We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed here 7 times and will continue to stay here every year when we visit. It is in the perfect location for dining and shopping and water activites. The staff is the most customer service oriented staff you will ever find. The rooms are more than comfortable with an awesome view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the ocean view. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, It's so nice to see our valued return guest continue to return year after year. We had the best location, best value, best staff in Kona. Although we're not a marble and glass palace, we have a gem of a location and crew. Please do your legwork wherever your travels take you, review, ask questions, and you too will have amazing vacations like these guests. We've got them or the radar for next year, glad they shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    795
    397
    193
    130
See reviews for
343
965
76
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night after arriving on a later flight from the mainland. We were checked in quickly and found our room easily. The open air lobby was very nice. Our room opened to a lanai with a lovely ocean view and we listened to the waves crash all night. It isn't the fanciest hotel out there but for the price it was great! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, quick and to the point. Being well traveled, I'm sure they did their homework, and hence to surprises. We strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds, allowing us to remain the best value for location in Kona. We'll look forward to seeing them again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Kona from March 6-15, 2013. Just two adults and we reserved a King Corner Ocean Front Room on the 6th floor. Room 648 in Lagoon Tower to be exact. IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. We were able to sit on our balcony and watch the whales and dolphins every day ... repeat, every day. TIP: bring binoculars for each person - it's a must! For us, it's worth the extra money for Ocean Front views, versus just Ocean View or Mountain View. Even if the weather was poor, we had entertainment by watching the water. We were also able to watch and/or listen to the luau from our balcony and we could hear the ocean waves all day and all night. It was wonderful and so relaxing! The sunsets were also indescribable and we could watch from the balcony or even the bed of the room. We don't care about golf, so no golf course was fine with us. And we didn't need a giant beach right on the hotel property because we knew we'd be beach hopping throughout the trip. But the resort's lagoon is a great substitute for immediate need for sand. The pool is also nice. The Mai Tai Bar and Grill has awesome food. And we saved a lot of money by NOT having room service as an option. Walking down to pick up a pizza or whatever from the bar or the restaurant took only a minute. And there are tons of shops and restaurants and coffee shops right across the street within easy walking distance. We had great bar service while there and no complaints about it, other than the drinks seemed a bit watery to me. We also didn't have any issues with the Internet access, although it'd be nice if they made it complimentary for guests. Also wish the room had a microwave but it did have a fridge and quality freezer (kept ice cream bars frozen). The only changes we would suggest are that Royal Kona needs hot tubs and they need to improve the parking situation. There are plenty of parking spots for guests but getting in and out is much more of a pain than it needs to be. The hotel gives you swipe cards to get in and out and when they stop working, it's a real pain to deal with. They should just enable the room key cards to also control the parking entrance, but that's not how it's set-up. Anyway, we'll stay there again. Location is also perfect. You're close enough to jet up the coast to Kohala and Hawi and you can get around the southern tip and over to the volcano in about 2 hours. Plus the Kona pier and downtown is within walking distance. For great shopping deals, drive over to the International Market.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Ocean Front King Corner on the highest floor you can get (there are only 6-7 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to know these guests loved their stay. Their review hits some key points, our views are amazing. Being an ocean front property even the partial ocean view rooms have better ocean view rooms than some hotels I know that sell the same view as Ocean View. We're a moderate resort with limited services, hence no valet parking or room service, but like the mentioned, you can order take out from the bar, eat in your room an watch the sunset. Perfect. The location to town is perfect, easy access to a myriad or shops, restaurants, bars, galleries, historical sites etc. They did their homework, asked the right questions and had an amazing trip. We don't have "Resort Fees" like many of our competitors, but do charge ala carte for internet and parking. If you don't use, you don't pay, simple, and allows us to keep our prices affordable. Glad they had fun, we'll look forward to seeing them on our "return guest list" soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Let me start by saying this place is great. The reception desk people are also the best. I have stayed here several times when on the Big Island. The resort is just a walk away from shops and restaurants.

