We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location, Stunning Views, Excellent Service..Great Overall Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, Stunning Views, Excellent Service..Great Overall Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Loved it!! Exceeded expectations. So much so that we will be returning for an even longer stay in 4 months. The location right in town is perfect. The views from this property are an experience all by themself. A wonderful clean pool located right next to the ocean. Could hear and see the waves crashing and feel the light spray while sitting beside the pool. Also enjoyed drinks and great poolside service from the adjoining Don's Mai Tai bar. Very comfortable bed and clean, quiet room on the lagoon side. The service provided by all the staff was excellent. Specifically, Peter at the front desk. Superior service from him that far exceeds any service I have recieved at any other business in a very long time. From the moment we stepped up to the counter, Peter made us feel welcome. We were travelling with my parents who booked another room. Without us even asking, he rearranged rooms so that both of our rooms were next door to each other. I am seeing some other negative comments about this hotel being "dated," etc. I would refer to it as a classic, iconin gem with that old Hawaii feeling I remember from when I was a kid. I first visited Kona when I was 7 years old and just celebrated my 47th birthday this past week while there. My Grandparents owned a condo for 25 years in Kona. Even after they sold it, my family continued renting it for our visits (from the new owners). At 7 years old, I vividly remember seeing this hotel when arriving in town and was fascinated with how it looked. In those days it was the Kona Hilton. Throughout the years, I always thought it would be great to stay at this hotel. To celebrate 40 years of visiting Kona, we decided it was time. I could not be happier that we did and will probably be staying here going forward. If you have a phobia about "dated" or an older property then you will find the elegant, fancy and new up north of Kona in Waikoloa. However, those are miles from any civilization and it is frequently windy up there....to the point of being miserable. You can also be prepared to pay at least three times as much for rates at these "new" hotels. Royal Kona Resort is a great value for the price. We spoke to multiple fellow guests during our stay. Many have stayed all over Kona and shared our opinion about what a great place this is and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Aloha TA family, we never solicit reviews, but it's nice to see that the core of our guests truly do their homework, and have wonderful stays. The majority of TA readers are smart, and can read between the lines, though it's sure great to see we met and exceeded these valued guests expectations. They offer some great tips, and shared all the key features of the resort, location, views, clean, well maintained, great staff, great food and beverage, and did I mention location? Glad they had an awesome time, we'll see them back in a couple months! Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    662
    339
    171
    118
See reviews for
278
806
59
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Took my new wife on her first trip to the Big Island (I'd been thee a few times before). Wanted to impress so we got an Oceanfront suite at the Royal Kona. We shopped around and adjusted our schedule to get the best pricing. I recommend you do this if you can... we saved about $100 per night.
Food at the hotel is good but can be a bit pricey... so again... shop around. We found the half price appetizers at "Don the Beachcomber's" happy hour to be the best value around. The discounted Mai Tai's were not too shabby either. Excellent service, staff and the facility is top rate. Get the oceanfront suite and the Luau show is yours for free... right below your balcony. We're definitely going back...

