We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and affordable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great and affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this hotel using trip advisor myself while on the island. The price was right and so was the review. This hotel is very close to the road and therefore is a little noisy. The positive is that the sound of the crashing waves may be louder, not sure if is is a good thing. It took me a few nights to get use to the sounds. There are no tv's here and I thought it was quite relaxing at this point in my trip. Even if there were tv's the crashing waves would be louder anyways. The owners here are very hardworking and the cleanliness reflects that. The continental breakfast was good and was very enjoyable while sitting Oceanside and watching the cruise ships arriving and surfers surfing. Parking is tricky since the parking lot is very small but since the hotel is close to all the restaurants you can walk everywhere. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: This place is small and all rooms have an amazing view. The ground floor may be a little less privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    103
    28
    6
    16
See reviews for
25
159
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honomu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our second stay here. Incredible ocean spot. Loved hearing the crash of the waves (although some might find them too loud I suppose). Adequate breakfast-fruit, bread, peanut butter for protein. A walk to the shops on Alii only takes 20-30 minutes. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kona Tiki for 2 nights when visiting Kona. Although a little out of the main shopping district, we found it an easy 10-15 mins walk and much quieter than if we had stayed in central Kona.

Rooms are a little dated in appearance but we loved this place! Every room has a sea view and the rooms are huge!

Don't be dissuaded by what Lonely Planet and other reviewers say about the ocean noise - this is exactly why you stay right beside the water!!

There is a continental breakfast by the pool every morning with fresh fruit, huge bagels, tea and coffee and this set us up for the day nicely. What a great way to start our day eating breakfast by the seawater pool and watching the ocean .....

Our deluxe room was great. It was very large and had a lanai (balcony) and was on the ground floor. Even so, we didn't hear the people above us and the chairs and table outside came in handy to sit in the evening to listen and watch the waves roll in. There was no tv, telephone or air conditioning but the room had a ceiling fan and of course the sea breezes were enough to keep the room cool. There is a fridge in the room and this came in handy for my husband's beers and there is WiFi access from the front reception, by the pool and was also available in our room on the ground floor.

Overall, a great short stay and if we were staying longer in Kona, this hotel would also have been a nice choice. Given the high prices of other accommodations in Kona, this is great value for money.

Parking is limited but they have an interesting and efficient system for moving cars to allow access whenever needed. Advice is to turn up early to secure a park. We didn't use nor need our car during our stay and it was safe in the open air carpark right beside the hotel.

This hotel is a little bit different, slightly retro and nothing like the big resorts found in Kona. Our host Michelle was very helpful and friendly.

Mahalo!

Room Tip: We were in 105 on the ground floor with it's own private lanai. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff at Kona Tiki were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were simple and clean and reasonably priced. It was a great place next to the water, the only downside was it was about a 15 or 20 min walk to the restaurants. However the rest was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked an impromptu trip to Kona and were lucky enough to find an opening at the Kona Tiki. The place had not changed in 30 years. A cozy hotel right on the water's edge, only three stories high, with a salt water pool and ocean access - although not the easiest entry into the ocean. Parking is a bit tight, but not impossible. Our bed was adequate. The staff, very friendly and accommodating. The manager gave personal attention, teaching us how to blow a conch shell and involving us with the ceremony of lighting the tiki torches.
The rooms were clean, and did not have that sterile feeling of a big hotel. Nice place, good breakfast, fair price. A unique place that would be hard to duplicate anywhere.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all are rock throwing distance to the ocean. The third floor offers more pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in her early November 2012. The location is outstanding as is the value of this little gem. The room we stayed in did not have a phone or TV (not that we were looking for either) but one cannot beat the location if you like the ocean and the crashing of the waves. We only had planned to be here one night but wished we could have spent more time. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful re: restaurant selection, etc.

Room Tip: We had chosen the very basic room, but each room has great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really mixed feelings about this place. Loved it when I first arrived, but my enthusiasm had faded by the time I left several days later.

Pros:
:: fantastic, wonderful, mesmerizing view of the ocean from the lanai -- so close I could watch the tropical fishies swimming around
:: friendly staff
:: nice, clean pool area next to the ocean, also with a great view
:: comfortable bed
:: morning breakfast of coffee, juice, island fruits, breads and spreads
:: reasonable price

Cons:
:: the crashing waves, lovely in the daytime, were horrendously loud at night, so loud they mostly blocked out the very loud traffic noises on the street in front of the hotel; I mean, these waves sounded like thunder claps and gale-force winds even with the room shut as tightly as possible; made it very difficult to sleep
:: only so-so on the cleanliness front; the upper surfaces were OK, but walking on the floors made the bottoms of my bare feet quite dirty, every single day
:: some kind of plumbing issue that occasionally caused water to bubble up from the kitchenette sink with a foul odor; one time a bunch of suds bubbled up! Kind of freaked me out. :)

I'm a big fan of quaint, charming, older hotels, so from the reviews I had expected to like it. I didn't mind the no TV or no AC or the dated bathroom or any of that, but the relentless pounding waves all night long made it a not-very-restful stay. The parking was also a bit funky. On the other hand, beach equipment and a barbeque are available for guests to use. All in all, a mixed bag. Loved, loved, loved the view, but not sure I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the street as possible and/or bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Address: 75-5968 Alii Drive, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Tiki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kona Tiki Hotel to your Saves list