We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Right on the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Aston Kona by the Sea for a full week and loved the entire time. Our room faced directly out onto the ocean and it was so close it sounded like the waves were right at our doorstep. The room was a condo-type room, so had everything that one might need, including a full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, stove, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils, etc. It also had a washer/drier, safe, two televisions, etc. The hotel is about two miles south of the town of Kailua-Kona. We loved our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Kona by the Sea is calling for your return. We appreciate your great review.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    142
    28
    25
    9
See reviews for
149
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If coming to Kona, you must stay at the Kona by the Sea. The modern decor with some original Hawaiian art, clean carpets, and great ocean front view of Room 323 is perfect for couples even though the sofa sleeper could accommodate 2 more easily. Relax in the chase lounge on the spacious balcony and watch the waves crash against the rocks. The facilities are clean and nice and you are only 2 miles on Alii drive from all the oceanfront action. Free videos (we only tried one night to watch videos but couldn't figure out how to operate the DVD player), daily room service and pool and hot tub makes this condo an ideal relaxing place to stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
When you return we are happy to show you how our Play station works. Please return very soon your ohana is looking forward to it.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I loved staying here. Our room was amazing, clean and had an amazing view. I would stay here again and would recommend staying here for anyone. We just left on 6/17/14 and want to go back!
If you are looking for a nice family friendly place, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review. You are right we are perfect for families. We make you feel at home.

Please return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and three kids for one night, but we honestly could have stayed a week. Great 2-bedroom oceanfront unit, worth the extra to upgrade. Beautiful view, wonderful freshwater pool, and great location. Expedia rep on site made it so much easier to book scuba trips and other excursions. Loved it, so tough to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We hope you do plan at least a week with us one night is definitely not enough.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our one bdrm oceanfront was upgraded to a two bdrm and what a delight. We could watch surfers from the comfort of our balcony. Nights were spent in the hot tub listening to the surf. The hotel is a skip and a hop to downtown and to favorite snorkeling sites. This is truly a gem.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Sometimes we can provide a nice upgrade that adds to a great stay.

Please come back soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was wonderful. Our oceanfront condo not only had the perfect view of the ocean, it had everything we needed to cook a meal there. If you want to do laundry while on vacation it also had a washer & dryer. It's not far to all the shopping & restaurants. Was the perfect place for us!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our readers will appreciate knowing they are making Aston Kona the by the Sea the right choice.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights, using it as our base from which to explore the big island. The suite was well equipped. The decor leans bit toward the 70s but was fine. The balcony is a generous size, room for a table, chairs and a chaise. Easy to enjoy breakfast out on the balcony. The view was excellent and the property includes a pool, a barbecue area, and a beach with chairs, tables, umbrellas and lounge chairs, protected by a seawall The staff was very good. town.

The one negative is that the showers were installed at an unusually low height. We are both 5'8" and had to duck well down to get underneath the shower head. There was no hope of leaning back to put your face under the stream.

It's about a mile-and-a-half to the shops and restaurants of Kona and you can end up sitting in heavy traffic as there are only a few routes between the condo and town.

Some covered parking some outdoor parking—first come, first serve. There is a DVD rental machine in the check-in area and we received a card good for two free rentals. In addition to the Concierge there is a desk from which you can book activities and also sign up for a time share presentation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We fully understand your concern of the height of the shower and will work with the owner on a solution. Thank you for staying with us and we hope for your return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.