We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Late in getting reviews from our Sep 2012 fall vacation. Stayed 13 nights at the Aston Kona, would stay here again in a heart beat. Had a second floor ocean front 1 bedroom 2 bath condo. Very large, spacious, had everything we needed. Units are indiviudally owned so the decor does vary. Everything was functional, a/c through out the unit with in suite washer and dryer. Comfortable interior furnishings along with the patio furniture. Yes the Aston charges $10.00 USD per night per room, for amentities. Hair dryer, flat iron, shampoo, conditioner, hand soap, body gel with lots of towels for indoor and seperate ones for pool use. Did not begrudge the resort fee we knew at time of booking, parking onsite was included and plentiful, both covered and not covered, unlimited DVD rentals, that alone is worthwhile. Daily maid service included in our trip (booked through CAA) What is so great about this place is the size, it is very intimate. There were days when we were just hanging about, that we either had the pool to ourselves or just a few other people. The beach is not a "swimmers" beach, but you can see and hear the waves crashing and watch locals catching some waves for surfing and a few brave soles swimming. We saw sea turtles feeding here - the rocks hold the algae the turtles eat - who can complain about that! About one mile down the road from this location is a great swimming beach, plenty of sand and areas to hang out and then another two miles down the road another friendly beach. We arrived about 9:30 PM to the hotel - dumped our bags in the condo and drove about 4 miles down the road to a local grocery store to pick up some necessaries for morning coffee and breakfast overlooking the ocean. (hotel reception were more than kind to point us in the right direction) Next day loaded up at Costco and Safeway. Costco is right near the airport. Coffee is supplied by the Aston along with Tide. Other than that pick up your own condiments. BBQ near the pool very handy. They have lights available if you BBQ at night, never had to wait for a grill, which by the way are thoroughly cleaned everyday and twice if used at lunch. There is no restaurant or drinking establishment on the premises, but we didn't find this an issue, we had a rental vehicle with unlimited mileage for a reason. Took a cab if we were going to consume alcohol off premises. Now for the Salt Water Pool - this is not in the control of the Aston. Personally I wouldn't be caught sitting in that pool - perhaps it was the time of year but scummy is a very polite word to describe it. All in all this property was nicely situated and a great place to use as a home base for exploring on our first trip to the Hawiian Islands. Any questions don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha it is never too late our readers appreciate your review. Thank you for the great review and hope you will return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    142
    28
    25
    9
See reviews for
149
143
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We needed a hotel for part of a day at the end of our vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii. The front desk manager very kindly agreed to rent us one of their vacant rooms for a reduced rate. When we checked in, the front desk clerk assigned us to the nicest room they had available which was ocean front with a great view over their nice manicured yard. Thanks to everyone for their assistance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We were more than happy to help with your short stay with us. I am confident when you return you will stay longer. Thank you for reminding our readers how great our staff is and the reason for many returnees.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

i would highly recommend Kona by the Sea. all rooms face the ocean and you can watch the surfers and whales from your lanai. our room was a 2 bedroom=2 bath and was very roomy. the staff are very pleasant and the pool and hot tub were very clean. the staff clean the bbq grills every night and they were spotless. the furniture was slightly dated, but far superior to most waikiki condos. there were few people in the pool or hot tub and always lots of lounge chairs available at the pool. i would certainly recommend Kona by the Sea. i can't agree with the reviewer who recommended eating at sam choy's. the hotel desk recommended sam choy's to us and we ate there twice. i agree that the service and view are very nice, but the food was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to find other recommendations for your dining pleasure.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Husband and I celebrated our Anniversary at the Aston Kona by the Sea in January. As this property is a condo, we had plenty of room.....full kitchen......washer and dryer, and a great view of the ocean from our balcony.

Loved how close the property was to town - making in town dining an easy option. Property also has multiple grills ready for use. Was impressed with the upkeep on this property. Also appreciated the covered parking for guests - and the security measurers involved such as key cards on the elevators, etc. As a travel agent...I'm always scouting properties. This is one that I would return to - and not hesitate to send my clients!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our property. We certainly appreciate the great review.

We look forward to your return and appreciate anyone you send our way.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room 316. One bedroom, 2 baths. Partial ocean view. In-room laundry. Sofa bed is adequate for one person or for two children. Underground parking, secure elevator from parking garage. Secure entry to pool and beachfront BBQ, sun bathing area. $10 per day mandatory fee for internet, DVD rentals, etc. Rm 316 needs some work - paint the walls, clean or replace the carpets. Otherwise, it was clean, relaxing and convenient. The pool, hot tub and pool deck are great. BBQ and private beach are wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay. Small outdoor market 1 block south and open almost every day.

Room Tip: Rm 315 and 316 have sunny lanai from early morning and most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We thank you and appreciate the opportunity to continuously improve our services and product. We will definitely pass on your feedback so the owner is given the opportunity to address your concern. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us please return for more beautiful ocean views and sunny days.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 323 in January 2013 and the week at Kona by the sea was perfect. We had dinner each evening on our lanai overlooking the ocean,( no restaurant could provide that view) watched pods of whales swim by, (one actually breached straight up into the air) and enjoyed the manta ray dive with the help from the expedia desk. There is a little deli within walking distance just up alii drive that helps deal with the location of being one mile south of Kona-Kialua. We've been to Oahu, Maui, Molokai, and Kauai, This is our new favorite spot to stay in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Rooms 315 to 324 face south so you get to drink coffee from your lanai and watch the sunrise each mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We couldn't agree more what restaurant can provide a better view with a whale watching show.

Your favorite new spot will always be here for you.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our third time at Kona by the Sea over the last ten years. The renovations were noticeable. We stayed in unit 206 (2 bedroom-2 bath). Ocean-front; great view; nicely appointed. We like the flexibility of staying in and cooking for ourselves so the BBQs are a great asset. The staff was helpful, but not overbearing. Anything we asked for, we got. Thanks for a great stay. We especially enjoyed eating at Sam Choys restaurant this time-excellent food, view & service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and happy you noticed our improvements.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.