We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
1 review
“Great bang for your buck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

The Aston Kona by the Sea is a condominium/hotel 5 minutes from downtown Kailua Kona. Our one bedroom unit was clean and well equipped. The mattress was extremely comfortable. We had some minor problems which were attended to promptly by the friendly and efficient staff on site. As is the norm on this part of the Kona coast, ocean access is not available from the property due to the volcanic rocks lining the shore.The property however had a man made beach near the swimming pool. A decent beach with good snorkeling can be found a short distance down the road. The price we paid was well below the rack rate for the unit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

Mahalo (thank you) for your wonderful comments. It's true that Kona by the Sea is a great place to stay in Hawaii. We offer all the amenities of a "home" away from home -- with the added plus of a tropical oasis -- without breaking the bank. After all, we want you to be able to enjoy and explore our beautiful island while you're here! I'm glad the staff was able to assist with the minor issues you had, and that your unit was comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!

Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager, Aston Kona by the Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    148
    31
    26
    11
See reviews for
159
150
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

I recently stayed here for 5 nights with my friend and we absolutely loved it. The view from the Lanai was amazing and the room was very nice! Everything was in good condition and not outdated at all. The kitchen seemed to be recently updated and the room was spacious and clean! You can't beat the view here. The staff was nice and really helpful! I can't wait to go back and will definitely be staying at Kona by the Sea.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. You're right, the views here are gorgeous! I'm glad the staff was helpful, and the unit you stayed in was comfortable. Mahalo for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. It's always nice to hear from our guests, especially when it's to let us know your stay was great, and that we did our jobs well.

I'm sure you have some amazing memories of your visit to Hawaii. We hope you come back soon to make some more! Until then, from all of us at Kona by the Sea we wish you warm aloha, a hui hou (until we meet again).

Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Ofice Manager
Aston Kona by the Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We have just returned from Hawaii, we stayed in Suite 220. The suite was very modern, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, absoloutely " a home away from home. " The view from this condo is breathtaking. We could hear the waves all night long, even with the doors closed. We enjoyed being out of the main strip, but it was only a few minutes away, and you could find everything you needed.
The grounds were magnificent, manicured everyday, and the pool man would be out very early in the morning cleaning the pool. The buildings were very clean, and the staff very friendly. I understand each condo is privately owned, so I can't say much about the other condos in the buildings, but we were thrilled with ours.
I would definitely recommend Aston Kona by the sea.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

Your description of our property as a "hidden gem" really does say it all! The views are stunning, the grounds are gorgeous, and the units are spacious and homey. The staff here takes great pride in the property and in making Kona by the Sea a vacation "home away from home." I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!

We always appreciate wonderful feedback such as yours, and I will make sure to pass this on to our groundskeepers and other staff. It will make their day, just as it made mine. Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We hope you will stay with us again soon. Until then, we send you our warmest Aloha!

Mahalo,
Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We just returned from Hawaii and we loved staying here. We were away from the congestion at the other end of the mainstrip and we walked looking at the oceanfront homes nearby. The view from our condo was amazing and we found ourselves with the door open listening to waves crashing anytime we were in the room. My husband locked us out of our safe and someone was sent up to help us right away. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Seeing Aleta's comments and concern was what helped us decide to stay here and we were not disappointed. The condo wasn't new, but it was roomy and homey. Our kitchen was well equipped. And did I mention the view? See for yourself! (And by the way, the condo next door is on the market for just under $600k!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 16, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

I'm glad you enjoyed the stunning view from your condo, and that you enjoyed your stay! The sound of the waves crashing is so relaxing, and while there are so many things to do here on the Big Island, sometimes just sitting and enjoying the view and the waves is all you need to have a perfect day.

It was our pleasure having you as our guests, and I hope you will return again soon. Until then, take care and Aloha!

Mahalo, and A Hui Hou (see you soon)!
Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

My family of 5 (2 adults, 3 boys 9,13,15) recently stayed at Kona By The Sea for 8 nights and were extremely happy with everything! We stayed in 110 for 4 nights. It was huge (2 bedrooms, 2 baths) full kitchen, washer/dryer and totally waterfront. One whole wall is sliding doors and so we slept each night with them wide open listening to the waves. We then checked out to spend 2 nights at the volcano. The office staff gladly stored our beach chairs, snorkel gear and boogie boards until we got back. When we returned for our next 4 nights, all of our beach stuff was already in our room. This time we were in 101, equally as nice. Our flight did not leave until 9pm and so we asked if we could have a late check out. The office staff again came through letting us stay until 6pm even though the check out time is supposed to be 12 noon. We were able to fully enjoy our last day. We have been to Hawaii many times. The staff at Kona By The Sea were wonderful in every way and we would definitely recommend both them and their resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It is true that the condos here are spacious and are perfect for a family holiday in Hawai'i. Our goal is to provide you with your own vacation "home" while you are here.

I'm glad the staff was able to help you out with delivering your beach items to your room after your volcano visit, and with the late check out. We make every effort to provide late check outs when we can -- if the hotel is not full and the room is not going to be used the day of check out we're happy to accommodate late check out requests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Mahalo,
Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Spent 5 nights in a two-room condo at Kona By The Sea. The condo was spacious but obviously outdated. The outside of the fridge was scraped and rusted, the outlet in the bathroom didn't work, the bed was uncomfortable, the kitchen provided sparse utensils/supplies (one pan, one spatula, one large spoon, etc.), and the staff was less than helpful. The view of the ocean and the tidepools were great but there was no beach to swim from. I was disappointed and probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea,

I'm glad you liked the view from your lanai. The views are really amazing from here. I am sorry that you did not like the unit you stayed in.

You mention that the staff was not helpful, but you don't give any examples. I wish you had taken a moment out of your vacation to speak with me or another manager here. We would have been happy to assist you with any issues you had, and could certainly have provided you with additional kitchen supplies if you had asked.

As for the rust on the fridge, we do have issues like this ocasionally due to the salt air from our waterfront location. Your comments have been passed on to the owners of the unit, and we will work with them to replace or repair items that may be worn or "tired".

It is true that we don't have a swimming beach here, but then most hotels in the Kona area do not. There are some wonderful swimming and snorkeling beaches close by that we can recommend. The Big Island is the most diverse of all the Hawaiian islands, with climate zones that range from rainforest to desert, and we can boast of having the world's most active volcano.

I hope you will return to Kona by the Sea and let us show you we can do it right. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback helps us improve.

Mahalo,
Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We spent 10 days at Kona by the Sea and found it to be a very good experience. We had the 2 bedroom/2 bath Ocean Front unit. It was very spacious and decorated nicely.
We did have a couple of problems with the unit at check-in. We called the desk and they sent someone to the unit very quickly and the problems were taken care of . They provided daily maid service and the grounds and pool area were very nice and kept clean. Also the outdoor grills were cleaned daily. We found all the staff to be very polite and helpful. Kona also provided garage parking at no additional charge.
KTA grocery or Walmart is a short drive away as is just about everything else.
The Sunsets were spectacular! Marine life everywhere you looked(whales, turtles ect).
We would definitly book there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
Aloha from Kona by the Sea!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the staff provided assistance when you needed it. We are proud of our property, and it's great to hear from our guests about their wonderful vacation experience. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Mahalo,

Aleta Parcell Springer
Front Office Manager
Aleta.Springer@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.