We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were five of us (three adults, two kids ages 4 and 7). We could not have been more pleased with Aston Kona by the Sea. We had Unit 106 which was 2 bed and 2 bath. Advertised as an 'ocean front' unit, however it's really just a first floor unit (the lanai does not open on to the courtyard) There was a sofa bed also (a little sloped but livable). The unit was completely perfect for our needs. First, we had a fantastic view of the ocean from our lanai. There were sliding doors in the living room and master bedroom. This was great because you could go out on the lanai from the master and not disturb someone sleeping on the sofa bed. The kitchen was updated and equipped with almost everything you might want or need. Make no mistake, this is a condo and not a hotel. Maid service was very limited and there is no restaurant or bar or anything like that. This is just like borrowing your buddy's apartment for the week.

The good:
- Kids loved the pool. Hot tub was well located so you could see the ocean.
- Three gas grills available for guests to cook.
- Great spot to see the sunset at the saltwater pool (just don't swim in the saltwater pool - yuck)
- Kitchen was amazingly equipped with pots, pans, dishes, silverware, even a blender.
- Layout was great. One bedroom with two twin beds and a master bedroom with a king sized bed.
- Washer & dryer in unit so you can wash all that sea water out of your clothes.
- DVD rental in the lobby (we got a movie each night for the kids)

The bad:
Nothing. A few little things that needed to be touched up and the washer was crazy loud. However, we did not feel the need to complain about anything.

To know:
- Elevator was so slow we just took the stairs everywhere.
- The sofa bed had an epic slope but we put my 4 year old son in it and he was just fine.
- There is no food or drink here. Plan appropriately.
- Bring laundry & dish "pods" to use in the washer & dishwasher. Much easier to pack than a box of dish soap or a jug of laundry soap.
- You can't swim on this 'beach'. We saw sea turtles and fantastic sunsets.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is included in the 12 per day amenities fee. Also included a daily newspaper (a real paper on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for sharing what was perfect for you I am sure our readers will find it the same for them.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    148
    30
    26
    11
See reviews for
159
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been told of this place by our friends and we decided to try it ourselves after their recommendation. We were not disappointed - it was great. We booked a 2 bedroom ocean facing apartment and found it well appointed, large and spacious.

The resort is located 2 miles from town and whilst there is a local trolley service you will definitely need a car for transport around town and to see the various island attractions.

The staff were friendly and place had a wonderful relaxing feeling to it and which made it very easy to settle back and just look into the fish filled waves crashing onto the shore.

Each day we watched turtles come onto the rocks for a feed at the rising tide and even saw dolphins and whales just off shore. I recommend snorkeling down by the Captain Cook monument and there are few companies that can take you there.

In regards to the hotel - we had access to under building parking, the elevators have all just been refitted and the resort fee was a very reasonable $14 per day (approx) which gave us WiFi and beach towels plus our room was serviced daily.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 6 days ago
The great review you left for us is greatly appreciated.

Please return very soon

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Aston Kona-by-the-Sea is a good base for a visit to the west side of Hawai`i. We had a one-bedroom/two bath "partial ocean view" apartment (#216) in the north building for a week in January. Units in the 200 series are on the 3rd floor, as the ground-level parking lot is not counted as a floor. Unit 216 was spacious, well equipped, and clean. The floor-plan, in sequence from front to rear, included an outdoor balcony, large living/dining room, full kitchen with pass-through to dining area, bathroom, and bedroom (king) with ensuite bathroom.

We were happy with the furnishings, appliances, and utensils in unit #216. (Other units may differ.) There was no can opener, but an employee found one for us. The stacked clothes washer and dryer worked well and quickly. The A/C, television, and "included" WiFi worked well. The West Hawai`i Today newspaper was delivered to the door each morning. We were always able to find a parking space either inside or outside.

