We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Headed back again Dec 09” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Save
You added Kona Tiki Hotel to your Saves list
75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Headed back again Dec 09”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed here a couple years ago and had been thinking about returning the moment we left. We tried to book 7 months in advance for a trip last year, and it was too late. Booked. Went to the Caribbean instead. This time we booked a year in advance. All the rooms are right on the ocean, and we sat poolside every evening to watch the sunset, an occasional whale and surfers. Then I would put my fresh fish or Kilbi on the grill and sip cocktails. I know, awful. The breakfast is pretty simple-cerial and muffins, and the coffee is great. In winter the waves crash so loud out side your room it is surreal, but then you sleep like a baby. The rooms are old school modest and simple, but is one of my favorite hotels IN THE WORLD. I am not belittling anyones review, but I quietly pity those who can not exprerience the joy.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    112
    29
    6
    16
See reviews for
28
175
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The number one thing I look for in a place to stay is the cleanliness. This place was spotless. It's kinda funky, but it's also $85.00 per night. The "hosts" were so knowledgeable about things to do on the island and even encouraged us to borrow one of their ice chests and beach mats for our daily outings. During the evenings after dinner we sat by the pool and watched the sunset while other guests did the same. I'm wondering where else in Hawaii can you stay ON THE WATER with a view from every room for $85.00 a night??? We will return again, I am sure. By the way, I saw some bad reviews on the Kona Tiki about not getting their deposits back...Y'all need to check their website. Everything about the deposits are in black and white. No refunds up to 30 - 60 days of your arrival. They say it up front, people. Read the fine print.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Spent six nights in room 203 and would have happily stayed much longer.

The Kona Tiki is about value and they do it very well. Our second floor kitchenette with a double and a single bed and mother nature's air conditioning was very comfortable. The view from our lanai was fantastic and the sound of the surf to put us to sleep - it was all good. The parking is tight but presented no problems for us. True, the bathroom was a little small and they don't have an elevator but we're talking around $100/night here including some of the best sunsets you'll find anywhere.

The best part was the friendly atmosphere of the place. We made some new firends and shared some travel experiences as well as some pre-dinner goodies. We were happy guests!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Kona Tiki for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. We had a first floor room and our back door was less than 20 feet from the ocean. We left the windows open each night and enjoyed the sound of the waves and watching the waves in the morning as the sun came up. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was the best complementary breakfast we had during our trip. Most of the people staying at the Kona Tiki are retired, and stay for long periods of time (1 month). These longer term guests gave us great advice on things to see during breakfast. I could see how some people would see the mostly older clientele as a negative, but I really enjoyed it. The rooms are a little worn out, but they are clean. Overall, I think this hotel was an amazing value, and I really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This was our second visit to Kona Tiki, and we were pleased to see that there had been some renovations to the rooms since our last visit several years ago.

We're divers, and our initial visit in 1999 was the result of a recommendation from the dive operator. Now we do what we can get a room there when we're headed to the Big Island. In fact, we booked this year's visit (coming in March, '09) as we were getting ready to leave in March, '08.

Without rehashing everything everyone else has raved about - and some of the concerns (i.e. parking), we can't wait to get back. Kona Tiki is basic, comfortable, convenient to everything, and for the cost, truly a gem on the Big Island.

  • Liked — Location, cost, atmosphere
  • Disliked — parking, no credit cards
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel the first night on Big Island. We would have liked to stay for longer, but it was booked out. We had a tidy room with a small kitchen. The room looked out on the ocean. We could even see the fish swim in the water! The breakfast was really nice, a lot of it was home cooked. We loved our stay at this hotel and if we ever come back to Big Island, we'll make sure we make reservations, so we can stay here for longer.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I booked this hotel after reading many of the negative feedback and yet, I had very high hopes. I was so excited about staying feet from the crashing waves. And that part was perfect, the waves were right there. Unfortunately, you couldn't see them through the window that was colored for privacy seeing as how we were on the first floor and everyone walks right past our lani. It may have been better on the other 2 floors. Just as importantly, they were hard to hear over the noise from the road.

Privacy was an issue. The walls were paper thin. I wanted to hear the crashing waves not the people outside our room. It was so bad my husband over heard a couple at the front desk (who had made a $700 deposit, but there was no record of them having a reservation) while brushing his teethi in the bathroom!!!

Breakfast was typical fresh fruit and toast. Nothing to exciting. Parking was exciting. Luckily we had a small Jeep. I am not sure how you would get a larger vehicle in and out of there. Although, a walk, you can get to the tourist area by foot. If you don't mind walking on the side of the road.

There are other hotels in the area just as close to the beach. I would recomend venturing somewhere else.

  • Liked — Being so close to the Ocean
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Address: 75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Tiki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.