We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Kona by the Sea in November 2012 and would for sure go back. Though some of the units may be a little outdated the location and facilities were perfect. We had two condos for 4 adults and had a great time. The staff was very acommodating and even allowed one of us to move to a different condo to have a better view from the balcony.

Very low key location; which was exactly what we were looking for. No crowds on the beach or at the pool. And the gas grills down by the beach were amazing. We had at least 4 of our meals on the beach after grilling.

Kona by the Sea was a perfect base camp. Kona itself was only several miles down the road. Kona is fun city with good food and shopping. We traveled almost every day to see the beautiful sights of the Big Island. This was our first time to the Big Island and it is now our favorite. Great hiking and some great beaches if you are willing to work to find them.

Room Tip: The units in the south building have a slightly better ocean view than the north building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are happy that your first impression of the Big Island was one that you will return.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    136
    28
    24
    8
See reviews for
141
138
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lets start off by saying this is the first time I have ever paid more for an ocean front room. This place really made me regret it. We paid for a one bedroom oceanfront room. The place overbooked that and didn't tell us. We checked in and were told they were not ready. We had to wait hours to finally get our room. We finally get in and find ourselves in a two bedroom room. The view was of a 21foot wall on the right, the other half of the resort on the left and about 40feet of shore line. You could see out to the ocean if you leaned out over the railing and looked around the 21 foot wall, otherwise it was a view of the the waves on the shoreline. That is not oceanfront. Oceanfront is a 180degree view of the ocean or at least facing the ocean. I called the front desk. They said they didn't have the room we booked. I went and spoke to the desk. They said the room was ocean front. Later in the week I spoke to owners. Yes this is a condo with year round residents. I was told by two of them that my room was ocean view. Not ocean front. I was a 5 rooms over from the ocean. My room was for sale. I talked to the listing agent. He confirmed it was only a ocean view, not an ocean front room. I tried to get refunded the difference and Aston refused.

The room was nice. It was missing a blender. Everything else was pretty nice.

You have to pay for internet. When it went down they staff wanted me to sit in the room for 2 hours waiting for a repair person.

Two nights a week the "Yacht Club" descends and takes over the place.

You have to walk through the parking garage to get to the pool. You have to do the same when using the BBQ's. They would not light half the time. They were out of propane at times.

The pool was nice. The jacuzzi was fun. The front area was nice.

The only complaint I really had was with staff and the failure to get to enjoy what I paid for.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the building that faces the ocean if you want an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience so we may review and strive to improve. I am disappointed of our upgrade to a two bedroom unit and misunderstanding of your view. We sometimes take for granted the close proximity of 50 feet from the ocean is satisfactory.

I offer my personal assistance if you choose to return so I may personally help assign your unit for I am confident we can provide the Hawaiian vacation you expected while here at Kona by the Sea.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and rented a 1-bedroom, 2-bath unit in the south building for four nights ending Christmas eve. We enjoyed our stay.

Aston Kona by the Sea is about 3 miles south of the center of Kailua-Kona, one of two resort areas on the west side of the big island. It gets excellent weather, especially as compared to Hilo on the northeast coast, which gets a lot of rain. The other major resort area on the west side of the island is at Waiulua Bay, where you can find the Hilton Waikoloa Village. That area is much more upscale, but it's quite a bit farther from the airport and more of a contained village, with many fewer restaurants and shopping venues -- really a self-contained property. After visiting it, we decided that we had made a good decision to stay in the Kailua-Kona area. That said, Kailua-Kona has its drawbacks. Most of the action is along Alii Dr., which gets tied up with traffic almost all the time as you approach the city center. We avoided it at all costs. The area near the center of town is very touristy. But, other parts of the city are quite normal.

The common areas of the property seemed well maintained. Of course, the quality of individual units will vary. Ours was in good shape. My only complaint was that the clothes drier did not turn off by itself, so we needed to set a timer so that we didn't forget and burn our clothing. There was a sign on the dryer to this effect to remind us. Still, the guest book in the unit indicates that the drier has not been working properly for at least two years. The unit owner should have taken care of repairing it and the property manager should have insisted that this be done.

Our unit, and I believe all the units in the south building, ran the width of the building from the east side, where an exterior hallway leads to the condo entry, to the west, where the lanai overlooks the ocean. The ocean view was great, and we often sat on the lanai in the late afternoons taking in the view and the sun.

The professional photo on the TripAdvisor page for Kona by the Sea showing the beach area makes it appear that the sand goes right down to the water. That is not the case. The shore area is rocky and not good for swimming. But, the sandy area sports lounge chairs, as shown in the picture, and is a comfortable place to spend time.

