We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kona Bali Kai to your Saves list
Castle Kona Bali Kai
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Bali Kai for nine nights, and it was very pleasant. The place was clean, the staff was very helpful and the view was awesome! We did however have one little problem which was addressed immediately! It is close to a nice beach called the magic sands and not too far from the town, which was where all the restaurants and stores were. If I go back I most likely would stay there again, because it was a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306, which was quiet, except for the sounds of the ocean waves, that kinda just lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    87
    70
    47
    36
See reviews for
95
129
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent two nights here and stayed in room 212..overlooking beach
Just a little out of Kona itself so a bit of a hike for restaurants etc but otherwise very happy with our choice
The fully equipped apartments..kitchen,, laundry etc...are large and spotlessly clean
We are so close to the beach we can see the turtles from our lanai.
Beautiful sunsets
Staff friendly and accommodating
Will def stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm a pretty easy going person and I'm not one to stay in luxury hotels - but this place was just disappointing. Everything was as pictured, but with a layer of dust or even more over it! All the fans had layers of dust on them, the towels were all moldy smelling, and even worse - there was actual visible mold on the shower curtain! You could have bought a new one for under $5 -- why leave a moldy one up! I truly don't think this was cleaned before we came. Additionally, I went to use a shower and a strange black, rust/dirt had filled the tub! It must of come from the little vent in the bathroom (mind you it didn't work!)

Our biggest complaint is that there as no A/C at ALL! We called the company and they said A/C wasn't on the listing which is true -- but they just totally omitted it! At least write A/C - no. You have to keep all the windows and doors open and being on the second floor near the public beach, we were very concerned about theft. They did bring us fans after we complained several times and thank god!

I can say the view was awesome. You're right on the ocean and facing west for sunset. It was very enjoyable to watch the surfers in the morning.

Overall, the accommodation is nice -- but NOT clean. I would never give this place a second chance.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai Resort. Castle Resorts & Hotels operates a rental program at Kona Bali Kai featuring over 60 units for our guests. There are a few smaller rental companies operating at Kona Bali Kai. I cannot confirm that the unit you stayed in was part of our rental program. We have brand new bath linen that we began using at the end of July; this leads me to the conclusion that you used a private or smaller rental company. If this is not the case please contact me and I will respond to you directly.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The bed in our room made so much noise that sleeping was impossible ! Everytime my husband or I would move we would wake the other up! The overhead lights in the kitchen did not work and the walls could have really used some paint ! The grime on yhrm was gross !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Aloha
Our team works daily to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in the units, this is one of our most critical areas and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I only wish that I knew which unit has a specific issue with the bed, this is an area of personal taste and I wish you had contacted me directly, during your stay and I could have addressed your concerns immediately.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

But your money is probably spent better elsewhere. Despite a pretty good location, closer to Kona's beaches than the social center, this place suffers from a myriad of management quality and housekeeping issues that largely detract from staying here. Mentioned previously has been the poor quality pull out sofa; not mentioned was the fact that there is only 1 a/c unit for a 2 BR apt! When we stayed, the internet did not work for the 1st 2 days of the stay; the bedsheets/blankets were 'ratty'; we discovered a kitchen cabinet full of empty beer and liquor bottles; and the the areas behind the bedroom bureaus had obviously not been cleaned in some time, as there were various wrappers/toiletries items behind them. The kitchen itself is pretty inadequate for anything but the most basic food preparation - generally a melange of old and mismatched cooking items. Overall, it seemed like the owner/management company was only interested in doing the bare minimum to provide a suitable living environment. Not a place I would recommend.

Room Tip: if you have a chance, view a room 1st to check that all of the above items I mention have been addre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The condo has an amazing view from the lanai. The tables both only sit 4 people although the unit is rented for 6. The interior is dated. The 2 nd bedroom has 2 little twin beds and the pull out sofa is quite uncomfortable. It sleeps 6, but only 2 people really enjoy their night. There is no ac at all and stand up fans would be a great help. The washer/drier didn't work and after calling maintenance twice, it still wasn't fixed! The kitchen is pretty well equipped. There could be more dishes, bowls, and silverware so as to not have to run the dishwasher after every meal. Also, basic supplies such as oil, aluminum foil, some spices would be great. Overall, for the price, you get a decent stay, but there need to be some updating to the interior.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you''re looking for a one or two bedroom place to stay right on the shoreline, which has a full kitchen, baths, washer/dryer than this is the place. Stayed here before, this time with friends that booked rooms also, they all loved it and plan to be back next year. Let the sounds of the PacificOcean provide you with a tranquil sleep. Note the Poki Shack on property is a favorite to locals and visitors alike...great place for some choice Hawaiian food.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the incredible view and refreshing ocean breeze. We look forward to your next visit with friends and family. Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kona Bali Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.