We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Save
You added Kona Tiki Hotel to your Saves list
75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, but only because it was booked. We stayed here in 2006 and were very disappointed we couldn't stay longer. I love this small little gem in Kona! The tropical fruit and baked goods are excellent and early coffee is always appreciated. We love sitting by the pool watching the waves roll in and sometimes spill over into the pool. Sunset watching poolside is a must see! I would come to the Big Island just to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    111
    29
    6
    16
See reviews for
28
175
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Kona Tiki in April of 2012, even though they don't have air conditioning, coffee pot, microwave, etc., for the price you can not go wrong. My room was very clean, and also, we enjoyed a great continental breakfast each morning, lots of fruit, rolls, juice, coffee, etc. all you want. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone, the owners and patrons are very friendly, they try to make your stay great.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishram, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Tiki Dec15-22.This is the second time for us, first time was in 1995. It has not lost its charm. I do think they could lose the carpeting for tile? That is my only complaint if you could call it that. We will be back, Managers very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good in that they offered wonderful fruit & bagels along with coffee or tea. Great start to a great vacation. Thank you for sharing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This has been was the sixth time we have stayed at the Kona Tiki, but I had never entered a review until now.
We stayed here 12/27/12 to 01/03/13 in room 303.
Room was Large and bright with ceiling fan more than ample wardrobe and draw space, the kitchenette area has a sink and cupboards, large fridge, microwave and hotplates, medium size bathroom with shower, no hairdryer in provided in the room, but just ask the manager and one will be provided, large balcony with an unrestricted view out over the Ocean, no TV or Phone just the surf to listen to, it’s magic.
Good breakfast served daily down by the pool, (breads, fruits, juice and coffee).
The Kona Tiki is a twenty minute walking for the main area of Kailua-Kona, all room have the same unrestricted view out over the Ocean, the rooms on the third floor have the kitchenettes, there is onsite parking which is free.
It is so difficult to describe the location, to just say a perfect place in paradise does not do it justice; you have to be there to understand.
Will never stay anywhere else when on the Big Island, that is recommendation enough.

The rooms are kept clean by great staff, but the carpets are in urgent need of a steam clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwood, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love this hotel in Kona. It is marketed as "on the water" and it is! Only three floors of about 20 rooms, no elevator needed, clean with a lovely pool so close to the water that it is refreshed by the ocean from time to time. No TV or phone so even more perfect! A small property so going up to your room for a refreshment or snack is quick and easy. No need to walk blocks to your room as most large resorts. I want to live here and cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: The ground floor gives you a lovely outdoor space with lawn chairs under a palm tree but the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it was unimaginably wonderful. Older, but that was part of the charm. There are plenty places, If you desire a big, bustling, multi-story extravaganza with
a gym, spa, massage, etc.
We chose a ground floor room so we were right !! by the pounding surf in the little cove
next to the Hotel. It was romantic. There were many other romantic couples there,
so we chose well. Our friends went there right after we told them of our Adventure, so
if close, unique, and memorable is your desire, this place is it.
Great Breakfast and treats, wonderful family management, beautiful pool, and lots of
'Loaner' Gear for whatever you may wish to do.

Room Tip: If you wish for Surf Sounds, pick ground floor. If you wish for softer sounds, pick higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, and were generally happy with our stay. The location can't be beat -- you're right on the water, and from our 3rd floor lanai, we could see a large school of bright yellow tangs in the water below. There's a family of eels that lives in the sea wall outside the rooms, and they happily respond to food (we bought smelt for $2.50 at the local grocery store and had great fun feeding the eels). The pool is nice and relaxing.

The room is spacious with a nice kitchenette -- 2 burner stovetop, fridge, sink, all the dishes, pots and pans that you'll need. Vanessa, on the housekeeping staff is wonderful at cleaning and friendly and fun to talk to -- a real asset to the hotel.

The beds in our room were a problem. The room had a queen and a twin bed. Both mattresses were soft/lumpy and left us with back aches. By the 2nd night, we were trading off sleeping on the twin (which was somewhat more comfortable).

The hotel is managed by a rotating series of managers throughout the year. The gentleman managing the place during our stay was somewhat intense and unfriendly -- we constantly got the feeling of being watched to be sure that we weren't breaking any rules. We saw a family with 2 young girls who wanted to get one last swim during the 45 minutes before their checkout time being told that they couldn't get in the pool for 15 minutes because he had to clean it -- even though he could have easily been cleaning while these girls were playing in the shallow end. We were scolded for wanting to burn a candle on our unlit lanai while we ate dinner. I'm told that the manager working during my companion's previous stays was more welcoming and did more to foster a sense of community among guests.

There is a grill provided, but guests need to purchase their own fuel canisters. It's not a huge thing, but on previous stays, the hotel management provided fuel (as would be expected in a hotel like this).

Vanessa did a great job keeping the room clean. On her day off, whoever cleaned the room did a really poor job -- the bedsheets were just pulled up haphazardly and not tucked in at all, towels were sloppily hung, and presumably any cleaning that day (sinks, shower, etc.) was done with an equal lack of care.

All in all, the reason to stay here is the location, and for that, I would probably stay again. I hope that the hotel invests in new beds, as the beds in our room were unacceptable for anyone with a good back, and a huge problem if you have a bad back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Address: 75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Tiki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.