We examined from the outside several of the condo complexes that were potential alternatives to Kona by the Sea and, although it's hard to tell from the exterior alone, Kona by the Sea seemed to be one of the best if not the best, from the city center to about five or six miles out. Beyond that, there seemed to be some very good alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We most certainly agree we are the best property on the coast. Combined with our service we provide a great getaway with the beautiful ocean right in front and units that is your home away from home.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and two children stayed at the Aston Kona by the Sea over New Year's 2012/2013 for 8 days.
We stayed in a two bedroom condo. All I can say is that I was 100% happy with the apartment.
We were in unit 220, which is a two bedroom unit. The master bedroom is off of the living room and has sliding doors that can be opened. It had its own bathroom The second bedroom had two single beds and its own bathroom. The bedrooms were quite large and had ample room to store clothes in both closets and dressers.
The unit must have been recently renovated, because it was spotless and extremely well appointed.
There is a full kitchen with all the amenities including microwave, full stove, full fridge and a dishwasher. In addition, all of the kitchen utensils you could ever want are there right down to a rice cooker.
It is an open concept apartment. There was a large dining room table with four chairs.
All of the furniture was very nice and clean. There was a large screen flat screen television in the living room and a smaller flat screen in the second bedroom.
On the front was a balcony that overlooked the pool and had a view of the ocean (not a direct view, but at about 45 degrees. You can easily see all of the pool and the pool area.
There are barbecues by the pool area as well.
The beach in front of the building is a rocky one, they therefore have an area with chairs in a sanded area in front of the pool.
I wouldn't say it is a great spot if you want to lay on a true beach. However, if you like a pool next to the ocean, this is it.
There is no restaurant in the complex and really nothing very close. It is about 2km to the nearest set of restaurants.
I would definitely rent a car, as it will be needed in order to go to the local beaches and to go to restaurants. There is some under the building parking available and also an outdoor parking lot with ample parking.
There was daily maid service to clean the apartment and to change out the towels.
Expedia has a concierge travel advisor on site. We used her to book two of our outings. She was very knowledgable and pleasent to deal with.
Overall, I was extremely pleased with and have not hesitation recommended this complex.
The only caveats being that it is not close to a true beach and not close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for unit 220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review that will definitely help our readers make a great choice of Aston Kona by the Sea.

Please return and be a part of our family once again.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 10 nights in unit 420. It was clean, spacious and bright. We left the veranda door to the master bedroom open at night to listen to the surf and waking up to it was a highlight every single day. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful and having an on site 'Expedia Advisor' was great for figuring out what we wanted to do. As part of their training, they get to go on every adventure or to every location that they recommend.

For the room itself, there could have been more kitchen supplies; the knives were atrocious and we constantly ran out of cutlery and dishes (family of 4), but this is a small gripe. The only major issue I had was the master bed that clearly had gone past its due date by a few years and was collapsed in the middle on the left side. Made for very uncomfortable sleeps and a 'very good' instead of 'exceptional' review.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of surf or require a silent sleeping area, don't come here. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sleeping on a comfortable bed is very important where we will notify the owner to address the situation. Please accept our sincere apologies.

I am confident if given another opportunity we can provide that perfect Hawaiian vacation and a great nights rest. Please feel free to contact me for my personal assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were lucky to get unit 122. Beautifully redone, and so comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped, making meals fun. The guys worked the BBQ, depending on how many mai tais the results were delicious. We traveled with my dear cousin and her hubby, and we were very comfortable. (need to find out the details on the Master Bedroom mattress, as we are shopping for a new one). The only drawback, was the bed in the second room. Would be nicer if it was a king as well, but we switched bedrooms midway through the week, so we each had the master for 5 nights. Loved the wonderful ocean sounds at night.

I needed to do payroll for our employees while we were on our trip, and the internet connection was iffy at best (not the fault of anyone involved in the condo), but we finally got all things done that needed to be done, and back on vacation mode. The office staff were most helpful. Rhoda our housekeeper was a gem!

Again, cooking was a treat in that well equipped kitchen, the furniture was so comfortable and really attractive. No negatives about the rooms or the facility.

We will certainly consider this location in the future. We travel to Kailua-Kona often.

Room Tip: Ask for 122 and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are proud whenever we can meet our guests expectations. Please let us know if we can help with your payroll next time so it will be less time working or none at all.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful setting. Complete condos, so large rooms, lots of space and full kitchen. Patio directly overlooking the ocean. Very pretty view in the mornings. I would have stayed longer.

I didn't realize that there was no restaurant anywhere near the hotel, so the first morning was a little bit of a shock. They didn't think to mention that when we checked in. We only ate breakfast in that area, so by the second morning we had bought some coffee and rolls to eat.

The shuttle bus only goes by the hotel hourly (in both directions), so we had to take taxis a couple times.

Nothing to do there except relax (horrors!) by the ocean. No beach; just lava rocks. But they have lounges all over the ocean front, so it was very pleasant.

We spent most of the time away from the hotel. Lots of good restaurants at Kailua-Kona. And there's lots of things to see and do there.

Staff not terribly helpful. It's really a place to stay; their responsibility seemed to be to take care of the place, not the residents. But we didn't plan to do much there anyway.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your great review. We sincerely apologize our staff did not provide the usual great service we are very proud of. We do understand our staff is the reason many of our guests return year after year. We appreciate your comment to help us improve our services.

Mahalo for staying with us and please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.