We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Kona Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great walking location to restaurants, shops and harbor. We were upgraded to a ocean front room with 2 queen beds with an outstanding balcony view. The front desk staff was very helpful and efficient and everyone was exceptionally friendly .The $10.00 a days parking was worth the secure parking lot and very close to hotel entrance. The decor of the hotel is old Hawaiian style which we like. On the down side the bathroom could of been updated and the $16.00 breakfast was not worth the money but the view from the restaurant is to die for. The Mai Tai Bar in the hotel had great food and service. Don the beachcomber restaurant the food was excellent better Prime Rib than the House of Prime Rib in San Francisco BUT the service was TERRIBLE Long wait for service and other people walked out because of bad service, Would not recommend to anyone.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone but definitely NOT Don the Beachcomber restaurant.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms and the ocean front with the wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha TA family, it's a shame to see such a mixed review, loved some, and didn't some. In regards to the great prime rib and terrible service at Don The Beachcomber, yes the food is great, and it's truly unfortunate we missed the mark on the service aspect, definitely not the norm. I'm also sorry to know they didn't feel the value was there for the price paid on the buffet breakfast. If you research the competition, we're definitely fairly priced for the quality and variety offered. Glad they reviewed us though, good and bad, only challenge us to do a better job, and that's our goal. Warmest Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    662
    339
    171
    118
See reviews for
278
806
59
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For the 2nd year in a row we have stayed at the Royal Kona and have nothing but good to say. We were lucky enough to get an early check in after a long flight from Australia. The first night we received a welcome box of chocolates from Jay the sales director welcoming us back which was a lovely surprise. Jay helped us to arrange our return visit and was nothing short of fantastic so thanks Jay, wish we could have met you, maybe next time as we will definitely return!! Our room in the Alii tower was clean and comfortable. We had an ocean front room and were lucky enough to see dolphins one morning from our balcony. The hotel is in an amazing spot, walking distance from everything. You must go to Bubba Gumps, we loved it!!! You do have to pay for parking at the internet. I paid for the internet in the room and it was very quick, we were using Skype to keep in contact with my hubby who was not travelling with us and had no issues. We love this hotel and cannot wait to return!! Mahalo to all at the Royal Kona for having us :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We come over for an annual golf outing every year from Maui. This is a no frills place on the water (no beach) with a little pool (also one for kids) and a bar, which is very pricey for what it is (our tab was over $400 for pupus and beer). Rooms are clean and very '70s. Baths could stand an update. Prices will keep getting higher as they are losing comp.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha TA viewers, nice to see another Kamaaina return and share. We truly value everyone's opinion, and continually strive to provide the best value for the best location in Kona. Please do your homework, call in advance, as questions to ensure you're choosing the best resort no matter where you stay in the world, we want all of our guests to have amazing and memorable stays, that's our goal. Mahalo Nui Loa, we'll look forward to Olindacats return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayedv15 nights. The first night, they put us in Bay Tower....it was ghetto. We paid for an ocean view room and our room overlooked the tennis courts and the highway. They moved us the next day ( night manager would do NOTHING!!). we had to wait to get in our room until 5:00 pm and then they charged us to "upgrade" to an ocean front. " Once in our room, service, views, and accommodations were great. We had to work to get the room we wanted and the first two days of our vacation were spent whining to the front desk. It just shouldn't be this difficult. I called the hotel directly to confirm thebtype of room but they did not comply with my request when we got here. Disappointed at first.....lost a day arguing with front desk.....then satisfied.