Room Tip: The view of the Ocean and the waves breaking over the sea wall is worth the extra few dollars. Shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Aloha TA family, it's refreshing to see another seasoned traveler did their homework, and had an amazing vacation. No matter where your travels take you, heed the advice, check around, ask questions, do your homework, and you too will have a great vacation. We're glad they had such a nice stay on the Big Island, and enjoyed all the great things we have to offer, Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Royal Kona Resort is perhaps a little dated in terms of decor, but the rooms are comfortable with fantastic views.
There are plenty of on-site options to keep you entertained. The bar and restaurant were excellent (we had dinner but didn't try breakfast)
The hotel is close to town (walking distance) which offers an even wider variety of food and bars.
There's an in house travel agent who can suggest and book tours (and almost everyone does at least one; usually to the volcano)
The big island has very few sand beaches (it's all lava) so a good pool is essential. The Royal Kona Resort has a reasonable pool next to the bar, but take the time to find the little lagoon - it's got a nice sandy area and a protected area for swimming.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Aloha TA Family, great to see a solid review from our friends from Australia! Nice that they enjoyed the great value the Royal Kona offers, not to mention the prime location, great views, food and beverage, helpful staff and overall experience. We'll look forward to seeing them again on their next trip to Hawaii, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Aloha! My family and I like to stay on the Big Island's Kona side from time to time, and have found a little gem in the midst of busy Kailua-Kona called the Royal Kona Resort.
One of our favorite sites now, due to proximity to all the best shops and sights, Kamaaina discounts, free parking, great, clean, newly refurbished rooms, and fun foods and drinks right downstairs as well as a beautiful fresh-sea water lagoon to enjoy the sun, sand and swimming...we really like it there and find it to be the best bang for the bucks these days!
Two times we have had rooms on the west side towers, and turned them in for rooms on the lagoon side, and the hospitality crew was kind and caring about doing so. If you want to enjoy the night life and live music into the wee hours you'd probably not mind a west facing room. For me, I'd prefer listening to the nuance of ocean waves and reasonably quiet sounds all night, and that won't happen on the west side where bars have live bands and karaoke, tourists cruise the Ali'i Drive late hours whether by foot or in a vehicle, and folks talk down below you at the beach or in the bars loud enough to keep the light sleepers grumpy.

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower or Ocean sides of any tower, on easternmost corners are quieter. The koi ponds are won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha TA family, it's great to see our local kamaaina resident also love to stay here with us. True, on the weekends there is a little night life on Alii Drive, but know the rooms are fresh and have amazing views of Kailua Bay. As these valued guests mention, if you're not completely satisfied with your room (wherever your travels take you) speak to the front desk, they'll usually go out of their way to make you happy. Remember, we in the hospitality business truly want happy guests, that will return again and again. It's our goal and mission in life to be honest. Glad these guests had a wonderful staycation, we'll look forward to welcoming them back again soon, Much mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is like a time machine back to the 80's going to this hotel room. Dated decor, dated amenities and in need of an overhaul. That being said, the price is great and the location is amazing. The room we had (for a $20 upgrade) was a partial sea view and looked over the crashing waves over some amazing little cliffs. There is a tiny private beach there as well for guests which I didn't visit but it looked amazing.
This is a great hotel on a budget, don't expect more than your average indi hotel would offer though.
Also, there is free parking to the west of the hotel on the street should it be available rather than paying the parking fees.


"""""""""""""""""""

Room Tip: Do the upgrade to the sea view room, it is worth the extra few dollars for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha TA family, true, we have awesome views, as this guest mentions, even our Partial Ocean Views have awesome views of the ocean. Pretty disappointing to know they felt the rooms we're terrible, but goes to mention it's great if you are on a budget, comparable to an average hotel...go figure...Glad they enjoyed the amazing views and terrific location, the lagoon has had daily visits from the resident Honu (green sea turtles) lately, it's always nice to see them in the lagoon. Much Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This property and it’s restaurant are right on the water; the views are great. But the carpet in the rooms looks like circa 1970 as well as the decor. The management was kind enough to offer us another room after we complained, but it was the same. They explained this is an independently owned hotel. Therefore, there is no franchisor requiring updates which are needed at this property. Hence, you see the common complaints in other reviews posted here. If you are not picky, you might like this place. If you expect everything to be shinny new, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha TA family, please remember, we're not the newest kid on the block, though as this guest states, we're in the best location in Kona, offered at a great value. Our rooms and facility are clean and well maintained, terrific views from the rooms and Don's Mai Tai Bar, and great staff. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall this hotel served it's purpose to a t. It's well located and the views of the ocean are great. The only downside was the hotel needs some updates. The carpet is wearing thin and it needs a paint job. Noise was able to infiltrate pretty badly as well. It's close proximity to the village is very convenient and the pluses of this hotel certainly outweigh the negatives. Since we spent very little time in the room for the money it was definitely worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha TA family, I'm glad they found the positives outweigh the negatives. Although we're not the newest resort on the strip, we don't claim to be either, but we do pride ourselves on being clean and well maintained. We want to continue to offer the best value for location in Kona. Glad they enjoyed their stay, we hope they return again soon! Much mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.