We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 out of our 7 day vacation. The good thing about it is the location, just a short walk to Ali'i drive. The room was clean and comfortable. The maid service was very prompt and accommodating to our schedule. The view was nice from our balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The grounds were kept clean. The bar was great for sunsets and the wait staff was attentive.The bad thing was the noise from the luaus and weddings held next to the pool. You could also hear the guests on either side of you when they were on their balconies, even though our door was shut. My other complaint is the lack of customer service from the front desk. Example: We were awakened at 5:30 a.m. by a phone call from the front desk accusing us of smoking in our room. We do not smoke! as we explained to them. No apology. Nothing, (the smokers happened to be next door. we could smell the smoke) The hotel is average. If you are looking for some quiet time and customer service try another hotel.

Room Tip: If you opt for an ocean view on the pool side be willing to sacrifice any peace at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha TA family, here we have another example of our guests loving the location, but was let down by a few experiences. We strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort for our budget minded travelers. Sometimes we miss the mark on certain guest expectations, and that's truly disappointing. Reviews like this point out where we fall short, but allow us to learn from so we can move onward and upward in improving ourselves. Mahalo and Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    710
    360
    180
    123
See reviews for
302
882
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Visited 11/19/12 - 11/23/12. Good location, easy walk into town. The hotel is older and looks dated but was clean. The staff is friendly. The clientele mostly seems to be senior citizens who have been returning here for years. The beds are only inner spring, no pillow top so for me very uncomfortable. The bathroom is not vented (personal pet peeve), not well stocked with towels unless requested, & they do not provide conditioner (pet peeve again). The pool is quite small, there is no hot tub & the pool towels are the size of bath towels. Don's Mai Tai Bar truly does have the best Mai Tais (try the sampler). The drawback is the luau. While it is nice to be able to watch the show for free from poolside or from our balcony, it is incredibly LOUD. It could be heard through our closed door every night until 10pm because once the luau ended, practice began. A gentleman we met who had stayed here 2 weeks is now ready to never attend/hear another luau again after hearing this one so often. It only took us 3 nights and we were glad to be leaving. Overall, I would not plan to stay here again, I prefer a little more luxury and amenities on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha TA family, its nice to hear that they loved our location, I'm hoping they had a wonderful time exploring the amazing Big Island of Hawaii. Sometimes we don't meet expectations of our guests as in this example. Readers remember, we're a solid 3 star resort with many (not all) of the top amenities as the 4 star properties offer. Our goal is to provide a clean and well maintained resort with the best value for best location in Kona. I'd welcome them back with open arms, but seems as if they'll choose another resort and are willing to pay the higher prices required. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My sister and I visited the Royal Kona Resort for 10 days from Nov 22 to Dec 2. We have been to over 10 different hotels in various tropical locations and this is our favourite so far. If you are looking for a fancy hotel you will want to look somewhere else. If you are looking for a nice hotel with a great atmosphere, nice surroundings, friendly staff and no faults in our opinion than this is your place. We are already planning our return.

The location can’t be beat as it is on Ali'i drive and walking distance to everything. The hotel is very clean and has a wonderful Hawaiian atmosphere. Our room was perfect, clean and had a fantastic view of the ocean.

Rooms are very sound proof and we couldn't hear any noises from other rooms. We could only hear the ocean and listening to the waves crash against the rocks at nice is a lovely way to fall asleep.

Staff is very friendly and always willing to help you out. The people at the activity desk were exceptionally helpful in answering any questions. She even goggled something for us to make sure she gave us the right answer. She is a very sweet lady and we benefited from her help.

Parking is $10 a day but definitely worth it. There were always lots of spaces to park in and it was handy having the vehicle so close. Wireless is also $10 a day which we did not purchase. Instead we bought ourselves a coffee from Java on the Rocks a few steps away and used their wireless a few times to save money.

I would definately reccomend this hotel and am planning to visit again! We stayed in the Ali'i tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, sounds like we've got ourselves another set of return guest on our hands. They pretty much nailed it, great location, friendly staff, clean and well maintained rooms on the best location in Kona. Yes, there are many options on island, please do your homework, research what's right for you, and you too will have a wonderful stay, mucho aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We travel quite a bit since the kids have left the nest and so we have stayed in many hotels, resorts, and dive boats. This hotel makes every effort to make sure you are happy. The first night we were here, the bar noise floated into our room until about 2am. The hotel moved us the next day and they were very gracious and understanding. They also sent us a bottle of cider to our room to celebrate our 39th anniversary!

Although some say the age of the hotel bothers them, the age doesn't take away from the location and the great service. As long as a building is kept in good repair, the age shouldn't be an issue.