The coast in front of the Aston Kona is scenic but rocky. There is an attractive pool with adjacent spa pool and a small sandy area. However, this is not a resort hotel, and there is no restaurant. There is a convenience store just to the north, but shopping and restaurant areas are beyond easy walking distance. The Aston is approx. 2 miles south of the centre of Kailua-Kona. The intervening shoreline road (Ali`i Drive) is often slow. We quickly learned to divert inland to the Kuakini Hwy, more-or-less parallel to Ali`i Dr. None of this was a surprise or a problem, but anyone expecting full resort or even hotel facilities, or without a car, would be disappointed.

The one significant negative in early January 2015 was that the only elevator in the north building was under major and prolonged renovation. Besides the inconvenience, elevator refurbishment work was at times noisy, starting as early as 08:00 am some days. Staff carried our luggage up, and we might have been able to move to the other building. However, moving was not an attractive possibility after we were settled in the original unit. Presumably the elevator work is by now finished, but I would certainly ask about the elevators before booking again, and again when checking in.

The "partial ocean view" from #216 was quite limited. The ocean-and-pool view was pleasant, but that accounted for only about 20º of the 180º range of angles visible from the balcony. In all other directions we could only see the ends of the two apartment blocks, or the outdoor parking lot behind the central check-in area (whose roof occupied the downward field of view). If we return, we would consider paying the premium for a unit with full ocean view.

Concierge Laura H., the "Expedia Local Expert" for the property, was very helpful in identifying places to visit and tour operators that matched our interests. We would have been happy to spend more time on the west coast if our schedule had allowed—there is much to see and do. We did spend another 6 nights based at Hilo, touring the east coast of Hawai`i―a very different and equally interesting environment. For us, splitting our time between bases in Kailua-Kona and Hilo was a good decision.

In almost all respects we were happy with our choice of the Aston Kona-by-the-Sea, with the main exception being the elevator situation in January. Provided that has been resolved, we would gladly return.

Room Tip: At least some partial ocean view rooms, e.g. #216, have only a "narrow" view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your detailed review our readers will appreciate your help making their decision to stay with us and the view they should select.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The condo complex is well kept and east to get around. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and take care of the quests needs. The pool area is always kept clean and tables and loungers are always available. The complex is close to town and ocean front.

Room Tip: Units facing west are all ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review especially of our staff. We hope to see you soon.

mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beautiful location and accommodations was our favorite during our 2 week stay on 4 different islands. The condo was very private, yet open to the ocean views with balconies off the living room and master bedrooms. We want to go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to let our readers know we are the best of the Hawaiian Islands.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful condo on the sunny Kona coast.
Close to Kailua-Kona town center with it's shops and restaurants.
Nice pool and hot tub with plenty of lounge chairs, even a sandy area for a beach feel.
Well kept grounds and facilities.
I can't imagine a better oceanfront view anywhere on Kona Coast.
Attentive staff for a condo complex.
If you need servants following you around, go to the Four Seasons.
I prefer the low key atmosphere of a condo which gives my family much more space along with a nice sized full kitchen.
If/when I return to Hawaii, I will stay here again!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
It was a pleasure having you and your family and thank you for the great review. Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We booked this condo through a travel agent. The photos online were beautiful and looked inviting. We had a late check-in and were given a temporary room key so nobody was available to talk to until the morning.
The condo was ocean view but not exactly ocean front. We were very disappointed to find the condo to be quite dated. The rugs badly needed to be replaced and the bathrooms were very old and not set up well at all. The condo also needed a thorough cleaning.
We were aware, from Tripadvisor, that the manager has offered other guests a change to their accomodations if possible. Since we had already spent one night, we didn't want to waste our remaining 3 days of valuable vacation time moving.
At least the pool was well maintained and it was a beautiful view, We were able to see whales from the beach.
In conclusion, if you decide to stay at these condos, be prepared to ask for a change of accomodation. It would be nice if management insured that the condos that they book are, at the very least, how they are advertised online.

Room Tip: The top floor condos are quiet except for noise from the pool and do offer a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned I am always willing to provide different options until we find the unit you are happy with. Moving is inconvenient but we offer assistance to make it as easy as possible. I believe if given the opportunity we can provide the Hawaiian vacation you expected.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.