We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Durham NC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“best value in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was built in 1968 when there was no airport on the west side of the island. It's classic like the Ilikai in Oahu. The place is a little worn, but you can't beat the price and the location and the facilities. Walk down the street to Huggo's for good breakfasts. And the best prices on mac nuts and kona coffee, and I mean the best prices, are from an 83 year old woman in a van right in front of Huggo's. We'd certainly stay at the Royal Kona again!

Room Tip: ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA crew, this well traveled guest nailed it short and sweet, we're definitely the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. Do your homework, ask, check around, call. We're a moderate resort, with great views,staff, food and beverage. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We decided to splurge and get the corner king ocean view room. It was a great view and we could see the ocean and the lagoon but this was the best part of the stay.
Once we arrived the TV remote wouldn't work. We'd just had a long drive from Volcano and I just wanted to watch TV then have a shower. Maintenance came and replaced it. After I'd relaxed with the TV a bit I went to have a shower and the shower head broke when the water was turned on. Back down to reception asking to be moved as the room was clearly in need of repair and who knew what was going to break next. They advised they had no other corner kings available and would send maintenance again, they then offered to refund our parking cost for the inconvenience which was appreciated, (was $20.) From reading other reviews we were clearly in the "crappy" tower but paid the same rate as the others.
The luau is very, very loud if you aren't attending or trying to get an early night sleep. It was on both nights we stayed and I was grateful I hadn't booked an early flight out when we were leaving.
The bar area was really nice looking out over the ocean crashing over the rocks. Would have to get there early to secure an ocean front seat. The food at the bar was tasty and drinks strong (stronger out of happy hour) - was also well priced.
We stayed some amazing places in Hawaii, and this was the highest cost per night of all of them. In comparison to all the other resorts/hotels/B&B it offered the least value for money and I feel we overpaid for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTee180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family! Best comment to share with this review is make sure you do your homework, check around, call, ask questions before you travel. Our goal is to provide a clean and well maintained resort for the best value for the best location in Kona. I'm glad they enjoyed the views, and the great food and libation we offer, and am working with them to rectify the discrepancies they encountered in their room. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

For what you pay it is a great hotel. The bar does great mai tais and they are awesome value during happy hour. The bar staff are all really friendly.

The hotel has everything you need and although the staff (excl bar staff) aren't that friendly or helpful, it is still a great place and central to everything in Kona. It has a great view and the sunsets are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattSmith1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA viewers, this guest from Down Under appears to have had a great holiday. We met and in some cases met their expectations. I'm glad they were able to enjoy the resort, the food and beverages at Don's Mai Tai Bar, the best bar in Kona for food libation, dolphin and sunset watching hands down. Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
304 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had an ocean-facing junior suite and a package deal. Right on the ocean and walkable to the main shopping area, both great points. However, our room badly needed new furniture and a facelift. Bath towels were thin and strictly one-to-a-person. Soap and shampoo were provided, no lotion. And the luau at the hotel is very loud until 10 pm, 4 nights a week. Small pool and sunning area seemed to be sufficient; there's also a salt water lagoon to splash in but we didn't try it; drove to a beach instead. They charge extra for parking and wifi, and the wifi charge is per device, not per room, so buyer beware. All in all, there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the luau noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the resort is nice and professional. grounds are well kept.nice open lobby and bar area.pools looked ok. restaurant was large but ok.
no real beach but does have its own lagoon which was a plus, waves would crash in but the rocks blocked and calmed them down.nice small sandy area and nice for minor snorkeling.
they have there own luau but we didn't do that one.good location to all the shops and restaurants. no beaches close by,you had to drive.
but i was dissatisfied with rooms they are some what old, the worn carpet on the floors was raggedy looking and kinda yucky.bathroom was ok. extra sink and a fridge in room was good,bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: ocean views are pricer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townshipplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Royal Kona Resort. I was originally booked at the Keahou Beach, but that hotel closed and I was re-booked at the Royal Kona. I'm so glad I was. The resort is the first resort on the south end of Ali'i Drive where all the shops and restaurants are. So just a short walk and you are in the middle of all the bustle of tourism. I have never stayed at a "resort" before so I did not know what to expect. I arrived at 12:30 so my room was not ready. I was able to park (it costs $10 per day for parking) and take a walk up the road to see what Kona had to offer. I also spent some time just sitting in the lobby enjoying the ocean breeze. I checked back at the desk at 2:45 and the room was still being cleaned. When I came back at 3, my room was ready and the guy said they had upgraded me to an ocean front room due to the delay. Well, check-in time is really 3 so I was very impressed with this. My room was in the Lagoon Tower and the view was wonderful. Palm trees, waves crashing against the rocks and sparkling blue water. The resort does host a luau several nights a week so you do get the noise from that, but it's over in the early evening and does not interrupt your sleep. In fact, I did not notice any noise other than the waves from my room. The resort has a pool and private salt water lagoon. There is a bar and restaurant and a spa. I did eat one meal at the bar and nothing is better than sitting outside and seeing dolphins playing while eating. The hotel could use some updating. The carpets were worn and the bathroom was quite small. The tub had hardly any storage area for anything more than a bar of soap. But everyone was very friendly and you were greeted with a smile. I did not eat breakfast as it was $16 and there were plenty of places in town where you could find a cheaper meal. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for it's location and service!

Room Tip: Ocean front are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA reviewers, its great to see we were able to win over a guest who is a seasoned traveler, and a very frequent visitor of one of our competitors who met a sad fate. I'm pleased to know they truly had a great stay. They have great comments and tips, so be sure to read their review thoroughly. We'll be looking forward to seeing these guest again and again in the future. Much Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Before staying here, I read several reviews and was left with the impression that this was not that great of a resort. I was pleased to experience something different. I stayed here for 3 nights in a corner king ocean front room. The entire resort could use some TLC, but overall it was a good resort to stay at and I will do so again in the future. The room was comfortable and provided an excellent ocean view with a large lanai. It is located extremely close to downtown Kona and all of the major restaurants which made strolling and shopping convenient.
Give this resort a try!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Alii Tower on the north side of the building. This way you have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, this seasoned traveler said it all. We offer our clientele truly the best value for the best location in Kona. Its true, we're not the newest kid on the block, but we strive to provide a clean and well maintained resort. Can't beat our prices, and the views, service, food and beverages are some of the best in Kona! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing