We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic "old style" hawaiian hotel and hospitality, fab views & location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic "old style" hawaiian hotel and hospitality, fab views & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A small group of us stayed at Royal Kona over new year and had a wonderful holiday. First impressions the hotel looks caught in a "time warp" - original 1967s. So this is not for those wanting a ritzy, refurbished hotel. However the front desk staff were always very helpful and tried their best at all times to look after us, with a smile and aloha! The location is only 2 mins from town, their is a very helpful expedia tour team always ready to help plan activities. The food at the hotel is much better than many of the local restaurants and good value. The bar staff were a big let down and didnt show the same level of service as the front desk team.
The Louau was great fun and suitable for the whole family. The rooms were large and clean. The bathrooms were tied but practical. The views are extraordinary from the ocean view rooms, the pool, restaurant and bar. Overall very good value for money hotel if you are happy with the furnishings (original 1967 Hawaiian)!

Room Tip: TIp avoid the top floor as the aircon unit on the roof is very noisy and vibrates down the wall into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to hear this group of visitors from Down Under had a great time. I'm a but concerned that the felt the bar staff let them down, as they usually score very high marks in service and food and beverage quality. As a tip when travelling, if there is ever a lax in service or excellence, and you are not fully satisfied, please bring it to managements attention, I can assure you, we want to hear about it asap, rather then when you go home, we want to make things better immediately, so you can fully enjoy your stay. Much mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    719
    362
    183
    123
See reviews for
305
891
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've stayed at the Royal Kona every two years for the last decade. It is in a perfect location to take night strolls and enjoy some great breakfast restaurants. The grounds are very well kept, but our room could have had a little more TLC. If they would have taken a remodel of our room a little further, it would have made all the difference. Rooms we've had in the past have a granite countertop to place some of our odds and ends. This room was barren. Also, the hot water was scolding. It was impossible to control. Overall, we still love the Royal Kona because of all the memories there, but would love some simple improvements to make the hotel what it should be...paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to see that another one of our many return guests enjoyed their stay. We strive to provide a clean and well maintained resort, and pride ourselves on offering the best value for location in Kona, not to mention the great staff, food and beverage, views etc. I encourage all readers to reach out and contact me direct when visiting, so we can ensure we provide the needed TLC to all of our valued guests. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

IT is truly a tacky, tacky tourist resort hotel. It reminds me of a old cruise ship that ran a ground. You get the same over priced, fast flung food + an old tired room (though a great ocean view) and yes, the same canned tourist events with paid Hawaiian dancer that attempt to show the audience a culture that was sold or stolen (it depends on the story teller) decades ago. We arrived here because we changed plans, arrived late and found our other desirable hotels full. It is a port in the storm but only if you have to find a place in a hurry - conditionally recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha TA family, interesting review, hard to believe this customer didn't find us to be the best value for the best location in town. Please make sure you do your homework prior to booking. Not sure why this well traveled guest didn't do theirs, but to each his own, and we appreciate them sharing their experience. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from vacation, we knew from previous reviews the resort was in need of upgrading, but the price was right. We had a Corner King and the view we had everyday was so spectacular it was worth the stay. Michelle (from Oregon) checked us in, she was so friendly and informative, she really kick started our ALOHA welcome and spirit. Our only real complaint would be the bed comforter was clean but lumpy and 2 packs of coffee would be nice for the lazy morning wakeup enjoying the view. There was no computer access so we had to use an internet cafe, we didn't take our laptop so WiFi was of no use to us. The ocean view from the the bar and live music each night was very romantic. Yes, we would stay again, just know it isn't a first class resort.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the corner rooms facing the ocean and Kona, we say pods of dolphins, whales and a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to know these guests were truly happy and satisfied. They have a couple of great tips too! Just remember to do your homework, and read between the lines on the majority. As I stress, our goal is to keep our resort affordable, while we're not the newest kid on the block, we continue to provide our guests with clean and well maintained guest rooms and grounds. Much mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

at first I thought"pity no beach" The pool was very nice and a small but lovely natural lagoon was tucked away down one side The view from the bar area in the evening at sunset was spectacular. During the day I saw dolphins leaping in the water(as many as 4 at once) and whales close to shore too. Staff in this area were very good and attentive. My room was very large and the bed was very comfortable (unlike Bali where most beds I had were as hard as a brick!) Lovely balcony overlooking gardens and pool and ocean. So lovely and quiet and peaceful. Cant understand the complaints about it being shabby. Of course I saw it was showing its age a bit but nothing to complain about. The spaciousness and the coolness come from an age when bigger was better! All in all loved it . Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby too.

Room Tip: Ask for morning sun. It is so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, so nice to hear these guest found just what they were looking for here with us. Glad they loved the comfortable rooms and bed, and watching the dolphins play in the bay. As mentioned, it's true we're not the newest kid on the block, but we work hard to ensure we offer a clean and well maintained product for all to enjoy, while maintaining the best location for value in Kona, glad these friends from Down Under had such a lovely time, hopefully we'll see them again soon. mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We planned to stay here for 4 days but left after 1 day, feeling that this is no way to spend a vacation. We splurged and got a corner king and the view is wonderful. But if you a child with you, there is absolutely nothing to do at this hotel. there is no swimming beach, the pool is dinky and they say that they have a "lagoon" for snorkeling and for kids. The "lagoon" is nothing but a shallow rocky little area with a sad little sandy area nearby, 4 sad chaise lounges and no shade. The bar is kind of retro/kitsch fun for an hour. but this hotel only makes sense if you have no kids with you and you get an amazing deal. it is not cheap enough to be this dumpy. Room was okay, the ac was so loud we had to turn it off.

Room Tip: california king is definitely a great view and alii tower seems the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, interesting review. FYI, our private swimming lagoon is just that. It's a wonderful, shallow protected lagoon, full of tropical fish, eels, crabs, and even the occasional Honu (green see turtle). There are several lounge chairs in the sandy sunning area, and two large umbrellas, not sure why they couldn't notice them? Now it's not for "Diver Dan" who wants to explore the uncharted reefs and wrecks of the deep pacific, he'll be very disappointed, it's 5 feet deep at high tide and 4 feet at low. Perfect for the novice swimmer/snorkeler. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms need major renovations. Staff left a lot to be desired. Bar closed super early and you could tell the staff didn't care much for tips. Gave the impression they could care less you were there. The hotel has a beautiful view but I've been all over and can't say that this resort was anything more than a two-star. Food was terrible - and pricey! I hate leaving poor reviews but you should consider staying somewhere else if you are looking for a decent meal, a nicer room and a hotel with better service. Rooms are also extremely noisy. Maid service was great though!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, yes, it would be great to be completely renovated, but that's not in our plan for the near future. we do however continually maintain our guest rooms and facility, to ensure we provide clean, and well maintained rooms and facilities overall. Our bar closes at 10pm, Sunday through Thursday, and till 11pm on Friday and Saturday. Kona is a sleepy little town, and pretty much everything shuts down early. There are a couple places that stay open later on the weekend, FYI. As for food, those who dine with us regularly, know we offer great food and beverage, but like anything, sometimes we don't meet everyone's expectations. Glad they enjoyed our maid services! mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.