We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome condo and view with a great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
Aston Kona by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome condo and view with a great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

From the very moment we arrived the front desk staff couldn't have been more gracious and helpful. The pleasant smiles of everyone was a great way to start a vacation. Our 2 bedroom unit was on the 4th floor with a spectacular view and the ocean which was only 50 yards away.
The unit was well appointed and well maintained. The pool and jacuzzi were always clean and well maintained. Lounge chairs and tables were abundant around the pool and on the sand area. The beach itself is all volcanic rock, no sand beach, so if you are looking for that this is not the place to stay. But if you like belly boarding it has some great waves with an easy access from the shore.

The facility was within walking distance of a small market and liquor store. There is a place called Da Poke Shack which is also within walking distance which had a variety of Poke all of which were excellent and reasonably priced.

If you like being in an uncrowded and laid back facility this is it. Beautiful location, beautiful units and a beautiful staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are grateful that you discovered us and took the time to share your experience. We promise to do our best to make your every written word true to its expectations.

Please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    156
    35
    27
    11
See reviews for
169
157
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Aston Kona by the Sea for three nights during a recent trip to Hawaii. This is a condo complex situated right on the shoreline, in southern Kailua-Kona, about 3 miles from the center of town. The location is particularly good if you want to be somewhat away from the bustle of downtown and don't mind having to drive there or to go swimming. The complex has an outdoor pool and jacuzzi, and a little sitting area at the shore with some BBQ grills. The shoreline like in many places on the Big Island is rocky and swimming right at the hotel is not recommened. There is a parking garage available.

A grocery store is located about 2 miles away, there is a farmers market at the Outrigger, about a mile south on Alii Drive, it is about the same distance to the closest swimming/snorkeling spots. Go there to buy fruit, or go to a fuit stand. There is a deli a couple of properties over which is within walking distance, and may be useful in a pinch.

We stayed in unit 215, which had partial ocean view from the balcony and was a roomy 2-bedroom unit. The master bedroom and kitchen were in good shape, and the kitchen fully equipped. The smaller bedroom did have some older shower implements in its bathroom and could do with an update. The unit we were in also had a stacked washer/dier.

Sleep quality was reasonable, we did hear the people upstairs from us in the early evening, which was a bit annoying as we were all on PST schedule and wanted to go to sleep early.

The internet access in our unit was highly flaky, and if you have to rely on working internet to stay in touch you will find this to be a source of frustration just as it was for us.

One big plus is that there is a local Expedia expert on site, who we found very helpful and picking smaller things to do with the children. A free orientation/continental breakfast is available on the first day after arriving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for the opportunity to continuously improve our services and product. Our location can't be beat right in front of the ocean and very close to the Kailua Village. Your feed back of our units will be reviewed and all corrective action to improve our product will be taken. We are working closely with our our newly installed WIFI service provider to improve the quality to our expectations.

We look forward to your return and please feel free to contact me for my personal service.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The condo we stayed at was room 219. It was not updated, but the rooms were clean & Rhoda did a great job with housekeeping. The front desk staff were helpful when wifi did not work the 1st day for us. Laura and her team at Expedia were extremely helpful. Laura suggested the glass bottom boat for our 2 year old and the Hapuna beach. Overall it was a very pleasant experience for us. We loved the view from our lanai and there was really nothing to complain about. Thanks to everyone at the hotel, it is a vacation to remember.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your great review.

We hope you return very soon we look forward to be a part of your family.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What you see is what you get. The Aston Kona by the Sea is NOT the Fairmont, Hilton or Ritz. This is a average condominium complex, so don't expect it to be something it is not. Otherwise it is a great complex. Here's my two cents...

Staff - The entire staff at the KBTS was awesome. I have high standards for my customer service and the hotel staff as well as the Expedia Local Help desk did not disappoint! Make sure to take advantage of the Expedia desk, they did not let us down and took care of ALL our excursions as well as great meal recommendations.

Pool - Pool area was nice, it is showing its age a little but was clean. They started to redo the grill area with an awesome lava/granite counter top so it is nice to see them updating their facilities.

Sandy Beach area - was a great place to have a quick meal or just read a book.

Tide pool - Between the sea wall and the ocean are some great tide pools with fish, urchins, etc. bring water shoes as that area is VERY slippery.

