We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Good, Rest Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
santa barbara, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Room Good, Rest Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is pretty old, but the room we had was just fine. It was large and over looked the ocean. The problem with this place is the common areas. No one takes care of them! The entries to the elevators are really bunged up from baggage carts hitting the corners. There was one section by the elevators where there was black tile along side the elevator, but one of the tiles got clobbered, so what was there was a hole with the white background showing. Plaster on some of the common walls was missing. The tables for the luau were stored in the entry way to the tower we were staying in. On a walk out to Kona, we saw the doors to the Dempster area open with all the garbage in view. When we returned about 2 hours later the doors were still open and the garbage in view. At about 9 PM there was a maids cleaning cart in the walkway - what was that doing there then?? The bottom line is that if all you want is a decent room, then this is not a bad place to go. Someone should do a litlle walk around the external part of the buildings, however, and see the relatively small things that should/could be taken care of so that the place would look like a classy place. The main entry area was wonderful - the rest of the place should/could be made that way also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA Family, glad to know these guests enjoyed their room and stay. Sorry they found some of the exterior walls in need of attention. We're on it though, it's a 24/7 job to upkeep, and thanks to their observations, we'll take a closer look. Glad they enjoyed the ocean views from their room too. FYI, we do have housekeepers on late at night to clean rooms for late arriving guests, and early arrival morning guests as well. Again, it's a 365 24/7 operation, and the work never stops at a hotel. Hopefully it didn't hamper their entire stay, and they were able to enjoy all the amazing things the big island has to offer. Hopefully we'll see them again. Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    716
    362
    183
    123
See reviews for
304
889
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just stayed in this resort and I really liked it, the room was clean and cozy, the bed comfortable, good shower. The only con is that they do not provide anything except coffee, which was not a big deal as we barely stayed in the hotel.
I recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA Family, really nice to know these guests loved our clean well maintained rooms, along with the comfy beds, and of course great location. Coming from PA, we're glad they had a wonderful stay on the Big Island, where there is so much to see and do. Do your homework, and you too will enjoy your vacation no matter where your travels take you. Glad they shared. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went there in 2012 for our honeymoon, We originally booked just a standard room. Well it turned out to be two really tiny beds and the view was of a roof, and just wasn't that great. So for an extra $20 a night I think it was we got an ocean front room with a king size bed!! Now you are literally right there on the ocean, the views are spectacular, the sunsets are spectacular, the room was clean, lots of privacy on the balcony. The staff there was spectacular. For food I would say your best bet is to just take a walk up the street to the local places. The food in Kona is awesome, you wont see salt and pepper on the tables because well you don't need it!! Anyways if you are going splurge on the ocean front well worth the extra money!! Now there isn't a beach really at this resort besides a small manmade lagoon. Really in general though Kona doesn't have the greatest beaches, you wont find the white sand beaches. But if you are into snorkelling there are plenty of places to go and it is spectacular. We took in the Lua which is neat, bit pricy, but its one of those things for the true Hawaiian experience you have to take in one while you are there, and the food is plentiful and wonderful! I love how close this is to town. ,Its a short walk to bars and restaurants of all sorts and shaved ice yummm.

Room Tip: Pay extra get the ocean front, you wont regret it! More privacy, wall to wall windows looking out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, another late reviewer, but we'll take it! Glad our honeymooners from Canada had a great stay. Yes, we have the best location in Kona, and are the best value as well. Right on Alii Drive for additional dining, bars, shopping, galleries, farmers market, historical sites and a short walk to the Kailua Pier for all your ocean activities, snorkel sail, dinner cruise, para sail, jet ski, submarine rides and Stand Up Paddle (SUP) Glad they enjoyed, we'll keep them on the radar for their first anniversary stay! Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We don't want you to really what a wonderful time we had - then it'll be booked all the time, haha! Great location, lovely bar on the beach - with a night time view as gorgeous as the day. We had a lovely, newly remodeled room - VERY VERY clean, also with a view. A show in the evenings, on the property, Don the Beachcomber's resteraunt ... we could go on and on. I'd move in, if I could.

