We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location with potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights in suite 303 (1 bedroom). The location was great for us as we wanted to be outside of the heart of Kailua-Kona. The views from this oceanfront suite were amazing and the grounds are well maintained. It was peaceful and quiet.

The suite itself needs some work. The carpets are dirty and need replacing and there is a musty smell in the suite. As well, there are chunks of drywall missing at the bottom corner of walls.

In terms of cleanliness, there was shaving cream or toothpaste splatter on the medicine cabinet and there was rust in the bathrooms.

The showerheads were really low. We're only 5'5" and they were too low for us; a 6 ft person would have a really hard time with this. The water pressure was good though. There are two full bathrooms; only one hairdryer affixed to a wall.

The mattress quality was good.

The DVD borrowing service is a great feature; the TV was too small for the size of the living room.

Kitchen was well equipped; a nice addition would be a blender.

Laundry machine and dryer worked well; only one detergent was provided for the stay.

Overall this is a nice place that could easily be made fabulous with a little more TLC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to improve our services and product. My response shows we review and act upon every suggestion and comment from our guests. It will always help us to continuosly improve our service and product.

We look forward to your return and share our corner of paradise.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    134
    27
    24
    8
See reviews for
138
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, CO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location with fabulous sunsets! Like the convenience of a condo so you can make some of your own meals. The pool and hot tub are great.....view fabulous!! However, the units need updating and whoever does their cleaning could be better. All in all....we love this small condo complex for it's views and location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center building have a better view for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Yes, beautiful ocean and sunsets are what our guests expect and enjoy while here at Kona by the Sea. We always continue to improve our services and product your feed back will definitely help us.

Please come again and feel free to contact me directly for my personal assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this property and had a lovely condo with a nice partial ocean view. The $10 a day amenity charge was probably well worth it because there was no up charge for air-conditioning and we could check out current movies two at a time, internet, complimentary coffee and newspaper. The unit had 2 bathrooms and one bedroom and a full kitchen with granite counter tops. Washer & dryer in unit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your review that will help our readers decide that amazing is the way to enjoy their Hawaiian vacation. Our ocean front property and spacious units provides a home away from home.

We hope for your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A very pleasant place to stay. great ocean views. washer and dryer in the condo. some places need upgrading but 209 has been redone with a beautiful kitchen. nice little beach and barbecue area. very nice staff. feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask about a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
When you can feel at home and then add our beautiful ocean and great staff Kona by the Sea is a perfect place for a Hawaiian vacation.

We hope to see you soon

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Kona By the Sea. I was pleasantly surprised with this place, as a lot of previous reviewers have stated it's in need of a redo. Because of this, I decided to not have high expectations and to just be happy with the location and the view. My main criteria was to have an ocean view room where I could fall asleep to the ocean waves at night that wouldn't break the bank. I guess it just depends on the condo, but #122 was absolutely amazing!

We booked a one-bedroom ocean front but somehow got upgraded to a two-bedroom ocean front, which was way too much room for just the two of us, but we weren't complaining! The room was fabulous! It had been recently updated, was very clean and had all of the amenities of home! But best of all was the sound of the waves when we opened the sliding glass doors. We kept them open every night so we could fall asleep to the waves pounding the shore. However, when the doors were closed, you couldn't hear a peep. I was happy at how soundproof the place was in general. We couldn't hear anyone next to us or above us, which was nice!

We saw several turtles right on the rocks in front of the property during our stay. The pool, hot tub and BBQs were great and we met a lot of nice people while hanging out down there. The parking was very convenient too. The $10/day resort fee was not the greatest but I guess you can't really get away from that these days. Since it's a condo, there are no resort amenities like onsite restaurant, room service, gym, bar, although this didn't bother us at all since the restaurants, bars, grocery stores, Costco, etc, were just a short drive away. There is, however, a dvd rental kiosk (which we didn't use) and activities desk where you can book excursions.

Kona By The Sea is very convenient to town and a great base if you want to stay in the Kailua-Kona area. We will definitely stay at Kona By the Sea again and if we had the money we would consider buying a condo here. ;)

Room Tip: #122 is an awesome room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are very proud when we exceed our guests expectations. Our staff works very hard to meet our goals We appeciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor readers. I am sure it will help when they travel.

Please return very soon we wait with great anticipation.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Not far from Kailua and easy to get to. View was fantastic and close to ocean. Older hotel but well maintained and clean. Couch was broken down and is ready to be replaced. Will definitely stay there again as a frequent travellor to the big island.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We appreciate your great review. Your feedback will help us to continuously improve our services and product.

Please return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

They took a $400 deposit for one night stay which I thought was pretty poor and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom. Lol.. The rooms were not great for the price.. Overall, not great but not awful..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for the opportunity to improve our services and product. We sincerely apologize your stay with us was not to your expectations. I sincerely regret missing the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. I am confident it could have been great . We hope our error collecting the right deposit was not a great inconvenience and please be assured we have addressed the situation.

I hope you will give us another opportunity please feel free to contact me directly for my personal assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.