We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A condo is the way to go in Kona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A condo is the way to go in Kona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A very pleasant place to stay. great ocean views. washer and dryer in the condo. some places need upgrading but 209 has been redone with a beautiful kitchen. nice little beach and barbecue area. very nice staff. feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask about a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
When you can feel at home and then add our beautiful ocean and great staff Kona by the Sea is a perfect place for a Hawaiian vacation.

We hope to see you soon

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    142
    28
    25
    9
See reviews for
149
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Kona By the Sea. I was pleasantly surprised with this place, as a lot of previous reviewers have stated it's in need of a redo. Because of this, I decided to not have high expectations and to just be happy with the location and the view. My main criteria was to have an ocean view room where I could fall asleep to the ocean waves at night that wouldn't break the bank. I guess it just depends on the condo, but #122 was absolutely amazing!

We booked a one-bedroom ocean front but somehow got upgraded to a two-bedroom ocean front, which was way too much room for just the two of us, but we weren't complaining! The room was fabulous! It had been recently updated, was very clean and had all of the amenities of home! But best of all was the sound of the waves when we opened the sliding glass doors. We kept them open every night so we could fall asleep to the waves pounding the shore. However, when the doors were closed, you couldn't hear a peep. I was happy at how soundproof the place was in general. We couldn't hear anyone next to us or above us, which was nice!

We saw several turtles right on the rocks in front of the property during our stay. The pool, hot tub and BBQs were great and we met a lot of nice people while hanging out down there. The parking was very convenient too. The $10/day resort fee was not the greatest but I guess you can't really get away from that these days. Since it's a condo, there are no resort amenities like onsite restaurant, room service, gym, bar, although this didn't bother us at all since the restaurants, bars, grocery stores, Costco, etc, were just a short drive away. There is, however, a dvd rental kiosk (which we didn't use) and activities desk where you can book excursions.

Kona By The Sea is very convenient to town and a great base if you want to stay in the Kailua-Kona area. We will definitely stay at Kona By the Sea again and if we had the money we would consider buying a condo here. ;)

Room Tip: #122 is an awesome room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are very proud when we exceed our guests expectations. Our staff works very hard to meet our goals We appeciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor readers. I am sure it will help when they travel.

Please return very soon we wait with great anticipation.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Not far from Kailua and easy to get to. View was fantastic and close to ocean. Older hotel but well maintained and clean. Couch was broken down and is ready to be replaced. Will definitely stay there again as a frequent travellor to the big island.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We appreciate your great review. Your feedback will help us to continuously improve our services and product.

Please return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

They took a $400 deposit for one night stay which I thought was pretty poor and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom. Lol.. The rooms were not great for the price.. Overall, not great but not awful..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for the opportunity to improve our services and product. We sincerely apologize your stay with us was not to your expectations. I sincerely regret missing the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. I am confident it could have been great . We hope our error collecting the right deposit was not a great inconvenience and please be assured we have addressed the situation.

I hope you will give us another opportunity please feel free to contact me directly for my personal assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Of the few places that I have stay at on the big Island. Aston Kona by the Sea has had the best view of the ocean. If you are looking for a nice place with a great view without beach access this is a great place. I would recommend asking for a room on the south end of the building. It does not get a lot of the morning sun, which is really nice when you want to have breakfast out on the lanai. Besides the view there were only a couple of problems, which were mostly fixed when brought to the attention of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
The best ocean views and great service is a combination that provides a perfect Hawaiian vacation .

We hope you will return to enjoy the ocean and Kona by the Sea once again.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Large rooms, well-equipped kitchen, nice views (pay the little extra for the ocean-view rooms if you can). There's no real beach, just a sand strip (not on the actual beach) and a tidepool (which is cool in itself if you've never explored one), but there are two excellent public beaches with fine snorkeling and body-surfing/swimming a couple of miles south. The pool was so-so, but the real fun swimming is in the ocean here. They charge a silly $10 "resort fee" for Internet access and DVD rental, which is just annoying enough for me to give four stars instead of five.

Room Tip: If you can spring for it, pay the extra bucks for the ocean-view suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate hearing from our guests.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here in December 2011. Tons of room, everyone had their own bed, two full bathrooms, a full kitchen, and a washer and dryer. View was amazing, but no 'beach'.

We checked in really late, but the night guard was very helpful and gave us our room key. The next morning I went down to the front desk, and was given 2 water bottles and 2 beach balls for the kids. It was a nice little bonus! They also had a kiosk to rent movies in the lobby which was nice for some down time after a long day in the sun.

Con: Daily 'resort fee'

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We always appreciate a great review. A lot has happened since then. New barbecue grilling area, WIFI in every room, fresh pool deck surface, new locking system for our rooms and a renovated Front Desk. Stay tuned more to come. What will never change is our beautiful ocean and great staff.

Please come back and experience all our improvements.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.