Room Tip: Our room was 3rd floor, balcony overlooking the evening show (whichever way that faces). Terrific v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA Family, nice to see these guests had a fabulous time! Not sure if the timeline was wrong, December 2012? Regardless, we'll pleased to know they loved their room, view, food and beverage, everything about the resort. Hopefully we'll see them back this December too! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The outside of the hotel is nice, the views were stunning at sunset, the bar was pretty decent, getting to watch the luau from the pool at night wasn't that bad either, BUT the ROOM...OMG! I might have been okay with it (just for the view) but the quality of the room itself was a shock that I couldn't get over. The bathroom smelled HORRIBLY from bleach or strong disinfectant, the bed was uncomfortable~so much so that you literally could feel the springs, the pillows were overly used (not fluffy), and the tv had white lines running through the pictures with sound that came in and out and channels that wouldn't come thru! I felt like I had warped myself back to the 70's!! The location was great, but the room was gross. Won't be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, too bad they were dissapointed with their stay. I've sent a personal message to determine which room they occupied so we can research and rectify their concerns. FYI, although we're not the newest kid on the block, our rooms are clean and well maintained, and our flat screens should not have interference. I sure hope they contacted us to repair while they were with us. Waiting for their reply,,,mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a complicated review. Let me explain; my husband and I arrived in Kona on a hot and humid Saturday in August. We were tired and weary from our flight and wondered if we had made a good decision in coming to Hawaii at this point. We both have never been to any Hawaiian island so Kona was a first visit for us.

We have read the prior hotel reviews and tried their suggestions to get an upgrade but to no avail. David, our hotel rep, was really new and was going by the book, if you will. The partial ocean view room that he gave us was in the main Alii'i Tower on the second floor overlooking the pool with a squint of the ocean. We were not pleased. Btw, the hotel room was nice enough, not too big, not too small.

We went back down to David and asked for another room. The only room that they had in partial ocean view category was #661 in the Lagoon Tower overlooking the tennis courts, the lagoon, another property on the ocean, and a nice view of the ocean by the hotel property and down south of the Royal Kona. The room was very average and in need of updating, a little worse than the first room, but the view was much better, in spite of the transformer just outside the corner balcony. Both rooms were not that great, but, after some discussion chose the second room.

After some sleep, the second day seemed a little better and, while this hotel is a three, we rated it a four because of the waves that we could see/hear and its location in Kona (close to restaurants, stores, etc.). We saw no bugs, the hotel housekeeping staff was very nice, but be sure to ask for more towels--they only give two bath towels. We watched the laua from the hotel pool which had great views of the sunset. The bar was close by and we enjoyed mai tais with sweet potato fries.

FYI, we explored staying at the Sheraton south of Kona by 15 minutes, but decided to stay at RK because of the cost savings, the fact that the rooms were not as close to the ocean, and the pool was filled with loud people and children (bringing your own alcohol is permitted at the pool).

Room Tip: The view from the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA Family, nice to see our first timers to Hawaii had a great stay. Although our rooms are not the newest on the block, we do strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds for our guests. A tip I'd like to offer is, if you are wanting a particular view, it's best to reserve that category as you shouldn't rely on receiving a complimentary upgrade. During busy season (and it's been busy all year) it's not regular practice for us, or our competition to do so. I'm really glad they chose us over the competition, as we do have the best location in Kona, hands down at the best value. We'll look forward to welcoming them back soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had 3 days at Royal Kona Resort when we went to Hawaii. Breakfast was made special each day with a view of the whales playing in the bay in front of the hotel. The hotel is central to all at Kona and made getting around so easy. Only disappointing thing was twin bed. They were comfortable though. Staff were terrific and food was excellent.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, glad our friends from Down Under had a terrific stay. I'm glad they loved the views and food we offer, though pretty sure they were watching our resident spinner dolphins in the bay, it's a bit early for whales! Make sure you do your homework, and you too will have an enjoyable vacation wherever your travels take you. We'll look forward to seeing them again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.