Location - ON the water! Views from every room. Cant walk to Kona but it is only about 5 minutes to town which is very nice in my opinion.

Parking - plenty of spaces, no issues there.

$10/day amenity fee - I personally don't have a problem with this, it covers the safe, internet, DVD Now rentals, etc. The DVD NOW box is great, if you watch movies, we were there to explore and relax so we only rented one kids movie but it had a lot of new movies in the box and I think the $10/day fee was justified. The internet was Ethernet cable connected to start, but on 8/12 they upgraded to wifi... Thank GOD! ; ) Now I can work on the lanai.

Rooms - We stayed in room 106, great view and room features. The room was more then fine for my family of four plus my 76-year old mom. Kitchen was nicely furnished with everything we needed, towels were replaced each day, overall really good. Only negative comment would be about the beds and pillows. Pillows were horrible, bed was cheap. If I could have them update one thing it would be the beds. The pull out couch was a typical pull out couch and about as comfortable as you expect. That's it, very minor issue there.

Overall - Great condo, close to town, CLEAN. I would not hesitate to book another trip to Aston Kona by the Sea. Mahalo to Rosie, Sarah (front desk) and Megan, Amy & Laura (Expeida)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We appreciate you mentioning the improvements we are making to our property and many more to come. We always continuously strive to improve our services and product. We are very proud of our staff and the service they provide. We are fortunate that it is a common goal of all of us to make our guests a part of our family. There is no comparison and nothing average about us.

We hope you return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

By far for us the best thing here was the view-it is spectacular. We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath for 2 nights when we Island hopped over from Oahu. We have never stayed in a Condo before so I have nothing else to compare to but a hotel room. Hotels are getting pricey for us as we have 3- virtually adult children now.
Parking was easy- and close. We were on the 1st floor of rooms (2nd floor). Our unit was decorated very nicely, appliances were a little rusty but not too bad, but the smell- ugh. I thought, probably just from being closed up so we opened the windows, got some air moving etc.
After 24 hrs the main room was tolerable, but the bathrooms and 2nd bedroom - it never went away. Unfortunately we were only there for 2 days so I can't say if it's something that would have dissipated with more time. Could be that the unit had not been occupied in a very long time or maybe this is more of a normal thing and after a couple of days-no problem. Outside of that- make sure you hit the store down the street for what you need as there is not one here or within walking distance. The place is really beautiful, quiet and a few more days would not have been a bad thing.

Room Tip: Ocean View is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and letting us know of a smell that you experienced in your unit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. As you can see we take all of our reviews very seriously by our response to each one. Please be assured we will correct the problem you encountered and hope you will give us another opportunity. I offer my personal assistance when planning your next trip back to Hawaii.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Kona by the Sea in mid July 2011. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit on the third floor. The condo was clean with all the comforts of home. The view was spectacular and the price was just right. This trip was the first time that we actually stayed in condos rather than hotel rooms and I have to say, I am hooked on the condo lifestyle. First the prices are actually cheaper than a hotel room and you can shop and prepare your own meals in a full sized kitchen. The only reason I did not give Kona by the Sea 5 stars is because the ocean is quite rough right at the condo. Luckily we had a rental car and could go to other beaches on the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are fortunate and appreciate that you have shared your comparison to our type property and hotels. Somehow feeling at home makes a vacation more enjoyable where you can have the best of both worlds.

We hope you make us your second home and please return as soon as you can.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Going to Hawaii in Sept (2012) and staying at Kona By the Sea for the third time. My wife and I love this place. This is what you think of when staying in an ocean front room. If you were any closer you would get wet. One of my favorite things is sitting on the balcony watching the waves crash at the rock shore. The sound of the crashing waves is very relaxing. We always get the one bedroom two bath condo. Very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped. We usually made our own breakfast and sat on the balcony enjoying the ocean. There are BBQ grills on the property which I did take advantage of a few times. Bring a Mai Tai with you and do your grilling. Best way to BBQ. Doesnt get much better than this.

Room Tip: All rooms have good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for describing a perfect getaway with crashing waves and the best ocean front view.
We appreciate you taking the time and making choices for others easier .

Please return very soon you are always welcome.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
14.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
22.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kona by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.