Room Tip: Don't accept an inferior room......they will try to give you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha TA family,
It's disappointing to know we missed the mark on arrival. FYI, I've attempted to reach these guest via personal message to straighten things out. Glad once we get them situated, they enjoyed every aspect of their stay. We strive to provide great service, and a clean and well maintained resort 100% of the time, sometimes we miss the mark, but try to recover as quick as possible, usually, and hopefully before a guest has to write a less than flattering review. We understand, and will make good with these guests, we want them to come back, and come back happy. Mahalo Nui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naalehu
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Royal Kona Resort is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The style is classic old Hawaii with awesome views and excellent service. The Luau is out of this world, some of the best Hawaiian food I've eaten! You can't beat the location, walking distance to popular restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, it's nice to see our Kamaaina friends from on island coming to stay and enjoy the "Big City" all the way from down south in Naalehu! They nailed it, great place for residents to come, stay, shop, eat, drink and unwind. We appreciate our Kamaaina guests, and do our best to take care of them, as well as all our other visitors from around the word. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks,UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in Royal Kona in October for a family wedding. Our first room was awful but we went to the front desk and were moved, it then went from a 3 star to a 4 star resort.
The day of the Wedding was perfect, the wedding was on a podium had the back drop of the sea but there was a cruise ship in, so if you would rather have an unobstructed view when the sunsets, you better check the cruise ships schedules.
The resort is on the coast but very little access to the beach, infact it only has a very small beach for such a large hotel. Nice pool area and the food was tasty although pricey breakfast $17. Wifi is charged per phone at $40 a day, they also charge guests for parking so you spend time looking for a free space which are limited.
The resort is lovely plenty to do, huge choice of shopping, restuarants and coffee shops. The island has so much to see and do I would highly recommend it.The volcanoe is a must, best seen from a boat not the helicopter ride. Turtles are on many beaches. The Cliff jump awesome from South Point and the arduous walk down to Waipio Valley takes an hour but well worth it.For a bit of culture go to Pu'uhonua O Honaunau very interesting and beautiful. Finally a kayak to Captain Cook monument is a must to see fish and dolphins. Great trip car hire essential.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, sounds like these guests had a wonderful time here at the resort and on the Big Island. They've offered some great tips, and actually nailed it, and did all the adventurous things I like to recommend when I'm asked what I like to do. As for the Cruise Ship schedule, that's a first, but good tip, the sun also sets in a different spot on the ocean, depending on the time of year, just FYI. I'm glad they enjoyed, we'll look forward to seeing them again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived Oct 15th and waited until 3 pm to ck in, however room wasn't ready until 4:15. Since we had been up since 2 am that was a bad start. We stayed in Rm 678 Lagoon tower-Ocean Front (Volcano Value Deal-$85/nt) which seemed like an excellent value. The room was adequate with a nice lanai and awesome view. Maid did great job. The surf was quite loud so although we like fresh air at night, we had to close the slider. The bathroom fan ran 24/7 so that was also noisy.

Was disappointed there was not a book in the room to explain services. Took laptop but never used it as didn't want to pay what I consider an astronomical fee for wifi. If I had really needed it I would have gone to McDonalds which seems silly in this electronic age. We were fortunate to find a parking place each day so didn't need to pay the $10 parking fee.

Used the pool twice and saw others enjoying the lagoon for swimming and snorkeling but we drove to other snorkeling spots. Watched part of the luau from the pool area. Didn't eat or drink anything at the hotel. There are many restaurants on Alii Drive as well as ABC store and Farmer's Market where we purchased 7 papayas for $2 and ate them for breakfast. The refrigerator in the room held our water and soda which we purchased at Costco on the way from the airport. Took a small soft sided bag to store some drinks when we were away from the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed out stay but there was something strange about the bed. Movement on one side would carry to the other side so woke me up in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha Ta crew, just a quick update, 678 is in our Bay Tower, and these lucky guests were upgraded to the Ocean Front complimentary! Checking on that noisy bathroom fan, but sorry, can't help the noise of the surf... :-) These guests also discovered the Farmers Market I talk about, just a short walk along Alii Drive, and used their fridge we provide to their advantage, $2 for a bunch of Hawaiian fresh papaya? what a score! As for internet, it is what it is at this point, I travel over 150 days a year on business, and the majority of the hotels I stay charge for internet and parking alike. Thank goodness we don't have a mandatory resort fee, which most Hawaiian chain hotels do! Great tips, satisfied customers, exactly what we strive to provide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.