sea air as you would expect. You will have a moldy musty ocean smell, again nothing can be done about this being next to the ocean. The condos we have stayed in are showing their age and the owners, all condos is individually owned, need to spend more time keeping the interiors clean and fresh. Every description on the website for this Condo Complex says “updated interior” maybe 5 to 7 years ago it was updated, but not recently. In our bedroom this time there was a chair with food stains on it and little white insects crawling all over it. We immediately placed a sheet from the closet over the chair. The interiors of all the condo’s need to be deep-cleaned after every use, we have always had to clean when we arrive for the first few hours to get the place up to our standards. Wiping down the entire greasy surface and cleaning the windows. The window and mirrors are always smeared. Maybe they could raise the rates a little more and do a little better maintaining the interior! I’m sure people would be glad to pay extra for things to be a little nicer.

It is sad, but this will probably be our last time to visit the Hale Kona Kai it is time to move on. PS, we have met some of the Condo owners at the pool during our stays and understand why things are the way they are.

Good luck with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    73
    16
    13
    1
See reviews for
30
164
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LA MESA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a nicely updated unit #304 and everything about it was perfect. It was very clean, with a newly updated kitchen & bathroom sink area, plus new bedroom furniture. The view from the lanai was great, we even saw turtles and fish right below our unit. The short walk into town for shopping, lunch/dinner and Mai Tais was very convenient. Having coin-operated laundry available came in very handy. We look forward to our next stay at the Hale Kona Kai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When I wrote my last review for Hale Kona Kai, I was reluctant to fully recommend it because while the location and service were excellent, the unit was in need of updating. We were in an updated unit (#408) this time, and I'm happy to say that everything was perfect. We had a great time enjoying the views from our lanai and taking short walks into town for breakfast at Island Lava Java and happy hour at Huggo's on the Rocks. I'm sure this wasn't our last visit to Hale Kona Kai.

Room Tip: Check their website so you can see the unit locations and request an updated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We rented Unit 407. The unit is clean and well furnished. There are lots of dishes and supplies. Rebecca in the front office was joy to work with and Adeline, booking agent was very efficient and answered all my questions. You walk into the apartment and encounter the ocean right there on your door step. We sat on our lanai and watched the turtles and the fish swim below. The complex is very quiet. There is air-conditioning and free internet/long distance which helped keep me in touch with my family back home. The unit is close to lots of shopping areas. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Unit 407 is not the most modern, but everything works, and if it didn't it was fixed promptly.

The bed is very comfortable, the a/c works well ( on the rare occasion the breeze was absent).

Kitchen has all the things one needs.

Great location for easy walk to town and the only noise we ever heard was the ocean

Everything was very clean. Plenty of bath and beach towels.

Would have no problem staying again. On site mgr very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can afford a corner unit, do it. 407 has a good view, but being in the corner the view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boothbay, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in #308. Nicely furnished condo and very clean. Kitchen had all the gadgets we wanted. Comfortable bed with ceiling fan - aahhh! Comfortable dining and living areas. Handy to have coin-op laundry on each level. Refreshing seaside pool was never crowded. GREAT location - Easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants in Kailua Kona, yet completely removed from the noise, traffic and goings-on. Best of all, Absolutely oceanfront as advertised! We were able to turn on the ceiling fan, open the windows, and let the ocean lull us to sleep.

Room Tip: The end units have the best views, but if you don't want to spring for one of those, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The condos are in a fantastic location right on the sea and very close to lots of shops and restaurants. The pool is great very warm and I believe is salt water so no or very little chlorine. Onsite staff were very helpful and there are very good laundry facilities.

We stayed in condo 210 which had a nice view and was very comfortable. The kitchen is brand new and very well equipped. The rest of the apartment is very clean but does need a bit of modernisation. We had a great stay and would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.