We also like how close the hotel is from the airport. After flying for 7 hours, it's nice to unpack and start having fun right away!

Room Tip: If you want to spend time in the pool, ask for the building nearest the pool. However, the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, nice to see another happy guest. At times, our neighbors music does drift onto our property on the weekends, but usually not a problem, sorry it was an inconvenience, but the guest was smart, talked to the front desk, and was happily relocated, and was able to enjoy their stay on Kona.. Do your homework, and you'll have a wonderful vacation too, much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in September and could not really fault this hotel. The location was great, with an amazing sea view from our room, free parking is available on a first come first served basis but we always found a spot no problem, there is also extra paid parking at only $10 per day. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay, the staff were helpful and courteous.
It may lack some of the amenities of the big 5 star resorts, but at the fraction of the cost and in a much better location on the edge of the lovely Kona town itself (the Hilton would have cost us over 4x as much and is stuck out in the middle of nowhere) it really is fantastic value for money and there is so much to see and do on big island the hotel has anything you need.
I cannot comment on the eateries at the resort as the location meant that there were so many options we never had chance.
If I return to big island in the future it would take a pretty special deal to make me pick a different hotel. We had a great stay at the royal Kona and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA crew, it's reassuring to read from a well traveled guest that they enjoyed their stay. All expectations met, and they truly had a great time. It's too bad they didn't have time to enjoy our nightly Happy Hour Don's Mai Tai Bar, watching the spinner dolphins play in the bay at sunset. Another complimentary amenity many guest take advantage of, our "complimentary dolphin show" LOL a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the Lagoon tower at the Royal Kona Resort for 6 nights and were upgraded to an ocean front room (from ocean view) by sheer kindness of the check in staff. Like most of the reviews note, the hotel rooms are in need of some TLC - furniture and bathroom were a little worn/dated. However, the view was wonderful! We saw dolphins and whales from our balcony and listened to waves crashing below (which is very calming).

The towels and bedding were all clean (and white). The carpet has seen better days. The shower pressure wasn't great (but this is a common complaint I have in many hotels). The room had a safe, flat screen tv, and a mini fridge. All in all, the room was average but most people don't go to Hawaii for the hotel rooms.

Yes, there is a luau 4 nights a week and it can be heard everywhere, but I found it more festive/in the spirit of Hawaii. It ends somewhere between 9 and 10pm. Depending on your room location you might be able to watch the entertainment for free from your balcony.

The main draw of the hotel is the location. It's an easy walk to any number of restaurants and shops. It's also a short drive to the main Hwy to visit any number of beaches. Parking is $10/night, however we were able to find free parking 4/6 nights without effort and just as close as the parking lot. The 2 nights we weren't able to find parking we paid for individually. We did not pay the $16 ea for breakfast and opted to eat at Bongo Ben's just down the street.

The hotel has a laundry room ($1.50 for washer, $1.25 for dryer) which is very handy if you are packing lightly.

Is this a 5 star luxury resort? Nope. Was it in line for what you pay for with a good location? You bet. Would we stay there again? Yup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA Family, it's great to see that we met and even exceeded these happy travelers expectations. We sincerely strive to provide a clean well maintained resort, offering the best value for the best location in Kona. Come to Hawaii Island, enjoy the splendor and spectacular place we call home. Look forward to seeing you, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. Located at the edge of town, it was a very short walk to the area shops and restaurants. The rooms are definitely dated, and could use a little redecorating, but as a crash pad, and for the beautiful view of the Kona harbor from our lanai, it can't be beat. The lanais are not as private as we would like, but were private enough to sit and enjoy a cocktail and the sunset. We had a coffee maker and small refrigerator, so were able to make small meals for breakfast. The price was modest compared to most other area resorts, and for the amount we paid, it was a downright bargain. The 'Don, The Beachcomber' restaurant is a bit upscale for the hotel premises, but the food is good, if a little pricey. There were plenty of other restaurants to choose from within very easy walking distance- from coffee houses, to thai and seafood or burger joints and sandwich shops. . I would definitely go back again, and would not hesitate to recommend this resort-hotel to anyone who wants to visit Kona on a budget.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the harbor- the view was gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, this well traveled guest has shown us how to plan, and receive a great vacation. They did their leg work, found what fits their needs, and we met and exceeded their expectations. I'm glad they enjoyed everything we strive to provide in a great stay. One note, Don The Beachcomber restaurant is truly not upscale, very casual at that. There is great ambiance in the evening when the sun is setting over the water, tiki torches lit, and palm trees swaying in the breeze! Come check us out like they did, and have a wonderful vacation too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.