The reason I am giving 3 stars is their internet connectivity and poor service at the bar/restaurant. First on the internet don't expect blazing speed and you can expect down time. The weekly charge is $40.00 and is not even worth $10.00. There were times when I could have manually drawn the screen faster than it was getting displayed on my laptop.

If you don't need the internet then this is the best place to stay in Kona. If you do then find alternatives for internet connectivity.

The bar has great food but getting waited on is awful. It use to be the place to eat when staying here but now the service has declined to a point where I now go elsewhere for my meals.

Room Tip: Try to get a partial or full ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, sorry to hear this valued return guest had issues with the internet connectivity as well as some service issues at the bar. Every so often the internet provider we contract has their own issues, sorry that it was troublesome. Also working to ensure our staff at the bar are prompt and attentive, we want to ensure all who come to enjoy are served in a timely manner. We'll make it up to them on their next return visit, and hopefully redeem ourselves again. We want to ensure all have a perfect stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is not the most comfortable hotel we've been in and it needs repair. It is a very old hotel. The bar area has been refurbished and is quite appealing with great bartenders. The consierge, I have a problem with. We told her we were interested in taking a helicopter around the island. She immediately booked us on one without showing us all the options and telling us a price. It was over $1000. Very bumpy. I would have preferred Blue Mountain. This was Paradise. The maids were all very friendly. My husband broke the toilet seat and they were there immediately to repair it. We had a corner room with a huge patio and awesome views of the ocean.

Room Tip: Get a corner room. You can't beat that view! Go see the Seahorse Farm located by the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, hard to read this one, I guess you have to read between the lines. Yes, we're not the newest kid on the block, nor do we claim to be. We do strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds, as well as have friendly, helpful staff. we do have the best location for the best value in Kona, all ocean front. Disappointing to know they couldn't work out their differences with the activity booking agent. I'm wondering if they did their homework regarding tours and activities prior to? If you're not happy at time of booking, by all means speak up. Both helicopter companies they mentioned are extremely reputable, bumpy ride would have been felt on both... Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the resort was great. the location and lounge were great,but the caulking around the tub was moldy,the paint was peeling of the walls, and there was soap or salt scum all over the shower. also there was a spider web in the corner of the room. also, housekeeping threw away the 2 lays that i had bought for my girlfriend the day before.
willing to bet the beds are at least ten years old.......very stiff
changed rooms and still the same, and it was prepaid so i felt like i just better take it and enjoy my vacation.

Room Tip: try another hotel for this price!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, sounds like we missed the mark with this guest and their expectations. Their comments are a concern, and we take all comments seriously. I've send them a personal message to determine the room they occupied so I can investigate personally and have the concerns rectified. Sorry we let them down, it's not the norm, and we'll get to the bottom if it with their help. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Royal Kona resort provided a nice local place for us during our stay on the Big Island. It is close to local shopping, restaurants, and entertainment.

The poolside and bar areas were open and spacious. Great views of the ocean crashing on the rocks right below the hotel. Service was great in the bar area, but we had a poor experience with the restaurant buffet for breakfast. It was quite expensive, and had a limited amount of offerings. I would bypass this there.

There is a small sand beach, and steps to the ocean hidden off around the corner of the second tower. We didn't discover this until our last day.

Expect to pay for parking, and realize that the main building has better rooms and updated amenities. We stayed in the older tower, and found the beds to be very uncomfortable, and the rooms definitely need updating.

For the price, I can't complain, but I wish our party would of spent a bit more and booked in the newer part of the hotel.

I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to see a solid review from this Top Contributor. Although our resort is not the newest kid on the block, we do strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds. Sorry to know they found the beds uncomfortable, I've sent a personal message to determine where they stayed to rectify this. Glad overall they enjoyed their stay, and will come back again, we'll keep them on the radar for next time. Remember, do your homework, plan, ask questions wherever you stay, and you should never have any surprises. Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.