We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room 316. One bedroom, 2 baths. Partial ocean view. In-room laundry. Sofa bed is adequate for one person or for two children. Underground parking, secure elevator from parking garage. Secure entry to pool and beachfront BBQ, sun bathing area. $10 per day mandatory fee for internet, DVD rentals, etc. Rm 316 needs some work - paint the walls, clean or replace the carpets. Otherwise, it was clean, relaxing and convenient. The pool, hot tub and pool deck are great. BBQ and private beach are wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay. Small outdoor market 1 block south and open almost every day.

Room Tip: Rm 315 and 316 have sunny lanai from early morning and most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We thank you and appreciate the opportunity to continuously improve our services and product. We will definitely pass on your feedback so the owner is given the opportunity to address your concern. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us please return for more beautiful ocean views and sunny days.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    133
    26
    24
    8
See reviews for
136
133
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 323 in January 2013 and the week at Kona by the sea was perfect. We had dinner each evening on our lanai overlooking the ocean,( no restaurant could provide that view) watched pods of whales swim by, (one actually breached straight up into the air) and enjoyed the manta ray dive with the help from the expedia desk. There is a little deli within walking distance just up alii drive that helps deal with the location of being one mile south of Kona-Kialua. We've been to Oahu, Maui, Molokai, and Kauai, This is our new favorite spot to stay in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Rooms 315 to 324 face south so you get to drink coffee from your lanai and watch the sunrise each mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We couldn't agree more what restaurant can provide a better view with a whale watching show.

Your favorite new spot will always be here for you.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our third time at Kona by the Sea over the last ten years. The renovations were noticeable. We stayed in unit 206 (2 bedroom-2 bath). Ocean-front; great view; nicely appointed. We like the flexibility of staying in and cooking for ourselves so the BBQs are a great asset. The staff was helpful, but not overbearing. Anything we asked for, we got. Thanks for a great stay. We especially enjoyed eating at Sam Choys restaurant this time-excellent food, view & service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and happy you noticed our improvements.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Aston Kona by the Sea is a very nice property right on the ocean (but
with no beach) with a westerly view for beautiful sunsets. There is a
nice pool with hottub. This is a quite, laid back place not for the partying
crowd. There is not restaurant on premises nor even a little store for
knick knacks and necessities. There is a coincerge desk to arrange
excursions and downtown Kona is only a short 1 1/2 miles away.
Personnel on the property are excellent and will take care of your
needs very efficiently. Only about 85 condo units with full kitchens.
Property is only about 1/2 hour drive from Kona airport.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms on south side offer best sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. Our staff truly takes pride in providing their best service. Your recognition confirms our efforts. We hope upon your return you will take advantage of our Door Step Dining a dining delivery service and Alii Grocery a service that will stock up your refrigerator. We are fortunate we have a sundry store next door.

Our staff looks forward to your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our condo had an amazing view!! I worried that because it was a very large complex, it would be noisy and crowded but it was exactly the opposite and I do think it was fully booked. We were soothed to sleep with the sound of the waves and spent hours on the lanai, especially in the morning, enjoying the breathtaking view. The place is meticulously groomed. Our unit was lovely and the price exceptional for all that it offered. There were 5 in our party and this 2-bedroom unit served us very well. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate that we provided what you were looking for. The best ocean views, soothing sounds and as you said exceptional value.

We know you have found a place in Hawaii that you will return year after year.

See you soon!

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our 2nd time at Kona By The Sea and won't be our last. There is a quiet 'sparkle' about this place is that is restful, beautiful and perfect for us.

Unit #107 (1bdr, 2bathroom) has been nicely renovated. We appreciate the 2 bathroom design, even for just 2 people. A salad spinner, and metal spatula/flipper would be great additions. There were many plastic spatulas ... not so good for use on the BBQs!

Nicely maintained grounds, pool, bbq area. Front office staff are friendly and accommdating. They still smile! (we've run into so many front office people at other similar properties who seem to forget they are in the customer service biz - where you get the feeling you are bothering them when you ask about/for something).

If you want a sandy walking beach, this isn't the place for you. But there is a very nice small man-made sandy area with lounge chairs. The energy and beauty of the waves crashing on the black rocks is just plain awesome.

Also, the 'next door' public salt water pool is one of the reasons we stay here. It's a magic, almost secret place.

Only negative experience: no available parking on a couple of evenings when we came back from day trips ... apparently the Yacht Club uses a room at the complex a couple nights a week and they park there too. Told the office staff, and they were very attentive, and we were able to park in an 'emergency' area until the party broke up. I would suggest that KBTS try to limit the Yacht Club parkers somehow. It was a bit of a drag to have to come out and repark our car (and nobody should really park in those emergency lanes).

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Always see the room photos before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate your review and always very proud of our staff that knows a smile goes along way. We apologize for the parking problem you experienced but we have since met with the Yacht club with a great resolution.

We also cannot wait for your return which we hope is very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Kona by the Sea in November 2012 and would for sure go back. Though some of the units may be a little outdated the location and facilities were perfect. We had two condos for 4 adults and had a great time. The staff was very acommodating and even allowed one of us to move to a different condo to have a better view from the balcony.

Very low key location; which was exactly what we were looking for. No crowds on the beach or at the pool. And the gas grills down by the beach were amazing. We had at least 4 of our meals on the beach after grilling.

Kona by the Sea was a perfect base camp. Kona itself was only several miles down the road. Kona is fun city with good food and shopping. We traveled almost every day to see the beautiful sights of the Big Island. This was our first time to the Big Island and it is now our favorite. Great hiking and some great beaches if you are willing to work to find them.

Room Tip: The units in the south building have a slightly better ocean view than the north building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are happy that your first impression of the Big Island was one that you will return.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;