We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is located at an excellent spot, with many shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Parking is relatively inexpensive ($10 per day), WiFi costs $40 per week (one device). The rooms are big and clean, with a flatscreen tv and fridge, most have a nice ocean view, and all have a great balcony. The hotel's facilities are somewhat basic (as are the rooms), i.e. no filled mini bar or room service, but this does not matter as all things you want are so closeby. Booking tours can be done from the concierge desk though. Shuttle service from the city center to the Sheraton 6 miles south only cots $2 per transfer (not very frequent, but convenient if you want to rent a car that can be picked up at the Sheraton Hertz office). Don the Beachcomber restaurant had a 3-course-dinner for 2 offer for only $75 incl. bottle of house wine. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to hear these well traveled guests had a great time, and we met and exceeded their expectations. With the best location, views, staff, etc. they were able to enjoy the resort that offers the best value in Kona. We strive to provide a clean and well maintained resort for our guests to enjoy. Don't forget to watch for dolphins in the bay, and turtles in our lagoon too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    721
    362
    184
    123
See reviews for
306
894
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Royal Kona Resort. The room was ocean front and a beautiful view. To say that the hotel is dated is somewhat true, but it appeared more "weather beaten" as the interior of the Bay Tower is open to the elements and that was a large part of its charm. The hotel front desk staff, the bar staff and the cleaning staff all couldn't have been nicer. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless you like loud music, avoid the north side of the Bay Tower. We moved. Also, buy your coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha TA family, goes to show, we're achieving our goal of providing a clean, well maintained resort for our guests to enjoy. It's great to know they truly enjoyed the charm, great service and amazing views we offer. Please make sure to do your homework, and you too will have an amazing holiday. So glad they shared, and had a couple great tips too! Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved the ocean front location and being within walking distance to everything. Rooms are somewhat dated but very good value for the cost. Great happy hour at the ocean front bar. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ocean view room worth the slight extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA readers, here is another example of a guest who's done their homework, and had a wonderful time, all expectations met or exceeded. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with wonderful memories. having a comfortable hotel to come back to, after a day of exploring the volcano, snorkeling, golf, deep sea fishing, or hundreds of other activities is important. We strive to provide clean well maintained rooms, beautiful grounds, and kind caring staff to all our guests. Reach out if you are on the fence, we'll help you make the right choice. Warmest Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Have now stayed in all three towers of the Royal Kona and all are nice. We have had an ocean view each time. Easy access to all kinds of restaurants and shopping. Can walk to an abundance of things to do. Nice space in room, wet bar with mini fridge, lanai and a luau and spa on the premises. The beds are not the most comfortable I have slept in but not the worst either. Stayed here three times and will probably stay here next time we come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, another great review from a valued, return guest, a well traveled guest at that. We're not the newest kid on the block, but what we do offer is the best value for the best location in Kona. With that, you'll get a great night sleep, listening to the waves crash on the shore, beautiful sunsets, complimentary dolphin watching daily (times and frequency may vary, based on the dolphin's schedules) and great food and beverage too. Not to mention a kind, caring staff, that their only goal is to ensure you have a great stay. Reach out prior to travel if you're on the fence, we'll assure you have a fantastic time. Much Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you want a luxury resort, this is not the place to be. We stayed at this resort due for a couple of reasons. 1. It is in the middle of town and allows you to walk to restaurants, shops. 2. There were few, if any, rooms available in some of the other resorts during the New Years holiday so we decided to give it a go. We were in the main tower of the hotel with one of the prime corner ocean view rooms. The location of the room is wonderful & the balcony very nice & large. The room could have been absolutely perfect if it had been decorated nicer. Everything looks old and tired--cosmetic upgrades are called for here. The towels were very tiny--had to request additional ones as they only left 2 bath towels in the room, serious cost cutting going on here. The restaurant is only open a few nights a week & even closed on New Years Eve??? The lobby bar is great & if you get one of the plum seats makes for a fabulous sunset view. However, the hotel was very good about allowing a late check out for a nominal fee--great when your flight does not leave until midnight.

Room Tip: Main building with the corner rooms overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, I'm glad they chose to stay with us over the holidays. In Hawaii, it's peak season from about December 21-March, so if you're planning a vacation during that time, I recommend booking early! Then, reach out, contact us, (or wherever you plan to stay) and make a connection, especially if you have specific needs or requests. The earlier we hear of them, the better chance we have of getting it right! It's our goal to ensure all of our guest enjoy, and go home happy, with amazing memories as these did. Much Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

as a vegan traveler - Lava Java do good vegan meals on the beach front. The Royal Kona is a very big hotel, reception staff always helpful but you can wait a while when its busy. the location is in a prime spot. a small man made beach ideal for snorkelling & swimming with the fish but little space so gets pretty full. ask for a sunny balcony as mine was in the shade all day - also the hotel is in 2 parts so you can be in a block over the other side of the main building. lifts to all floors & rooms big & spacious. plenty of restaurants in the area so never ate in hotel. plenty of activities & pick ups from this hotel & Expedia Maggie Clebsch is great on the tour desk. she is so helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the sun - its a very dark balcony if not. most rooms you can see the sea even if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to know these guests found the resort perfect for them. they enjoyed all the wonderful things we boast about, location, views, staff, and our cool private lagoon. We strive to provide our guests with clean well maintained rooms, and grounds that are impeccably kept. We too can cater to our vegan friends, as well as those that are gluten intolerant, and the carnivore too. Just inquire, ask your server or reach out to us in advance so we can take good care of our dietary needs. Glad they enjoyed Kona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of the action, this place is great. The view was nice of the ocean. The layout of the room is perfect with the kitchen and bedroom perfect sizes. Room moderately clean. Staff very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, another short, sweet and to the point happy guest. Out location is perfect, and we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Please make sure wherever you stay to do a little leg work, as questions and reach out. It's our goal to provide our guest with wonderful memories of heir Hawaiian vacation. Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.